We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce for a snack and a drink”
Review of Sea Lounge

Sea Lounge
Reserve a Table
eazydiner
Ranked #50 of 14,787 Restaurants in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $72
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Mumbai
Description: On the first floor of the Palace Wing, Sea lounge offers old colonial charm with art deco furniture and live Piano music enhanced by its spectacular view of the Arabian Sea. It is considered to be a city institution for traditional Afternoon Tea featuring an elaborate buffet spread of classic English delicacies and Local Indian favourites complemented with a selection of the world's finest teas and coffees. Sea Lounge is a favourite for its light lunch and dinner fare and Mumbai street food including Bhel Puri, Sev Puri, Kheema Ghotala Toastie and Vada Pav . Daily sundowner hours at the Sea Lounge with live music and a one-on-one for all alcoholic beverages. Melodious tunes create the perfect mood for the night ahead as they watch the lights from the moving ships on the harbour.
Reviewed June 17, 2017

A very pleasant and comfortable lounge overlooking Mumbai harbour. Light meals can be obtained here.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesTMP, Public Relations Manager at Sea Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear Duncan,

Greetings!

Thank you for your kind words! We look forward to having you back soon!

With warm regards,
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 222 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2017

When one thinks of Taj Mahal Palace, we think of it as one of the finest hotel in India. Does it really live up to its name? Let's find out. The Sea Lounge is located at a beautiful place. The lounge boasts a stunning view of the Gateway of India and the Arabian Sea. The settings inside the lounge is itself very luxurious. The staff via their service showcase the age old Indian tradition of 'Atithi Devo Bhavaha' which means guest is god. Now let's come to the coffee. I visited the lounge at tea time. I had the Jamaican Blue Hill Coffee. The Coffee came in a French Press and was served with milk, sugar and some tasty sesame seed cookies. On the other hand the Cold Coffee who someone had ordered on my table had a lot of scope for better plating. The cold coffee wasn't​ up to 5star standard. Even the hot chocolate wasn't feeling right but it was play. The Coffee was the one thing that really stood out as it was probably the best coffee I've ever head. It had a really lovely aroma, a beautiful dark brown shade and had an amazing slightly sweet flavour. Now let's come to value for money. The Coffee, absolutely, The Cold Coffee, no and the hot chocolate was slightly over priced for the quality. But overall I feel that Taj Mahal Palace is one of the finest hotels in India and that visiting the Sea lounge will be a cherished experience and I would love to visit again.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShaunakSamant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesTMP, Public Relations Manager at Sea Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear Shaunak,

Greetings!

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experiences. We do hope to be able to welcome you back very soon to experience our other offerings at the hotel.

With warm regards,
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017 via mobile

Solo visit here today for lunch, probably one of the most underwhelming and disappointing meals during my 2 months in India.

There must have been around 10 members of staff working and I'm pretty sure I was served by all of them at some point. Not particularly welcoming and was given the impression they didn't want to be there.
Zero attention to detail and generally sloppy and slow service. It took 15 minutes for a cup of tea to arrive, no tea strainer despite it being loose leaf tea, spent next 5 minutes fishing tea leafs out of cup. Substantial pieces of food on the floor that hadn't been swept up for the duration of my stay (90 minutes).
Tables in the restaurant weren't cleared for absolutely ages after the occupants left.
My open sandwich was completely mediocre and probably equal to something a fairly decent cafe in the UK could produce, in a quarter of the time and price.

Essentially a super disappointing experience from what is supposed to be not just the Taj groups flagship, but THE flagship hotel of India. £21 for a vegetarian sandwich, cup of tea and service with out a smile. This experience has reminded me of why I stick to the Oberoi.

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank Dane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesTMP, Public Relations Manager at Sea Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear Dane,

Greetings!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are sorry that your meal was less than perfect. Please do share a number where we may reach out to you at tmhfb(.)bom(@)tajhotels(.)com

Thank you.

With warm regards,
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017

Had breakfast here every morning with a wonderful view of the Gateway of India. Absolutely brilliant service.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Pilot1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesTMP, Public Relations Manager at Sea Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear Pilot,

Greetings!

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experiences. We do hope to be able to welcome you back very soon to experience our other offerings at the hotel.

With warm regards,
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2017

A must for my wife and I when we visit Mumbai to spend a relaxed afternoon at the Sea lounge for their afternoon High tea. View is always great as u have the gate way of India and the Arabian Sea, like to people watch both inside the restaurant and outside through the window....

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JBlovesTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestServicesTMP, Public Relations Manager at Sea Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2017

Dear Jerome,

Greetings!

Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experiences. We do hope to be able to welcome you back very soon to experience our other offerings at the hotel.

With warm regards,
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Lounge also viewed

Mumbai, Maharashtra
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 

Been to Sea Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing