We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cafe madras ...south indian par excellence”
Review of Cafe Madras

Cafe Madras
Ranked #30 of 14,615 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $3
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“cafe madras ...south indian par excellence”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

i suggest the best and most authentic place to have south indian food in mumbai is cafe madras....the entire items on the menu are worth trying and u shall not b dissappointed ....how the owners manage to serve such quality food at such reasonable prices is a mystery....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amitdhirwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    280
    78
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
“Excellent snacks”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great South Indian snacks. Excellent Food and great ambience. All my friends had a great time and many good compliments.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ManWithPlan000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Favorite place for mumbailars for soth indian delicacies”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

the variety of south indian delicacies and the taste has no equals. The service is very courteous, The place is very crowded

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tsk0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good food...”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Let me tell you if you are looking for tasty South Indian food at reasonable cost then this is the right place for you... I just love their vada sambar, filter coffee, pesarette, pongal, curd rice. The quality of food is very good. At the same time if you want to leisurely sit with your family and have a family time then you will find it difficult. This hotel is most of the time full and you need to wait quiet long for your turn to get a seat. If you coming there as a couple be prepared to share seat with strangers. It can get a bit chaotic at times... But definitely worth it... The food is really yummy and you will not be disappointed for sure.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AartiShankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great weekend breakfast”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Let me start of by saying that i love their Sambar, and filter coffee, there are days I crave the sambar and have to go often to satisfy my desire.
the idlis are excellent, the rasam vada, the breakfast khichidi with kadi, the sooji halva, the sett dosa, the masala dosa.
Defintely one of my favourite breakfast joints which I WOULD RECOMMEND to everyone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeeJDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Madras also viewed

 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Cafe Madras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing