We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sahara Star Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Mumbai BKC(Mumbai)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$121
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$296
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$243
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$59
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$134
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lalit Mumbai(Mumbai)
$126
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,978)
Filter reviews
2,978 results
Traveler rating
1,753
743
252
97
133
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,753
743
252
97
133
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearth platedomestic airporttropical lagoonmercury roomnamak restaurantunder renovationcoffee shopawesome hotelclose to the airportspecial thanksf bamazing experiencein room dininggreat hospitalitycourteous staffexcellent staybreakfast spread
Filter
Updating list...
2,287 - 2,292 of 2,978 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was located very near to my place of stay hence it took very less time to reach and journey was also smooth and jam free. I was there with my family and close relatives. quality of food , service and cleanliness was excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank govgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Response 1

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Hotel Location:
The hotel is approximately 20-30 minutes transfer from Mumbai International International Airport during peak time. It is right opposite the domestic airport as confirmed by many reviews. Sahara Hotel star is extremely well located for those who wish to be near the airport and on very short stay in Mumbai.
The Mumbai traffic meant it took 2.5 hours on a Friday evening to reach town. Having completed a long haul flight, it was a welcome relief to see a chauffeur driven car waiting for us that the Hotel offers and the hotel driver standing with my name plate. The driver gave a bottle of water to quench my thirst which was a good gesture.

Welcome and check in:
On arrival the hotel staff welcomed us with a very warm and friendly welcome, although I did not realise that due to security issues in Mumbai, Hotels scan all luggage and people through scanners. This was luckily a speedy processes as there were plenty of porters in uniforms ready to help with luggage.
As mentioned by other reviews the Hotel from the outside looks awful and gives no sense of any expectations but on entering the Hotel lobby, the impressions do change. Check-in process was very fast and key cards to the room were given literally within 10 minutes of arrival. Wi-Fi connection was available and explained by the porters. The porter was efficient although the concierge nearly mixed up my luggage.

Room amenities:
The room was immaculate and very clean, spacious and have a large flat screen TV complete with satellite TV and a variety of channels available. The rooms are finished to a very high standard and seemed to have been refurbished recently. Mineral water bottles were provided in the room together with Ta/coffee making facilities.
The room was extremely well furnished with good storage (double wardrobes) and an extremely large comfortable bed with ample of pillows and cushions. Bathrooms contained usual range of toiletries and had a tub as well as shower enclose which was an added bonus. The shower was peculiar in that you could not hang it high up as the hook was at wait high which meant you had to hold it all the time!

An in-room safe is available at no extra cost which was extremely handy. All controls for lights, temperatures were at the bed side. On checking in the first day there was a tray with fruit, and a small range of cookies, flap jacks, cake and chocolate piece which was a nice welcome.

Meals:
The hotel provides buffet style breakfast from as early as 6:30 am. Breakfast included a huge variety of fresh fruit (cut as well as whole fruits) breads, cookies, cakes, donuts, pastries and everything you would expect in a 5 star hotel. In addition there were huge choices of hot dishes which varied daily from local Indian delicacies to international choices to name a few. The chefs were ready to make any types of eggs, waffles or Indian savouries as required and it was prepared to a very high standard.
Lunch contained a variety of foods which were prepared to high quality. Again a range of local and international cuisines were available and the hotel did really not let itself down when it came to quality of meals.

Conference facilities:
The Hotel has one of the best conference facilities ever seen with state of the art equipment and facilities. Conference facility in my opinion exceed those seen even in some of the developed countries with each participants having their own flat screen tom view the speaker at the time.

Vicinity:
The Orchid hotel is right next to this hotel and no shops or supermarkets were seen as the hotel was next to a busy road junction, however areas such as Santa Cruz were just a few minutes away by Taxi/Rickshaw.

Internet Access:
In-house internet access available via Wi-Fi makes life very convenient although Wi-Fi from the room was not as strong as one available from Reception area. Trying to Viber or Facetime was a huge challenge as connection was really poor.

Overall rating:
Overall one would find this hotel as extremely well located for passengers in transit for a day or 2 in Mumbai and seems the new owners are making the hotel undergo a renovation at present. The hotel is extremely well managed and staff are always ready to help in any way they can. As an additional bonus security is very good within the hotel. If you plans to go a lot to town or areas further than Bandra then it is not worth staying at this hotel simply because the traffic gets to be a killer despite how patient one is.

On the Sunday morning at 5AM, the second day of my stay at this hotel, there was a loud construction noise and knocking which went on till 7AM. I complained to the reception and asked that I would like to know if there was work going on at the hotel as this was loud.
Sadly no one got back to me at all. It seems reception staff are very scared to escalate anything to the Hotel Manager – it’s just the Indian culture!!. Let us hope the hotel's esteem manager does not copy and paste his usual response for this below :)

Room Tip: Ensure you get a renovated room and it is not located near to where construction work takes place. Also avoid rooms next to elevator.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel4love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star !!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and Entertainment.

We wholeheartedly accept your inspiring words and appreciate your efforts in expressing the most detailed review we have ever received, which shall further encourage our entire Team to provide enhanced services to
our esteemed guests like You.

We respect your trust in us, and we are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay as much as we did to make it a memorable one for you.

We sincerely apologise for the early morning disturbance due to our ongoing renovation as we work towards shaping the future.

We look forward to meeting you during your next visit to Hotel Sahara Star.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is located right outside the domestic airport at Mumbai hence making it very accessible. However, I would not recommend this hotel as its expensive and not value for money.

Would recommend staying at the Juhu area instead here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MumbaiPradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

nice property situated near airport very friendly staff good restaurant but there is no spa very disappointing but other than spa very good property had been there for many times interior of the hotel is very good but entrance lobby very poor

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ameet999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed the magnificent view of the tropical lagoon and the entire concept of the Hotel.

Please pardon us for our current appearance as the future is taking shape. We assure you better and improved services during your next visit to our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

As the name goes, this is a star hotel situated right in the centre of the city and very close to the airports. The ambience is fantastic and the room service as good as it can get. The staff is very friendly and help you out of the way if required.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vikas_goenka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

At Hotel Sahara Star, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews