We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambience, Fantastic food!”
Review of Out of the Blue

Out of the Blue
Ranked #11 of 294 Dessert in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price range: $9 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Greetings from Team Out of the Blue! We are a Hospitality Organization located in the Heart of Mumbai. Hospitality is what defines us and we pay our regards through Unique Hotels, Resorts and Restaurants. We would specifically like to introduce you to Out of the Blue, an all day casual dining restaurant nestled amidst a suave residency & few freshly popped eateries at Bandra. At 120 covers covered across the AC section, the Trademark Open Air Courtyard, the Art Corner, Wine Cellar & Dessert Cafe, Out of the Blue conveniently grabs a spot among one of our City's most Long Standing Restaurants. Set in an ambience of muted lighting, soft music and intimate seating, Out of the Blue offers a sheer delight with an authentic menu carved with creative twists. Famous for Gourmet Sizzlers, Trademark Fondues, BBQ's, Pastas and Risotto's, the restaurant servers food with a flavor of fun, entertainment & unforgettable memories. Buffets like the Women's Day lunch every Wednesday & the Friday Spa Lunch every Fridays, seasonal treats like the chef's special Prix Fixe Menu, an exclusively designed combination of fondues with wines, entertainment packed evenings with live music are to look out for on your visit here. If you are looking to treat your taste buds like never before, the team at Out of the Blue simply awaits your presence, in order to be able to offer a memorable meal experience!
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Ambience, Fantastic food!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A fantastic place for an evening out with friends 7 family. do make it a point to sit out in the open under the canopy.. Great Ambience, the food is excellent & do try the fondue, its lip smacking! If you are lucky enough you might also catch an exhibition which is usually on within the premise.
overall an excellent

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Secondcomming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    209
    56
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had gone to this restaurant to celebrate my boyfriends bday... So had called a few hours before we could get there jus to see if they could arrange something special.. The manager suggested a package which would include a bouquet of flowers, mocktails/wine, and a dessert along with some decorations ( its more like a tent setup which is amazing if ur going as couple) which would cost rs 1600/- I decided to go in for that. The decoration and the entire setup was just amazing... We had ordered some sizzlers that were excellent too... The entire staff , food, ambience, music was just perfect to make this dinner date a one to remember. :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank the_unknown_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sartajbedi, General Manager at Out of the Blue, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi,
thank you very much for choosing Out of The Blue to celebrate your friends birthday. I would also recommend that you join our mailing list and take advantage of our birthday program. Noted that youe enjoyed our sizzlers. please do share which one was your favourite.
Regards
Sartaj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“An overpriced restaurant with pretty average food”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Well, the title sums it up. The food is pretty expensive(I think they charge for the prime location they've set up their restaurant in) but is not very different from what you'll get in a regular restaurant. Service is really bad and the staff isn't notably courteous.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vivek_Pant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sartajbedi, General Manager at Out of the Blue, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Mr Pant,
thank you for feedback. Wanted to confirm if you visted our Powai outlet or Bandra. We value your patronage and our willing to reveiw every aspect of our business. May I know what you found was overpriced. Also, would you elaborate as to what lacked in service.Your perception is of great value to us. Your detailed feedback would enable our management to take an informed decsion.
Please email me at sartajbedi at outoftheblue.in or reply at this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

yes, their food is good, but i would say it is not so drastically different that they over charge. the music and band is okay, depends if you are in the mood for live music or not. the service - well its okay, a bit slow or non existent. no1 really bothers you till you call for them - which is good if you are a couple but not if you are with friends or others :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Purvi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sartajbedi, General Manager at Out of the Blue, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi Purvi,
Thank you for your feedback. Am glad that you are liked the food and found the place suitable for couples. the music is not loud because we do not wish to disturb the neighborhood and had several request even now on softer music.
However, am concerned that you felt that food was overpriced. Would be keen to understand what you ordered and felt was too expensive. This will enable our team to get an insight and take measures. We value our guests feedback and would be delighted to learn from you. Please do email me at sartajbedi at outoftheblue.in or reply at this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good ambiance but Bad service”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The place has really good ambiance, live music performance was good too. Food is alright. The ceaser salad was the best in India of all the places I have tried ever. But the bannoffee was the worst ever (and I am only comparing it with M&S Bannoffee pie).
The worst part was service. Nobody served the food in our plate. At first I asked one of the waiter to serve it. Again with main course they just put the food on our table and went off. At first we assumed that probably that is the way of restaurant, only to find out later that all other tables were being served properly. They didnt even bother to clear crouton from our appetizer on our table for long time even after they had taken away our plates of main course (though the crouton was dropped by their waiter the first time we had asked him to serve the food).
Last but not least, we had observed people on other tables filling up feedback forms, we were not given one either. On asking them the waiter pretended that he had forgotten to give us one. Now my wild guess about all this unfair treatment is the difference between my clothing and that on other tables, but I am not sure. Overall I only observed that there was a certain amount of coldness to the service provided to us for whatever reason. And though I liked the live music a lot, I would probably think twice before recommending this place to anyone else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeepDreamingMore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sartajbedi, General Manager at Out of the Blue, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hi,
On behalf of our team would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. Our team needs to be more attentive and your stated expectation our a minimum. We have shared your feedback on service and quality of food with all our three restaurants. We value feedback and encourage our staff to bring to us the positive and negative feedback. Its obvious we have failed in our moment of truth.
I would like to check if you went to our powai outlet or bandra. Please do reconfirm this.
Would request you to reconsider and renew your patronage.
Regards
Sartaj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Out of the Blue also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Out of the Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing