We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not the friendliest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent Hotel Colaba
Ranked #180 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Considering the high accommodation rates in Mumbai this hotel was definitely the right choice. The stuff at the reception isn't always the friendliest but if you push a little bit it alright. We managed to get a room upgrade for the same price as the room that we had booked was not available... Overall clean, nice rooms that will make you feel like home if you are coming from the "tougher north"

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKRandARC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Regent Hotel Colaba
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 161 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

We were booked to stay at the Residency Hotel - Fort. After a horror ride from the airport in two black and yellow prepaid taxis (one got lost the other broke down) we arrived after dark. The Residency had somehow confused our booking - and so offered to take us to the Regent (their 'sister hotel' is what they called it) where we could have two adjacent rooms.

The staff at the Regent (Tim in particular) took good care of us and gave us the rooms for the same tarrif we had arranged at the Residency. The rooms were very nice, and the hotel is very close to The Gateway of India, and the Colaba street markets. Everything worked in our favour!

Breakfast was served in the 'restaurant' which is more like the foyer to the level one rooms - but it worked OK.

We had an enjoyable three day stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank s4069b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

After being treated very poorly by the next door hotel, I walked into Regent Hotel in Colaba. The staff were super helpful and I got a price for a single room lower than stated in the guide book. Incredible! Unbeatable location and clean and quiet rooms. I loved my stay at the Regent and would recommend it to anyone who is coming to Mumbai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwedishVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights 5 days. We found our room to be exceptionally big and clean. The staff was very friendly and the service was exceptional. One call to the front desk and we had the item needed in 5 minutes. The location is exceptional. Leopold,s around the corner as is the Taj. Highly recommended
Only negative is WiFi is charged at RS 200 for 24 hrs. It's not the cost....but the inconvienlnce . Beyond that it a great hotel

Room Tip: You cannot beat the location!.Corner rooms are larger. First floor has breakfast served in the corri...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunielp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Perfectly located for sight seeing; around the corner from the Gateway of India, museums and other sites. Lovely bars and restaurants in close proximity to the hotel. Breakfast was at best average. Staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We ended up in this hotel last minute as our other hotel was overbooked. What stands out is the great location - walking distance to the gate of India and the extremely nice and helpful stuff - we forgot a jacket in Delhi and several people tried to help and contact the other hotel.

The hotel itself is ok. The rooms are quite spacious, clean and air conditioned. The rest is quite old and especially the breakfast is served in a strange location - in front of the rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is an average hotel imitating a posh hotel. It has strangely laid out art deco rooms and a fancy AC lobby but the rest of the corridors are not AC. It is in a great location in Colaba, two minutes from the Gateway of India and the Churchgate is very walkable.

Breakfast is surreally served in the corridor of the first floor (outside people's rooms). It was a particularity stingy breakfast and there is no free wi-fi (you have to pay or they have a laptop downstairs for free). The hotel isn't exactly cheap so i expected free wi-fi at least (which you get in so many hostels and cheaper hotels).

Staff were friendly but a little dim. Stay was pleasant and room was clean. We didn't have any problems.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloobloothefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#98 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
822 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#78 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#63 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
#312 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#386 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Hotel Colaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Hotel Colaba

Address: 8, Best Road | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $102 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent Hotel Colaba 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Regent Hotel Colaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mumbai Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing