We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empire Royale Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$128
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$207
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$266
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$218
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$121
$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$98
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Grande(Mumbai)(Great Value!)
$48
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Resort(Mumbai)
$113
$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
0
7
4
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
7
4
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I STAY 3 days here with my friends.
it have modern architecture, traditional hospitality and first-class services. The hotel is sure to please leisure as well as the business travelers alike. Some of the main features of the hotel are room service, peaceful ambience and homely atmosphere. Empire Royale Hotel was make my trip to Mumbai, a memorable affair.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank friendforadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

Hard to find a decent place in south Mumbai. This comes close, but ceilings are vey low, so overall experience just 'ok'.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wpg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

LAST place to stay in Mumbai- Empire Royale Hotel. Reasons :
Rude, unmannerly, suspicious and unhelpful staff
Harassment by front desk
Seems like the first place officals would raid for unhealthy practices
Dubious location/building
Feeling of not being safe
Very low roof
Building might tumble down any moment
Hard to locate the hotel (3rd floor of a dubious building)

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank granpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Taxi driver brought us there then oddly hung about at reception with us even after I had given him a healthy tip. Realised later that part of the 4700 INR for a room for the night was going in his pocket as commission and he was waiting about for his cut. Rude staff ; supercilious, cold and sneering- made fun of my accent and spoke to me as if I was an untouchable ! Why did I stay you might ask ? Knackered after a 24 hour journey and ready to collapse. Rooms tiny, like something out of a spaceship, all metallic and cramped. Avoid at all costs. Not a warm welcome to the wonderful Mumbai.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siobhanmcfadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Empire Royale and found the hotel provided excellent service with a great location.

What was pleasantly surprising is that what you saw on the internet (in picture) was exactly what you got - there are times where hotels sometimes look so much better in the photos than what you actually get - not in this case.

SERVICE - both reception and hotel staff were very attentive - whether it was because they was so quiet due to tourist numbers dropping as a result of the Mumbai attacks, I'm not sure, but the service we got was excellent. The only reason why I wouldn't rate this a 100% service was because once our breakfast arrived and it was for just 1 person, not two so we had to phone to get another breakfast which they rapidly delivered - that was the only fault.

ROOM - exactly what you saw in the picture - extremely clean, cellings are a tad low. We had a quiet room - not much of a view but it wasn't facing the main room so that was ideal.

BREAKFAST - there is no dinning area so the breakfast is brought up to your room - not much choice and nothing to write home about, but it was complimentary and arrived within 10 mins of phoning so it was adequate.

LOCATION - it was great location but as many other visitors, we had to phone the hotel once we got to Macdonalds to find out where it was - you really need to look carefully as it's hidden away and not that obvious. But great location - walking distance of CST so that was great - a real plus!

FACILITIES - there was just a waiting area which we used as our flight was very late at night which was nice. No other facilities that I could see.

Overall, I was really pleased with this hotel and in particular, the service was really excellent. It was a lot more than what we had paid in other parts of India but in Mumbai you have to recalibrate your budget so what we paid was not expensive by Mumbai standards.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LWFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews