We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Copper Chimney

Copper Chimney
Ranked #328 of 14,477 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Lots of varieties and love the huge papad with onion and tomatoes. Had been here 4 yrs ago and made a point to visit in January 2013 again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dhimdhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    187
    75
    27
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“pathetic service and average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

we are regulars at Copper Chimney and as usual visited the oberoi mall place to have a nice dinner.

it took us some 45 mins to get it as it was full. no complaints .

but what followed after was not a copper chimney which we know all these years.

we had ordered paneer tikka and since it was around 10.30pm and our 5 year old daughter was hungry asked them to serve a butter roti with the panner tikka. first he forgot to bring it, after reminding we got a plain roti. when we asked where is butter he took the same roti went inside and applied butter on it on a cold roti.

next we had asked them to suggest some spice dish so they suggested the most spiced dished on menu Veg Kolhapuri. we were ok with choice, but the dish actually tested sweet strange but true. we had also ordered Handi Biryani which came absolutely Cold, i guess it was made at the same time of serving a Starter.

and then to top it up our next table family also went through similar experience only difference that guest abused the staff to fullest ( I rued the fact why i kept silent and accepted the substandard food). anyways i believe we will never again visit this place.
.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ABHIJIT B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
201 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good food but congested feel with av service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were at the Copper Chimney of Kala Ghoda, Fort area. The seating area seemed too cramped, split into two sections at ground level by staircase leading to upper level. We settled down for dinner at ground level but found strong scours emanating from the kitchen and few Mosquitos under the table in dark area making us a bit uncomfortable.
However the quality and quantity of food presented was very good and tasty. We wondered why the management can not improve on diverting kitchen aromas from the seating area and take care of Mosquitos ? Secondly the service was rather poor. Even it seemed too long to get a bill brought to our table and we had to stand up to indicate that.
We have been to the chains Worli restaurant and were really happy at that well maintained open seating though again in three sections but uncongested. Will not recommend the Fort one but definitely the one at Worli.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vrvaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sambalpur, India
Level Contributor
98 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“copper chimney yummie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Excellent food. Excellent ambience and service. The price is on higher side but it is worth it. Try the prawn biriyani and chicken soup, it is too good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JagsChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The food here is good, especially the Mughlai stuff. The paneer and chicken makhanwala is fantastic. But, this time, I went on a Sunday afternoon and tried their buffet - it was unbelievable. Every item I could think of... and then some more were present. All of it was good. In addition to the north indian dishes, there were also some continental dishes like pastas. They were decent but then... go to Copper Chimney when you crave North Indian food, you will thank me :-) It is a bit pricey but then, you will frequently sight TV stars and other personalities here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank psamant007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copper Chimney also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Copper Chimney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing