We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waiting with Wontons & Coolers, Chinese New year Graffiti et more” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainland China

Mainland China
Ranked #43 of 14,438 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
525 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
“Waiting with Wontons & Coolers, Chinese New year Graffiti et more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We landed at 1.45pm half an hour after our reserved time and were asked to be seated in a sofa till a table for 6 was available. Soon a waiter passed by and served a mocktail cooler. i said i havent ordered one, the waiter said its a welcome drink, soon another gentleman came in with a tray of wontons I asked him welcome snacks or waiting privileges he said both. As I glanced around I saw a paper board for writing graffiti on the week old Chinese new year (7th Feb) Just as I was wondering what to write, there was a 2nd round of a mocktail cooler (a different one this time) followed by hot wonton's. From the reception area I picked up a leaflet of Chinese horoscope and by the time I read about our prospects in the year of the snake, it was 2.30 pm.Soon our table was ready and as always we had a fantastic buffet. While food at Mainland China is always awesome and t he waiting time high on Sundays, the efforts taken by the mangement to dilute the pains of waiting is commendable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShreyasMalkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    414
    136
    27
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“excellent quality and taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

been here a few times. i liked the place always rated it average.

i really became a fan of this place when i visited it recently. had a very long business day with overseas client and was tired and damm hungry.

i had veg rice without any gravy dish to accompany it.

the rice was awsome, never had a rice with no gravy before. try it and i am sure you will love it too.

not too many people make such good rice.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rocky J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese food in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I bet there will be no other place than this serving great chinese cuisines.You will surely re-visit thi splace every time you will be in Mumbai.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank heprabhu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love it if you love Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The best Destination for awesome Chinese food. Decor ,service and Food are all A class. They have some special set ups for birthday or other special occasions, like one of the staff members could play some guitar as u sing the song. exciting :)
Food is just fabulous, Try the coconut Dumplings with honey sauce, Its an all time fav. desert.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vratika A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhopal, India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Perfection Defined.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Mainland China, Growel's 101, Kandivali East, Mumbai

6 of of us were here to celebrate a friends birthday. Fantastic interiors, the perfection of service and excellent food are the hallmarks of this restaurant. Besides, it is conveniently located at the Growel's 101 mall with easy availability of parking. About 6 main course dishes, rice, dessert and complimentary brownie (they were out of cake) were flawless and left us craving for more, even though stuffed to the throat with food. At little over Rs.5000, it was an expensive evening for the host.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gkhattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainland China also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Mainland China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing