We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a last resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Grand Hotel
Ranked #130 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This hotel is a last resort”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel about 5 times now and all that I can say is that I do not stay here by choice. It is a last resort if the Holiday Inn next door is full.
The rooms have a weird smell to them. Something like pine disinfectant........there are stains all over everything, and the sheets on the beds whilst clean, have gone a slightly grey color
as they are quite old. The service at this hotel is not very good at all, and particularly in the downstairs restaurant where breakfast is served, the waiters seem to battle to even speak English.
When I checked in I specifically asked that I be put in a quiet room, and was put into a poky little room on the second floor. It certainly was not quiet.....I in fact had to take sleeping tablets the first 2 nights that I was there, due to noisy guests with their TV' s at full volume at 1am and shouting/talking loudly slamming of doors etc.. When I arrived back on the 3rd night there was a huge party right below, making it impossible to even think it was creating so much noise.
This was the last straw and I was moved to a "suite", which although bigger, was no better than the original room that I was in.
One redeeming factor about this hotel, is that the second floor restaurant, called Vividh, is an absolute gem. Their western food is not great at all, but their Indian is fantastic. Particularly their kebabs and grilled food (starters). They have some of the biggest Tiger prawns I have ever seen and they are really good. The chicken grills are also pretty much all great.
I would not recommend this hotel for international travellers coming to India.
In respect of value, the rooms here are priced at about the same as the Holiday Inn across the road, and there is no comparison between the 2. The HI is like a palace compared to this dingy place.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob_DM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    78
    47
    14
    19
See reviews for
24
22
16
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Had my wedding reception arranged and will have to tell you, the entire experience was too good. Its dam value for money and the staff is extremely polite and helpful. The ameneties are exceptional. Must say you will never realise that its right in the heart of the noisy sakinaka. Go for it people...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujatha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and not much impressed, as it is not value for money they have asked, let me make it more clear, hotel is Ok in general but if u compare the money they charge as room rent it is not value for money, internet connection is chargeable (exceptionally high), in room dining menu is killing in term of price, everything is overpriced.
Most funny part is that u don’t have to put alarm if u want to get up in the morning because walls of the room is so thin (or i guess it is just a dummy wall between two rooms) that u don’t have to put alarm by urself and u can easily woke up by alarm of the guest who is staying in the room next to you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rajivnift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed in the hotel just for a day. This hotel is like. Everything is clean, fresh room - new furniture, sanitary ware (modern, beautiful), LCD TV. When delivering produce fruit plate and utensils. For breakfast not included, as were leaving early in the morning - were asked to retsepshen make breakfast with him - was denied - they say they have it with so much to so many, and with them not to give such an early time ... the hotel by car, and we also vstreteli the next day again taken to the airport. The airport is 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Superior room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simonovdmitri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
136 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I didnt find any flaw in the hotel which was being mentioned in the several reviews by other guests. It is a property located at a very central place near to airport, thereby making you convienient to reach anywhere in this dangerous city of traffic. Actually, it is not a budget hotel, it is a best business hotel if you dont need the tag of a Five star hotel. Very cozy rooms with comfortable bed with all facilities. As far as food is concerned, I liked the food in their Indian restaurant and the buffet breakfast was also appreciable. In all, a highly recommended hotel for all.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparshg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Already stayed several times at this hotel, typically for one night, and was never dissatisfied. The rooms are nice and spacy, with all the necessary amenities. The hotel serves a decent breakfast down in the coffee shop (lobby level) , although nothing real exciting Staff at the reception is friendly. Got a couple of good restaurants and is centrally located near Saki Naka.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHalfBloodPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Sorry I can't say anything helpful about this hotel. I stayed here for one night after arriving late into Mumbai with no accommodation arrangements. Rooms go for around the Rs 5000 mark, which is a lot for what you get - a somewhat clean and somewhat quiet, but also somewhat smelly hotel with whose proclaimed 4* ranking I feel a little uncomfortable. It was generally functional - staff was reasonably cooperative and the facility was adequate. Wifi was a little patchy (try booking an airline ticket on your cell phone using a network that keeps logging you off!). Neighbourhood is horrendous (do NOT venture out by foot), but this goes for all the hotels near the Mumbai airport. Breakfast was good and so was the airport transfer (which was complimentary for me but isn't always so).

I needed a place to crash for a night between flights, and this hotel served that purpose. I wouldn't choose this place if I wanted to actually enjoy my stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chen_Lev_Eshkolot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vits Hotel
#51 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,060 reviews
Holiday Inn Mumbai International...
#36 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,510 reviews
Courtyard Mumbai International A...
#14 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mirage Hotel
#89 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
480 reviews
Vile Parle East
The Mirador Hotel
The Mirador Hotel
#81 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
402 reviews
Hotel Suba International
#41 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Grand Hotel

Property: The Peninsula Grand Hotel
Address: Sakinaka Junction | Andheri (E), Mumbai (Bombay) 400072, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#65 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Peninsula Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Peninsula Mumbai
Grand Peninsula Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing