We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“its the service that makes a difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sahara Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sahara Star Hotel
Ranked #25 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“its the service that makes a difference”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

service in this place is impeccable.
you ask for room service it is at your room in 5 minutes, followed up by a call to ensure you received the requested service.
restaurants- good breakfast spread.
variety of restaurants and 2 decent bars.
have stayed in other 5* hotels in Mumbai before. will probably be sticking to the Sahara Star.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodystar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at our Hotel. The entire team feels encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,403
    640
    223
    80
    99
See reviews for
472
333
177
1,112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Sahara Star Hotel last week for a short two-day business visit. I have stayed here several times.This hotel is great and offers a wide variety of services from restaurants (including the Aquarium restaurant) to great buffets, shops, gym/spa, very conveniently located 5 minutes from the domestic airport. All the staff are very friendly and try to help in anything you might need and they do it fast,so any problem that might arise during your stay or any special request is quickly and effeciently solved.
The rates are reasonbale for a hotel that offers so many services.
Ill defintaley come back to this hotel and definately recommend it

Room Tip: i stayed in an Earth Room number 3072,all rooms have the same view overlooking the centre of the Cir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juan1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star !!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are pleased to receive your positive feedback and feel encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

One of the most unique hotels in India! Fantastic concept. The whole place is made in a way that you really do not even have to get out of the room to feel the ambiance of all the restaurants. Nice light show ! Very courteous staff. Always smiling and ready to offer help. Good food...close to the airport. Highly recommend..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sameersobti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at our Hotel. The entire team feels encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Sahara Star indeed exceeded our expectation. The beautiful concept is rear, the food is delicious and the service is amazing. The entire team at Sahara is very helpful. I for sure will give it the 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haidar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at our Hotel. The entire team feels encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai
Level Contributor
185 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in october 2012.Ofcourse this is not first time for me to stay here.
On an earlier occasion ,I really didnot get time to move around the hotel premises.
Late checkin and early checkout could be the reasons.I had sometime to move around
in the evening .I liked it very much.Though arranged very congested way,the variety and
planning for such arrangements needs to be appreciated.Excellent decor and ambience.A variety of Restaurants.A lot of specialities.Of course one needs to stay there for atleast three days to enjoy the available opportunities.Though I didnot have any comment on check in process,myself and my wife didnot like the proceedure followed the front staff to take our photograph.Asking us to stand near a wall in the lobby to take photograph by one who
does not know how to take photograph.Some one else did that job after the first one
failed.This proceedure is not followed by any hotel in the world.We didnot appreciate this.Should not be repeated .The hotel should have the camera on the checkin desk.
We didnot understand why we are asked to be accompanied by a Lady Executive to the room.She simply followed us ,handed over the key and left.We presume she was sent to
give us a briefing ....?
Room as expected was good.well maintained.Excellent Surrounding.Enjoyed the fire
and Lazor show?!Staff from bell desk,house keeping ,room service etc are very
courteos.We were happy to get late check out.Guest Relations are attentive.We availed In Room dining facility.Satisfaction was to the extent of 75-percent-infact a good rating.
I should specially commend the courteous services of Banqueting services.Very good
staff.Our half day meeting on 09 -10-12 went through very well in ACES.ACES is the presidential Board room .I was told this kind of room is first in the country.We were
extremely happy with the facilities and services.I strongly recommend and I will conduct
meetings there again.But I was very much disappointed that the Lunch was served in a open hall in the hot sun.This idea of serving lunch in the hot sun in an open place is a stupid idea.Had i known it earler,I would have requested for an alternative.Most of the delegates--chairmen and chief executives of banks including me were sweating.I removed my Suit
jacket and someone helped me to take care of this.This arrangement spoiled our happy mood.Otherwise, delegates would have enjoyed food both in quality and quantity.Hotel
must saved a lot of food.I will not repeat this.I will request them to make an alternate arrangement in future.Overall Excellent.

Room Tip: All Mercury rooms are same
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhima2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay.

I have noted your valuable feedback and assure you that corrective measures shall be initiated.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Landmark property near mumbai domestic airport bought sahara group n since gone through massive renovation stil some part of property is under revnovation, must say architect did brilliant job by creating tropical laggon n huge sky dome right middle of the buzy town mumbai.however same time it has also brought some basic flaws in construction n over all design . first of all exterior will let u down if u r first time visitor specially enterance does not give u warm welcome i guess they are working on with new enterance..go further lobby area is pleasent , check in was smooth though room was not ready even it was 1:45 pm even though i did advance booking asked to wait at lounge staff was helpful waited for 40 min before escorted to my room n there was marthon walk to reach room even though my room was centeral at property at 3rd floor , hotel seriousely need to look into it as both side elevatore has been placed far away from the room until n unless your room is next to them which i guess nobody prefer, carpet at passgae towards room was also uneven at few spots someone can trapped n fall, room was small as per five star standard but clean with all basic animities, it has small balcony looking over laggon it was difficult acess it as they have seating chairs n table right next to door , writing desk n chair behind it which makes area next to bed very crumped. bed was comfartable , bathroom was completley laid down it get flooded everytime take bath, tiles were old with dirty sport marks , bathroom amenities was average . room service was quick n up to mark , at night they have laser show n few more activites at variouse restuarnts which could get little more noisy thn u can expect if u r light sleeper carry some ear buds. High lounge is lovely place to organise casual meeting or cocktails with friends , spa is under renovation so they moved to gym enterance n obv d person does have much knowledge abt it variouse spa treatment n i droped d idea of taking massage, pool is very small sutiable for kids, through out my stay customer service was excellent , staffs are well trained n helpful. I dont think so i will stay here again as it does not cover my basic needs of comfart n peace , may be dont mind coming over to one of their restuarnts or lounge , i guess this place is good for family with childrens with open space for them. not for me though!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akaypatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and we regret the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay.

I have noted your valuable feedback and assure you that corrective measures shall be initiated.

Please accept our sincere apologies and we look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future with an assurance of better and improved services.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Mumbai is loaded with crazy, and this place served us well as the perfect escape. The service is great, the gym is fantastic, the restaurants have the most incredible gourmet food. Things are definitely a bit on the pricey side, but you do get your money's worth. The beds are really comfortable and the night-time show and music are all over by eleven. We had the most basic style room, and it lacked nothing at all... except maybe the fact that the bathtub style caused the shower to leak all over the bathroom floor, regardless of how we tried to prevent it. The location is about 250 meters away from the airport. Although the cabbies will try to fleece you for 450 INR, tell them to stuff it. It's a 30 second drive. Greedy cabbies aren't the hotel's fault though. This place is the break from Mumbai that you will inevitably need. It's a great city, but man it wears you out. The Sahara Star made everything feel a lot easier. I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: They all look over the same circular area. I think all of the rooms would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferWrennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sahara S, General Manager at Sahara Star Hotel, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Esteemed Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Sahara Star!!

We thank you for choosing Sahara Star as your preferred hotel in Mumbai and our endeavor is to provide all our guests a memorable experience with a fusion of Hospitality and entertainment.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay at our Hotel. The entire team feels encouraged by your kind words of appreciation.

We once again take this opportunity to thank you for your valuable feedback and look forward to welcome you to Sahara Star in the near future.

Regards and Sahara Pranam

Manish Sodhi,
General Manager,
Hotel Sahara Star,
Sahara Hospitality Ltd.,
Opposite Domestic Airport,
Vile Parle-East, Mumbai-400099.
Board Tel :+91 22 39895000
Board Fax :+91 22 39895001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Lalit Mumbai
#22 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,039 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
Hyatt Regency Mumbai
#16 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,728 reviews
The Orchid Mumbai
#58 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Mumbai
#23 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,609 reviews
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#15 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,794 reviews
The Leela Mumbai
#19 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahara Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahara Star Hotel

Property: Sahara Star Hotel
Address: opp Domestic Airport, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Family Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#22 Spa Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#22 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sahara Star Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sahara Star, the flagship hotel of Sahara India Pariwar, is one of India’s most desirable destinations. The 5-star deluxe hotel strategically located near Mumbai's domestic airport magnificently blends Indian mysticism and culture, while personifying the country's progressive spirit blending peerless hospitality with ultra-modern technology. Hotel Sahara Star enthralls the world with its magnificence, an architectural phenomenon, a majestic landmark, a destination to be experienced in its entire splendor. The hotel is a distinct yet contemporary destination which caters to the guest’s requirements with state of the art amenities, services & promotions. Creating a paradigm shift, Sahara Star showcases world largest-pillar-less- clear- to- sky dome, an architectural landmark blending hospitality and entertainment to cater one of the most individualized hospitality experiences. The grand new lobby of the hotel that firmly differentiates between construction and creation is a visual delight, an engineering marvel, a clinical fusion of design and space. Complemented by India's finest 4,000 sq ft Marine Aquarium, abode to world’s only Private Dining Room inside a marine aquarium exquisite marine lives, the Hotel weaves a dining facility amidst these aquatic wonders. The world's first 'hemisphere' three compound-curved custom designed all glass panoramic elevators rising in the exotic 55,000 sq. ft tropical lagoon can be found nowhere else. In an ambience steeped in rich culture and superlative luxury, Sahara Sapphire, Mumbai’s largest pillar-less multi-purpose event hall, gives an opportunity for every host to announce their event to the world. Hotel Sahara Star boasts of its largest hall in the city with a floor plate of 55,000 sq.ft, an impressive ceiling height of 25ft. Besides, reigned by contemporary design, Jade Ballroom embraces a sombre play of elegance. With a capacity to host 1000 guests in its abundant space of 10,000 sq.ft. Jade’s pillar-less multi-function area with a ceiling height of 18 feet is a captivating sight for every guest. With a complete makeover of its exclusive rooms - Earth, Mercury, Uranus and Neptune, Hotel Sahara Star is well appointed with 286 guestrooms inclusive of 14 luxurious suites and 9 Food & Beverage outlets. Hotel Sahara Star features an unbelievable external facade made of glass and steel. Here, the culture, mystique & hospitality of India blends with modern facility & services to create the finest business-cum-leisure hotel of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sahara Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahara Star Hotel In Mumbai
Sahara Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing