We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parsi heaven”
Review of Jimmy Boy

Jimmy Boy
Ranked #127 of 14,515 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Indian, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gateway of India
Description: It is the only restaurant in Mumbai serving the Parsi wedding meal (lagan nu bhonu).The Bakery has a variety of snacks and pastries to cherish
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Parsi heaven”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We met up with a parsi friend who ordered for us (the best way to try the local food) one dish she ordered in particular was the star, Berry Berry Pulao. So tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dyzzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    59
    25
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best places to get Parsi food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I think the best known and publicised restaurant for Parsi food in Mumbai is Cafe Britannia. However, there are some other very nice restaurants which offer equally delicious Parsi cuisine - Jimmy Boy being one of them.

I went there after almost >12 years and was quite surprised y the tasty food that they served here. Almost everyone whom I spoke to before going to this restaurant gave me a negative feedback but all of this negative feedback was based on past expereinces which was more than 3-4 years ago.

Trust me - as of today - this restaurant serves amazing parsi cuisines and I was extremely happy about my decision to go there

Its been refurbished to some extent and serves Parsi food amongst other Indian and Chinese cuisines.

Must try - Patra-ni-Machi, Lagan nu bhonu, Sali boti, caramel custard, Lagan nu custard, kulfi, dhandar no patio, chicken curry (Yes - have eaten this all !!!!!!!!!11)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malcolms81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An average experience”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Not what it used to be. Supposed to be an authentic Parsi restaurant, the mutton dhansakh was quite tasteless, the kababs were just ok, the caramel custard was good. Actually I had picked up a few dishes as I was having some family over for dinner. I regret not having tasted the food before serving! Maybe I could have added a few spices and elevated it to a tasty something but I had so much confidence in Jimmy Boys so never dreamt they would offer such bland blah. I have always been complimented for my dinners but this time there was total silence (lol).
The only reason I would visit would be for the Parsi wedding dinner where you literally go through all the courses as served at a wedding.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not worth the price!”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Restaurant is average at the best. The hotel is not neat and clean kinds, more like a semi modernized version of an old Irani restaurant. The restaurant is not very clean or Hygenic, but it's not that pathetic as well. The menu has a decent variety but the prices are off the roof for the kind of quantity they serve. Preparation is good, very home like which is a plus point, but the portions are something that are a real let down. They do have some things that are only available here. In case you miss Palonji's Raspberry/Ice Cream Soda and Gingerale which use to be available at Parsi weddings, it is still available here. Plus points for that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pratik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My mom and i shared a plate of cutlets and mutton Dhansak. Good Parsi food! With dessert and a coke, the bill came to about Rs.500. It doesn't serve alcohol and food comes quickly. All the baked desserts looked mouth watering. Didn't get a chance to try though. The place was empty when we went, but you cant expect much crowd at 8 o' clock on Jan 1st!
Oh and the music was old time rock and roll. Quite enjoyable!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mal98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy Boy also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Jimmy Boy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing