We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regent Hotel Colaba
Ranked #157 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and affordable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Hotel was clean and close to the main road for shopping and very close to Leopolds. The hotel was easy to book and the staff were very pleasant. The room was smaller on size but very clean through out.

The front desk was not a smooth process and it took some time to check in. There was a lot of confusion about recording details into their books and they wanted to hold passports which was an issue.

The stay on level one should be avoided if possible. Breakfast is served in the hallway right out side the bed rooms which was strange. We didn't have breakfast as we headed out to Olympias for fantastic food (very close by) but the menu at Regent looked simple.

Overall, if you want to stay in the city and close to the action this is a good place where you dont have to break the budet.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the front as there is no view from the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunilPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    58
    37
    18
    17
See reviews for
32
53
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our first time in Bombay and couldn't have been happier with the hotel, the staff, the location.

Rooms were nice and clean.

But most importantly, the front desk was incredibly helpful and when WE mistakenly paid twice, the staff caught our error and went out of their way to refund us.

Have Tony, at the front desk, sing for you.

The location, central Colaba is great, especially for the first time in Bombay.

We go thru India several times a year, and plan on going thru Bombay instead of Delhi for now on. And we will stay here!

Room Tip: ask for Room 410.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

During the SCMM it is always difficult to find accommodation in an already crowded city like Mumbai. Comes along our beloved and trusted TripAdvisor to the rescue. This time around I was smarter than last to book my hotel closer to the end point. Arriving at the hotel is very easy, just ask anyone for the directions to The Taj, and bang in the backyard is hotel regent.
The front office staff were very helpful with our luggage deposit as we were earlier for check-in
All historic & cool hangout places are a hop, skip & jump away, viz. Leopolds, Mondegar, gateway etc.
The room was HUGE and service polite. For a traveler like me who requires the room only as a shelter in the night and luxuries aren't a Biggie, this was an ideal place
A thumbs up and for the next SCMM (2014), another visit is pending

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParomaRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel's location is amazing - right in the middle of Colaba (bargain shoppers heaven with awesome restaurants within close proximity - anyone visiting this area should dine in at the Delhi Darbar and the restaurants at the Taj Mahal Hotel). Room we stayed in was very clean and well kept. My only complain lies with the quality of their breakfast menu - tasteless omelets and toasted bread with the worst coffee and tea I have ever had in my life :( secondly the front office staff are not the most friendly bunch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaawid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Four of us stayed in two rooms at the Regent Hotel in Colaba Mumbai. We found it to be very clean, the staff were friendly, breakfast (included) was good and best of all, located behind the Taj Hotel just a few minutes walk from India gate, it was very convenient. Make it clear to your taxi driver that the hotel is located behind the Taj hotel (we spent an hour at 1 am driving around Colaba looking for it!) I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the top floor and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Considering the high accommodation rates in Mumbai this hotel was definitely the right choice. The stuff at the reception isn't always the friendliest but if you push a little bit it alright. We managed to get a room upgrade for the same price as the room that we had booked was not available... Overall clean, nice rooms that will make you feel like home if you are coming from the "tougher north"

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GKRandARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were booked to stay at the Residency Hotel - Fort. After a horror ride from the airport in two black and yellow prepaid taxis (one got lost the other broke down) we arrived after dark. The Residency had somehow confused our booking - and so offered to take us to the Regent (their 'sister hotel' is what they called it) where we could have two adjacent rooms.

The staff at the Regent (Tim in particular) took good care of us and gave us the rooms for the same tarrif we had arranged at the Residency. The rooms were very nice, and the hotel is very close to The Gateway of India, and the Colaba street markets. Everything worked in our favour!

Breakfast was served in the 'restaurant' which is more like the foyer to the level one rooms - but it worked OK.

We had an enjoyable three day stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s4069b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#261 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#92 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#62 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#210 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#106 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel Colaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel Colaba

Property: Regent Hotel Colaba
Address: 8, Best Road | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel Colaba 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Hotel Colaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mumbai Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing