We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand and opulent, but avoid staying if there's a wedding on”
Review of Sahara Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sahara Star Hotel
Ranked #27 of 489 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Clearly you only stay here if you need access to/from Mumbai airport, but compared to so many horrible hotels at airports, this was a breath of fresh air. A huge, lively place, it has stacks to offer, and rooms and public areas are all very nice indeed.

The central lagoon area with aquarium, bars, restaurants etc looks amazing, but unfortunately we weren't able to experience it because it was closed due to a multi-day wedding function! Thought I wouldn't sleep either because the disco was in the lagoon area and all the rooms are arranged around it, but the music was cut promptly at 11pm as we were promised it would be.

If you're sensitive to noise when sleeping, you may have issues as all rooms have a balcony onto the lagoon, and the doors that open onto them aren't double glazed and are certainly not noise-proof. I slept soundly, thought, but don't mind a bit of background noise.

Room was very nice, large and modern, with a real designer feel to it. Nice bathroom with walk-in shower. All necessary amenities.

The (Indian) food at the one restaurant we were able to use because of the wedding was excellent, but very expensive with wine.

Usual gripe in nearly all my hotel reviews: paying for internet access; how come hotels charge us for this essentially fixed-cost item? Answer: because they can. Why don't they charge extra for running water and lighting? One day this will seem as unacceptable as smoking on planes. It was wireless everywhere, and worked OK, but was expensive, and why am I paying for it anyway?

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,823)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,600 - 2,606 of 2,823 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed at the Sahara Star for one night as we were connecting to an international flight the following morning. The hotel is located adjacent to the domestic airport. We literally walked out of the arrivals hall, past the taxi stand and there it was so for an airport hotel (domestic airport), the location is absolutely ideal. To get to the international terminal, it is a ten minute drive however the hotel arranged a complimentary transfer for us.

The hotel is certainly different, in some ways strange - but not in a bad way. Upon arrival, it looked as though we were walking onto a construction site. However, once we cleared security, it once again looked like the entry to any other five star hotel. Check in was easy and we were then shown to our room. This where it got a bit different.

The hotel is built around a giant atrium. All the rooms have balconies into the atrium (i.e. not windows to the outside world). The atrium is the central attraction of the hotel. In it there are a number of restaurants, swimming pool, shops and all the hotel facilities. It is a large hotel with many rooms and looking into the atrium at night is impressive. There is a light and sound show a couple of times in the evening which was a bit irritating. It sounded like a bomb going off with smoke and light show and it is inescapable as every room faces into the atrium.

The rooms themselves were basic (and not the cleanest room I have ever been into either). They were on the smallish side too.

The biggest drawback is the cost. As the hotel is somewhat isolated, it has no competition for restaurants or shops and everything is priced as such. I felt I was being ripped off with the cost of the wi-fi internet access and the prices of the restaurants (by Indian standards) were very high. For example, a vegetarian meal with no alcohol cost around US$25.

All in all, it was a great airport hotel for one night. I don't think I would recommend it however if you are looking for a hotel for sightseeing in Mumbai or if you need to be near the city or business areas - it is too far away.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotsyd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

Very noisy and not clean. Location perfect close to the airport

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpw001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We booked the Sahara Star through Travel Guru. When we arrived in October we found that the bedrooms overlooked a huge and very humid central atrium. We were offered a room where the air conditioning was contaminated with mold spores making breathing most unpleasant and such that sleeping all night would have been a potentially toxic nightmare. We complained, after a long wait we were offered a second room, also facing the atrium as most of the bedrooms do and similarly contaminated by mold spores. Then we said the hotel was unclean and unhealthy and did not merit its 5 star rating: we wanted a refund as they had failed to offer suitable accommodation. We were implored to wait while the management found yet another room. We refused, for we had already been waiting over an hour. The management then totally failed to grasp the problem and attempted to mollify us with a free lunch which we naturally refused.
Regarding the refund hotel management told us since we booked through Travel Guru a refund would be down to them. Many weeks later Travel Guru said a refund could not be given because the hotel Sahara Star would not allow it. Caveat emptor!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnFromUK369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2010

As I step into the Sahara Star in Mumbai I feel free of the all the stress and hassle of Mumbai business. The staff was always ready, the huge area in the center of the stadium like space in the middle of the hotel was so relaxing and mending to the nerves. The fitness gym was state of the art and somehow they managed to provide a keen sense of privacy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

It is an ideal location and feels like an oasis in crowded Mumbai. The staff are courteous and ever so helpful

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgonsalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

I am a frequent traveler & stayed in many hotels across India. I generally avoid eating Indian food in so called specialty restaurants of the five star hotels primarily because my experience was never been satisfying in terms of food, service or ambience.

But The Indian restaurant at Sahara proved me wrong & compiled me to use it twice during my stay at Mumbai.

I experienced not only the amazing food but also a great service. I have never experienced such kind of warmth ever. Will definitely be back with the team.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anshuman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#23 of 489 in Mumbai
3,149 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 489 in Mumbai
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit Mumbai
#17 of 489 in Mumbai
2,516 reviews
Vile Parle East
ibis Mumbai Airport - An AccorHotels Brand
Bandra Kurla Complex
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
Sofitel Mumbai BKC
#2 of 489 in Mumbai
4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Star Hotel

Address: | Opp Domestic Airport, Mumbai 400099, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Mumbai
#12 Family Hotel in Mumbai
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai
#23 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai
#23 Spa Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $144 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Made by man's greatest strength...Imagination, Sahara Star is yet another masterpiece from Sahara India Pariwar. The hotel's magnificence blended with Indian mysticism epitomizes hospitality & stands deeply rooted in Indian traditions & culture. Creating a paradigm shift, Sahara Star showcases the world largest pillar less clear-to-sky dome, an architectural landmark blending hospitality and entertainment, offering one of the most individualized hospitality experiences. Complemented by India's finest 4,000 sq. ft. Marine Aquarium, abode to the world’s only Private Dining Room inside a marine aquarium with exquisite marine lives, the Hotel weaves a dining facility amidst these aquatic wonders. The world's first 'hemisphere' three compound-curved custom designed all glass panoramic elevators rises in the exotic 55,000 sq. ft. tropical lagoon, Hotel Sahara Star features 348 well-appointed luxurious guestrooms with 25 elegant suites. In an ambience steeped in rich culture and superlative luxury, Sahara Sapphire, Mumbai’s largest pillar-less multi-purpose event hall, gives an opportunity for every host to announce their event to the world. Hotel Sahara Star boasts of its largest hall in the city with a floor plate of 55,000 sq.ft, an impressive ceiling height of 25ft. Besides, reigned by contemporary design, Jade Ballroom embraces a sombre play of elegance. With a capacity to host 1000 guests in its abundant space of 10,000 sq.ft. Jade’s pillar-less multi-function area with a ceiling height of 18 feet is a captivating sight for every guest. The exclusive, spacious & elegantly designed Business Centre, catering to all your corporate needs, makes it the perfect and the most sought-after business destination. Aces, the Presidential boardroom is one of the city’s largest featuring technologically advanced facilities for the first times in India. The 77 people capacity presidential boardroom comprises four-screen barco projection system, Bosch digital congress network system, Voice-activated cameras, Ceiling mounted visualiser and multimedia documentation of proceeding. Four well-equipped meeting rooms, christened as Clubs, Spades, Hearts and Diamonds, offer state-of-the-art facilities and services available round-the-clock. Hotel Sahara Star features an unbelievable external façade made of glass and steel. Here, the culture, mystique & hospitality of India blends with modern facility & services to create the finest business-cum-leisure hotel of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sahara Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Mumbai
Sahara Star Hotel In Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing