We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty, overpriced, not to be recommended”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Red Palm

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Red Palm
Ranked #331 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dirty, overpriced, not to be recommended”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We checked into the red palm residency last week. At a first glance, the reception and outside area looked comfortable and clean.

We were then taken to our (deluxe??!!) room and walked in to a hideous smell of smell urine. The walls were stained and marked, the headboard was coming away from the wall and filled with dirt and damp. The pillows were grey with mould and smelt damp. The porter looked at us in understanding and went to get a spray, he immediately came back and sprayed the walls. We were very grateful to have had our sleeping bag inners to sleep in! The bathroom was small, dingy and dirty with little ventilation. We attempted to grin and bear it for one night, which we did, but the overpowering smell of petrol and the rock hard excuse for a mattress initiated a search for an acceptable hotel!

We would not recommend this hotel to anyone, however the gym next door was pretty cool!

When we left the hotel early thr management did not show any interest or question us as to why. We did not make a fuss as we just wanted to leave.

For a couple of extra £'s per night we found the hotel Moti which is in a much better location. Still dated etc, but the difference being the cleanliness and space. The manager here is a tricky character but can be beared for a night or 2!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceM8824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpresidency, Managing Director at Hotel Red Palm, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry for your less than ideal experience. However we have been unable to find your reservation in our records. The experience you described seems very unlike our hotel and what we strive to provide our guests.

We are constantly striving to offer our guests a great experience that includes basic necessities like immaculate cleanliness, good service and hospitality and in addition services like free WI-FI, complimentary bottled water and complimentary breakfast, all at a budget price.

Please contact me personally to discuss your experience and I will do everything within my power to make it right. I truly hope that this is a case of mistaken identity and that you were reviewing another hotel and not ours.

If however it turns out that your review is indeed for our property then I apologize from the bottom of my heart.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and indigenous hospitality of our humble staff on your next Mumbai visit. Take care.

Thank you,

Sachin Verma
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    19
    24
    10
    21
See reviews for
21
12
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile


Stayed here last week after booking a room on Agoda.com. Rooms are pretty normal - nothing fancy, in fact very basic, decent in size and very clean.

The food was excellent and very reasonable, didn't expect the variety of thai, chinese, italian, american and indian food - all of it excellent. They served complimentary made to order breakfast daily in my room or downstairs in the cafe'. WI-FI is also free. Their fitness center is simply beautiful and worth a shot. It was a great escape after a busy day at work.

Only recommendation I have is thicker mattresses in the room and the rooms need an update. I would also choose a room on the second floor which was very quiet. Staff was very friendly. I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellesaintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpresidency, Director of Sales at Hotel Red Palm, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Ms. Michelle,

Thank you for posting your wonderful comments about Red Palm Residency Hotel Mumbai on TripAdvisor.

At Red Palm we take great pride in the hospitality and personalized service we offer and your recognition motivates all of us to achieve greater heights of success.

Your appreciation of our hotel, our complimentary services and especially the hospitality, service and the cuisine provided by our staff - is overwhelming!

Thank you for your heartfelt words of praise which have been shared with the entire team for whom this will be a tremendous source of inspiration. We will also address the thickness of the mattresses as suggested by you. Thank you also for recognizing our fitness center with accolades. We have worked very hard to offer a state of the art world class fitness center.

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again with much excitement!

Best Regards,

Esther Verma
Director Of Sales
estherverma@redpalmresidency.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed here two nights and regretted it. The exterior and foyer look nice but the rooms were grubby and dreary. The AC could not be adjusted as the dials were missing- its was either on and very cold or off. The walls and light switches were discolored and filthy and the bathroom was very small and unclean feeling with weak pressure and flow. The bed was really hard too and while the sheets were clean, the blankets were of the cheap synthetic kind without a cover and I doubt they are washed after every guest. A very disappointing stay and not to be recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel Red Palm, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Ms. Sally,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. We have noted your feedback on your experience with great concern and the same has also been shared internally with the team.

We regret your experience as reported in your review and assure you that the services experienced by you are not representative of our standards. Also, I would like to inform you that refurbishment of rooms and other areas of the hotel is a continual process. We are a new company that has just taken over the hotel and are continually improving it.

We truly value your patronage, and would request you to give us an opportunity to ensure a seamless experience on your future visit. I will personally make sure that you are treated like royalty.

On behalf of the team at Red Palm Residency Mumbai, we look forward to welcoming you back to our warmth and indigenous hospitality in the near future.

Best Regards,

Esther Verma
Director Of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

This is a nice hotel in a very accessible part of Mumbai and not far at all from business and shopping centers. Staff are very very nice and always helpful. I felt like at home throughout my holiday!

I would definitely recommend it to anyone who wishes to stay somewhere close to Santacruz, Linking Road, Bandra, Juhu and the Int'l airport. I will go again :-)

ash from Mauritius

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel Red Palm, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write such a heartwarming review. We are encouraged by the affirmation of our service and are glad your stay at the hotel was pleasantly memorable.

Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

It is heartening to note that our services provided by the team were appreciated. It was our pleasure to have been of service to you. It is a continuous endeavor to offer budget corporate travellers indigenous experiences through our commitment to quality service.

Thank you once again for the recognition.

We truly value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in your future visits.

Best Regards,

Esther Verma
Director Of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navini Island, Fiji
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The staff is very friendly. The rooms while basic, are very clean. Chose this hotel because a friend of mine always stays there on his trips to Bombay.

Thry have an awesome fitness center where we ran into Hrithik Roshan which was a treat. They also have a cafe' with very decent food and add to that the free breakfast and Wi-Fi Internet which makes it all worthwhile.

Very good value in Bandra, close to Bkc, airports, Linking Road and all the consulates. Cheers.

Room Tip: I had room 208 which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shargupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel Red Palm, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

It is heartening to note that our services provided by the team were appreciated. We have shared your review with the entire staff.

It was our pleasure to have been of service to you. It is a continuous endeavor to offer discerning travellers indigenous experiences through our commitment to quality service and offering great value.

We truly value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in your future visits.

Best Regards,

Esther Verma
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We chose this hotel on Cleartrip and were very pleased with it.

For the price they charge I would even say they are underpriced, they could charge a lot more considering their service and all the free services they offer like complimentary business center use (they let us print tickets and other visa documents at no charge), complimentary bottled water, free breakfast and free WI-FI Internet.

The place is very centrally located and has very good security with CCTV cameras in all public areas. They have a lovely gymnasium and the food is very reasonably priced and just amazing.

The rooms could use a little updating, they are stuck in the nineties, other than that this place is a steal at these prices.

Highly recommend this hotel if you want a clean hotel with excellent food, service and free amenities. Will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benorganic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hotel Red Palm, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are heartened by your wonderful response on Trip Advisor.

We try very hard to offer a very clean hotel with as many complimentary services as our possible such as complimentary bottled water, free breakfast and free WI-FI Internet so that guests enjoy the value.

We are delighted that you loved our new fitness center and our cafe' and food. We have shared your feedback with the entire team especially the chef Ravi Syal and his team!

Thank you for choosing us and for recommending us to others. Your review just made our day!

Best Regards,

Esther Verma
Director Of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hi all,

My experience in this hotel was a pleasant one to say the least. The looked hotel and the rooms looked decent at the time of booking however to my dismay the stay was terrible. Firstly, on arrival the bed was dirty with the dirt from cleaning of fans. Then the rooms were not clean enough. The washroom is way too tiny and overall it dingy. But nonetheless since i had to stay only for a day so we stayed there. After coming back from lunch, i see many ants on the bed. We then requested for change of room, and then we were shifted to smaller tinier room, which again lacked basic amenities and had to told to the room service to get them.
The staff also were not that hospitable.
All in all a bad experience. Would not go there again evaa..!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himz09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rpresidency, Director of Sales at Hotel Red Palm, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are very sad to learn that your stay with us was not enjoyable or memorable. We have noted your observations and are continuing to address them daily. We appreciate your detailed feedback and apologise for the inconveniences faced by you. Your review was our primary topic of discussion at our last staff meeting. We would like to mention that we are a new company that has taken over Red Palm Residency Hotel recently.

We are constantly striving to offer our guests a great experience that includes basic necessities like cleanliness, good service and hospitality and in addition services like free WI-FI, complimentary bottled water and complimentary breakfast, all at a budget price.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the warmth and indigenous hospitality of our humble staff on your next Mumbai visit. Please give our hotel another chance.

Best Regards,

Esther Verma
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.3 mi away
The UniContinental Hotel
The UniContinental Hotel
#326 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Linkway
Hotel Linkway
#235 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Regal Enclave
Hotel Regal Enclave
#66 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#147 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Accord
Hotel Accord
#51 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
197 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Cosmo
Hotel Cosmo
#264 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Red Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Red Palm

Property: Hotel Red Palm
Address: Guru Gobind Singh Marg, 3 rd Road | Near Khar Railway Stn., Khar West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#56 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Red Palm 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the heart of Mumbai near Khar railway station and Bombay's shopping mecca of Linking Road, Bandra and the BKC business areas. Free wifi in Rooms, Free breakfast, free Gymnasium Red Gym famous Fitness Centre In Mumbai call us 24X7/ 9619648725 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Red Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Palm Residency Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing