We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome”

Sardar Refreshments
Ranked #872 of 14,621 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“awesome”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

was told by many friends about sardar pav bhaji ....honestly i had high hopes when i finally went to sardar pav bhaji with my siblings at 11:30 in the night....i was thinking of this place to be a big restaurant with ac ..those typical ones ..but it looks rather a simple place just like any other joint outside your college r office. at 12:30 we were waiting for a place to sit !!!

The pav bhaji we ordered was i guess topped with atleast 50 gms of butter. The bhaji looked so tempting...first bite and i was so happy to have finally tasted the delicious sardar pav bhaji. it is unlike the normally available, red colored tomato flavoured pav bhaji we get. It was something different but really tasty.

it is a must to visit this place and have their famous pav bhaji. it is yummy :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mamta w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    65
    31
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Highly Buttered Pav and Bhaji”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This eatery takes the idiom "buttering for gain" to ultimate level. The sheer amount of butter in the bhaji and for the pavs is astonishing. No wonder it satisfies every mm of the tongue for the buttery goodness. The bhaji itself looks brownish implying no use of color, which is a good sign, and as basic as it can be with loads of pav bhaji masala.

Hygiene is as good as any street food so if you cannot digest street food or have any health conditions like hypertension, high cholesterol levels you may give this one a miss.

The serving style is like typical wedding servings prominently in Maharashtra colloquially called as 'Pangat'. They wait for the entire store to fill in and brings in the number of plates of bhaji you have ordered with dollops of butter floating in the plate. You may wait in a queue outside the store ranging from 10-20 mins to let the store empty.
There seemed to be two cooks/chefs, one just buttering the pavs and the other one heating the bhaji and buttering it before serving. A kilo of butter must be used to butter 50 pavs and 250 gms butter per plate of bhaji.
The service is very basic i.e. don't expect a smile or helpful attitude. You order you get it, often just dropped on your table like prison food.
The pavs, heavily buttered, will arrive in piles on the plate and you will receive as many as you need, the guy keeps the count on every table.

The atmosphere is bare basic with tables and chair implies a better place to enjoy street food than just standing on the street.

The number of times I have mentioned buttered should give you a hint what it is like and the reason it is rated so high, which might be overrated if we think about the basic level of food and it's quality.

Do visit to experience buttery goodness which is easily replicable at any pav bhaji stall in mumbai with extraaaa butter. You certainly wont miss anything if you miss the pav bhaji here.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rajkul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
456 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Sardar Pav Bhaji”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

During college days we used to go there often. After a long time visited this place. The Pav Bhaji is very tasty but very high in calories since a lot of butter goes into making all of it. If you want it more spicy red chutney is added to the bhaji. It is very filling. Even the pav (bread) has butter on it. If you ask for extra butter they will happily comply with your request. A plate of finely chopped onions and lime is served alongwith the Pav Bhaji. Most of the time it is crowded with people waiting for their turn on the road. Its a meal by itself.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zarin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
“PAv Bhaji”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

God Pav Bhaji but lot of butter & spicy. Appears a lot of artificail colurs added. Good for taste but not for health

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lemontours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“BUT ERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

pav bhaji the bhaji itself tastes good and nice but the butter makes it EXTRA SALTY AND KILLS THE TASTES OF ALL THE SPICES THAT MAKES THE BHAJI and as some say its a hype i agree to them aswell :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RavishKalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardar Refreshments also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Sardar Refreshments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing