We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Empire Royale Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$105
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sofitel Mumbai BKC(Mumbai)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$298
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$172
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$217
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$60
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$140
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
0
7
4
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
0
7
4
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 16 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2008

A recently revamped hotel opposite the CST train station - a world heritage site. The lobby is actually on the 3rd floor and the hotel in general is certainly quirky - i think the original floor has been split into two to provide rooms upstairs and downstairs so the ceilings are lower than usual. You do not really notice it as it is very tastefully decorated. It also has a good business centre. The restaurant was under refurbishment while we were there so cannot comment on the food other than the room service took for ever, but we will put this down to been over-run with the restaurant being out of action!
Really good value for Mumbai - we paid £55 per night - which you struggle to beat in Mumbai - and had a room on the front overlooking the CST and the hussle and bustle of the streets. You can hear the traffic so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room on the back (view of some nearby rooftops!)
Really handy for most of Mumbai's sights and for the train station.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hobbo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

This is a nice clean 3 star hotel with all mod cons...
The rooms did smell of moth balls but you do get used to it.
When getting there tell the taxi its opposite VT station next to Mcdonalds.
Staff very friendly
Breakfast very disapointing...plain omlette or toast
Internet connection was very poor in there nice business lounge
They stung us on hiring a private taxi which annoyed me.
Overall though was good value for money and pleasing to the eye and clean.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank hewhodares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2007

The hotel has been refurbished so everything in the room is new and clean. It is located just opposite CST and cost us Rs 350 with a taxi to the international airport.
Preferred location is further south in Colaba since its closer to the Gateway of India and other sights.
Don't bother ordering any food at this hotel though as you really have no idea what is it you've gotten.
A good hotel in a good location, nothing special but its a clean room at least.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank lolloZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Overall I would probably have rated this hotel as average but given what I've heard about hotels in Mumbai, I think at £60 per night (double) in a good location, its actually quite a find. Its essentially a business persons hotel and the guests are mostly Indian. The staff were fine, polite and helpful and the rooms were clean- they do smell of moth balls but I understand that's normal to keep cockroaches away. We were there during Fashion Week so we think all the hotels had inflated their prices, so perhaps the normal rates are lower. Room service was available although we didn't actually sample anything other than drinks. The hotel is located opposite the famous VT station- so its above a very busy junction, which you can hear from your room, but to be honest it never bothered us or kept us awake. The traffic actually made for great viewing.
We are really glad we stayed in Mumbai itself rather than outside as we got to really see the city and found it fascinating. There's a lot of poverty , the traffic is nuts but its also charming. We got a lot of attention, and had requests for photographs, so Western tourists are clearly a source of fascination.....
So, in summary- air conditioned room and en-suite, cleaned daily, and near everything, not bad for Mumbai it seems.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank travelfrenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We did not have a very positive experience at this hotel. It is far from the aiport and the taxi ride there was very expensiive (for India). It was very difficult to find the hotel because it is located on the 3rd floor of a random building.The front desk did not seem to have our reservation in their system or perhaps didn't know how to deal with a prepaid internet reservation and we had to wait for an hour before they finally led us to our room. The room itself was nicely appointed but rather small. It felt much more like a cruise ship cabin than a hotel room. The bathroom was small and had a strange layout. Forunately for us, the hotel was located fairly close to most of what we wanted to do. However, we did not see any other tourists in our hotel and the staff did not seem to know how to deal with tourists. We think that this is more of a hotel for Indian businessmen and women. I would not recommend this hotel for tourists...look for something closer to the airport or a more touristy area.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alyssa_slc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews