We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well past its prime”
Review of Gaylord

Gaylord
Ranked #65 of 14,515 Restaurants in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bangalore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well past its prime”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Gaylord used to be the premier restaurant at Churchgate, and known for its outstanding Indian food and celebrated clients. But it is now well passed prime. The food is mediocre, service is spotty and the menu hasn't been updated in over a decade, it seems. The Indian cuisine is fair, but a far cry from it's once famous renditions, and the Continental food should be avoided. The only savig grace is a good mixed grill. Although the portion sizes are large and meant to be shared, it doesn't deliver value. There have been a number several times when I have had stomach upsets. I have finally stopped going to Gaylords.

The outdoor area is available for a snack and coffee with friends, but there are nicer places in the vicinity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank viviennedBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    197
    56
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Old is Gold?”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

this place has an old charm to it. Have heard a lot about this place and its food, but during my visit i was disappointed. Food is okay, nothing that special and the service is slow. The cake shop is decent, much better than the food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rijul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gmund, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Indian cuisine at it's best”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

While sightseeing in Mumbai I passed the Gaylord Restaurant. Sarurday evening and no reservation, but I tried and wa seated at a lovely table on the gallery overlooking the restaurant. I love wathing people, so the table suited me very well. The waiters were very observant and also very helpful in explaining the different tastes of different regions, which is needed indseed, although the menu has english subtitles.
The food was excellent and the evening turnde out to be lovely. Next day my Mumbai friends told me that for tehm the Gaylord is the best restaurant in this region, whic I can confirm onehundred percent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbaum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced, good food and ambience”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Lovely staff. Good continental and Indian food. We ate here both nights we were in Mumbai and were not disappointed. The non veg mixed grill was a sight to be seen.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kahtjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
263 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Good traditional Indian restaurant”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Had dinner here on the last night of my visit. This hotel dates from the 50's and serves good quality traditional Indian food (both veg and non-veg) as well as western food. It's therefore great for guests not comfortable with Indian cuisine.

Nothing to dislike - doesn't quite have the 'wow' factor that the Copper Chimney and the Kyber have but was enjoyable none the less.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Happytiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaylord also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Gaylord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing