We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Indian Chinese food ”
Review of Royal China

Royal China
Ranked #138 of 14,799 Restaurants in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Mumbai
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

I always love this place. The food quality and its exquisite taste, over the years, has stayed the same. The staff may change but their service standards remain high. Shows management involvement and dedication. In fact, the franchisee and family with guests were lunching at a table across from us.

We had veg and non veg food. All of us have been here before. Generally the starters become our main stay, the main course becomes a filler and the desserts are the coup de grace! This time we tried out the apple and the banana fritters with ice cream, Awesome is an understatement.

I only wish that they should offer a few dishes which are authentic Chinese; it doesn’t harm to educate Indian taste buds! If Japanese sushi can find a market here, surely genuine Chinese dishes will also be acceptable. Go on, be innovative.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank 2012sunilmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalchina3, Public Relations Manager at Royal China, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2018

Dear 2012sunilmumbai,

Thank you for your review of Royal China Mumbai. We are glad that you had a good dining experience with us. We would also like to thank you for your recommendations.

Looking forward to your continuous patronage.

Thanks & Regards,
Royal China Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 266 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2018 via mobile

Mumbaikars are considered most refined when it comes to their taste in food. Over the years the food options have grown multifold. But along with that the one thing we regret is the indianization of most cuisine. And Chinese food has suffered the most. So when it comes to really authentic Chinese food, there are few places that beat Royal China.

The place is fine dine in the true sense. From the beautiful ambiance to the perfect table layout and the quality of cutlery used, this place makes you feel opulent.

They serve a mouth watering Cantonese menu with a contemporary twist.

Our recommendations
Turnip Cake in Burnt Garlic
Veg Cheung Fun
Black Mushroom Momo's
Mushroom Pot Rice
Kung Pao Potatoes
Peach Ice Tea

We started our meals with their Turnip Cakes in Burnt Garlic. Combined with the chilli oil, we really loved this one.

The Veg Cheung Fun was another good dish to have. Steamed and not too oily, we would recommend you add a dash of soya sauce to this dish.

Next were the dumplings. Couldn't resist trying the black mushroom dumplings. The dish vindicated our decision. Yum is the word to describe it.

We also liked their Vegetable Lettuce wraps and crispy corns.

For the main we had their Mushroom Pot Rice. Again, a dish that did total justice to the place we were having it at.

Would recommend you definitely try their peach ice tea. Probably one of the best we have had.

Overall this place is brilliant is all aspects. The service though was a tad slow to start with, but then the place was packed to the full.

If you truly crave for dependable and authentic Chinese food, you know you can't give this place a miss.

Date of visit: May 2018
3  Thank TheSoBoGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalchina3, Public Relations Manager at Royal China, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Dear AmaanArmaanVivek,

Thank you for your review of Royal China Mumbai. We are glad that you had a good dining experience with us. We would also like to thank you for your recommendations.

Looking forward to your continuous patronage.

Thanks & Regards,
Royal China Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2018

Enjoyed the soup till a hair didn't turn up.It was replaced but that killed the buzz .The dimsums were good and expensive.Tried the prawn and chicken dimsums and loved all the dishes we ordered..The rice with prawn and chicken was also flavoursome.The service can't be found fault with.The mud pie and icecream dessert to celebrate a anniversary was faultless.A good place to celebrate.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank niloo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalchina3, Public Relations Manager at Royal China, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2018

Dear Niloo77,

Thank you for your review of Royal China Mumbai. We are glad that you had a good dining experience with us. We would also like to thank you for your recommendations.

Looking forward to your continuous patronage.

Thanks & Regards,
Royal China Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2018

On a recent visit to Mumbai, had dinner here with business associates. Full marks to the food. Though the service was a bit hurried, the food more than compensated.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marlon2294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalchina3, Public Relations Manager at Royal China, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Dear Marlon2294,

Thank you for your review of Royal China Mumbai. We are glad that you had a good dining experience with us. We would also like to thank you for your recommendations.

Looking forward to your continuous patronage.

Thanks & Regards,
Royal China Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018 via mobile

We ordered takeaway and waited 45 mins for an order that was not fully supplied, which we discovered once we reached home and checked the food packets! Frustrated, we called them and they agreed to send the missing items :baos, and dumplings.
We have ordered food many a time with Royal China but never had this kind of issue with the service and quality. The baos were really chewy and hard and the noodles were not what we had had earlier, just vermicelli.
I hope and wish that this was a one off instance!
Disappointing!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Rajesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
royalchina3, Public Relations Manager at Royal China, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2018

Dear Rajesh D,

Thanks for your review and I am very sorry to hear of the experience you've had in our restaurant.

I can assure you we always aim to provide you with the best customer service resulting in an outstanding dining experience and I sincerely apologise if this has not been the case.

We value our patrons and can assure you this will be raised with the restaurant manager for review.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this feedback.

Kind Regards,
Royal China India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal China also viewed

 
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 

Been to Royal China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing