We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but work in progress”
Review of Sahara Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sahara Star Hotel
Ranked #24 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but work in progress”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over a week end to enjoy the hospitality of Sahara star and we were quite satisfied with the experience. Rooms are good and modern but privacy is a issue as most of the rooms are facing the inner open space of the hotel. Have to keep curtains closed most of the time.
I don't understand why this hotel is under renovation since past 5 years and never feels complete !!!
Food served at the restaurant is good but pricey. We will like to visit again after all facilities are ready...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preeti2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay over the weekend.

Please pardon us for our current appearance as the future is taking shape. We assure you better and improved services during your next visit to our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,455
    661
    231
    85
    102
See reviews for
498
347
181
1,149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at Sahara Star during Sep'13. Outside of the hotel still looks like work-in-progress but it is quite vibrant inside with multiple restaurants and central podium. We stayed on 4th floor room with balcony overlooking the central podium.
Restaurant serves decent good food and overall service from the staff is satisfactory.
The location of the hotel is quite near to domestic airport of Mumbai and other business districts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterBlasterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are extremely delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed the magnificent view of the tropical lagoon, relished the delicious cuisines at our specialty restaurants and appreciated the entire concept of the Hotel.

The entire team feels privileged and honored by your kind words of appreciation.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I called Hotel Sahara Star on the landline number listed online to book a room. After 4 unsuccessful attempts by the operators to connect to the reservation staff, I was given the direct reservation number. On calling the same, I was made to wait for 6 minutes after which a female staff answered; I asked for a room and before I finished my sentence, she interrupted to ask if I was a member. She then transferred me to another female staff who was equally rude and said that they did not have rooms available for my required dates without a hint of remorse.
I'm actually relieved that they did not have rooms; since it was such a task to simply make a reservation, I shudder to think how much trouble the check in and other procedures would be!

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Panai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent interaction.

I have noted your valuable feedback and assure you that corrective measures shall be initiated.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is one of the best properties I have come across; but it has been under renovation for years now!! They have been very creative with their structure. The inner facing rooms give a wonderful view of all the restaurants and the pool. The rooms are wonderful, large and open with light and temperature control panel at the bedside. Since the rooms are constructed in a circular fashion, we had a bit of an issue with privacy and had to forego the beautiful view and keep the curtains closed.
Good choice of cuisine. The service is a bit intrusive and can be toned down.
The spa and swimming pool was closed for renovation. We could not find the gym. The property is small so without the pool and gym can get boring for more than a day.

Room Tip: Ask for inner facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrachiNish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are extremely delighted to know that you and your family enjoyed the magnificent view of the tropical lagoon, relished the delicious cuisines at our specialty restaurants and appreciated the entire concept of the Hotel.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I just landed today morning in Mumbai for a business meeting.
This place is just few metres away from airport.
Post meeting got to Explore this place which so beautiful inside.
The lagoon lounge and earthen plate restaurants are the best!
Such a relaxing place to stay and spend quality time with anyone.
One of the great places I have visited.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Geenaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star !!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are pleased to receive your positive feedback and feel encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

we were staying one night at Sahara Star to celebrate our anniversary.Overall very nice experience . The staff are courteous & very helpful. Had buffet- dinner at the Earth plate restaurant.One of the best buffets around.Had a good variety of veg & non-veg .They had lots of Indian food items.Best food items were the Bharwan Aloo, Rann, Dum Biryani (both veg & Non veg) and the cold Salads.Dessert section was okay.Will definitely be recommending to Dinner buffet to our friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Medhapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have made the booking through you and was given a room far far away from the lift,which needs a very very long walk every time you need to get out.
when I have asked for a room near the lift I was asked to pay a further Rs1500 plus taxes per day.I had no option but to pay the same.


  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank A T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish Sodhi ., General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent visit.

I have noted your valuable feedback and assure you that corrective measures shall be initiated.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#25 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,731 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#15 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,794 reviews
The Lalit Mumbai
#19 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Orchid Mumbai
#47 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,692 reviews
The Leela Mumbai
#17 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,045 reviews
Taj Santacruz
#5 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Star Hotel

Property: Sahara Star Hotel
Address: opp Domestic Airport, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#21 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#21 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sahara Star, the flagship hotel of Sahara India Pariwar, is one of India’s most desirable destinations. The 5-star deluxe hotel strategically located near Mumbai's domestic airport magnificently blends Indian mysticism and culture, while personifying the country's progressive spirit blending peerless hospitality with ultra-modern technology. Hotel Sahara Star enthralls the world with its magnificence, an architectural phenomenon, a majestic landmark, a destination to be experienced in its entire splendor. The hotel is a distinct yet contemporary destination which caters to the guest’s requirements with state of the art amenities, services & promotions. Creating a paradigm shift, Sahara Star showcases world largest-pillar-less- clear- to- sky dome, an architectural landmark blending hospitality and entertainment to cater one of the most individualized hospitality experiences. The grand new lobby of the hotel that firmly differentiates between construction and creation is a visual delight, an engineering marvel, a clinical fusion of design and space. Complemented by India's finest 4,000 sq ft Marine Aquarium, abode to world’s only Private Dining Room inside a marine aquarium exquisite marine lives, the Hotel weaves a dining facility amidst these aquatic wonders. The world's first 'hemisphere' three compound-curved custom designed all glass panoramic elevators rising in the exotic 55,000 sq. ft tropical lagoon can be found nowhere else. In an ambience steeped in rich culture and superlative luxury, Sahara Sapphire, Mumbai’s largest pillar-less multi-purpose event hall, gives an opportunity for every host to announce their event to the world. Hotel Sahara Star boasts of its largest hall in the city with a floor plate of 55,000 sq.ft, an impressive ceiling height of 25ft. Besides, reigned by contemporary design, Jade Ballroom embraces a sombre play of elegance. With a capacity to host 1000 guests in its abundant space of 10,000 sq.ft. Jade’s pillar-less multi-function area with a ceiling height of 18 feet is a captivating sight for every guest. With a complete makeover of its exclusive rooms - Earth, Mercury, Uranus and Neptune, Hotel Sahara Star is well appointed with 286 guestrooms inclusive of 14 luxurious suites and 9 Food & Beverage outlets. Hotel Sahara Star features an unbelievable external facade made of glass and steel. Here, the culture, mystique & hospitality of India blends with modern facility & services to create the finest business-cum-leisure hotel of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sahara Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Hotel Mumbai
Sahara Star Hotel In Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing