We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great value-for-money option in the heart of South Bombay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YWCA International Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
YWCA International Guest House
Save
You added YWCA International Guest House to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A great value-for-money option in the heart of South Bombay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location (walkable to Colaba Causeway, Gateway of India, Kala Ghoda arts district, etc). Reliable service, tasty breakfast, fast WiFi. Rooms are clean and new, and staff run the place professionally. A great value-for-money option in the heart of south Mumbai.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank intrepidtraveller288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    85
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
38
45
44
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

What should I expect when planning to stay in a Youth Hostile? But for $85 US dollars I would expect more. We arrived late at night, so we were happy just to not sleep upright, as we had in our taxi for the four hour drive there. The building is an ancient gothic stone structure, that made me want to write a novel with this as the setting. It was amazing! Enormous trees with heavy vines hovering and keeping the building shaded. Inside, you can see the wear and tear of it's use as a community building. There were children and families running about the main room and the outdoor play yard, even at 11pm. It has a very friendly feel.

The rooms are very quaint. We had two single beds, with throw blankets that may have been woven the day the YWCA opened it's doors for the first time. Vintage? A small table and a simple desk were all that adorned the room. There was a ceiling fan and a wall air conditioning unit. The bathroom was interesting. The toilet was complimented by the sprayer all Indian bathrooms seem to have - bring your own toilet paper while in India. My daughter and I used two rolls over two weeks because it was sparse, even in very nice hotels. The shower was the interesting part. It is not in a stall, but shares the wall of the toilet and is right next to the toilet and in front of the sink. The entire bathroom floor is the floor of the shower. This really creeped me out as any germs on the floor from around the toilet, mixed into the runoff water from the shower. Also, our drain backed up so I turned the water on and off as needed, so I wasn't standing in a puddle of germy water the whole shower. I tried not to think about it, and wrapped it into the India "experience".

The bathroom door was rotted away on the bottom few inches of it's structure, and there was mold in the room and bathroom. As hot and humid as it is here, that would be expected. If you are staying at a Hostile, I am sure you do not expect super high standards, but I just wanted to give a view of what to expect.

We used the air conditioning at night (there is an additional fee for if you use it). Around 2am I woke up freezing. It only ran on high and the threadbare coverlets they give you do nothing to match the intensity of the AC unit. I managed to turn it off and use the fan instead. By 5am it was hot and humid again. The air quality here is not the greatest; it can be stifling. There seemed to be no happy medium.

I know I am probably the fussiest of people staying here, and a friend of ours chose this location for while we were in Mumbai, so I am grateful for the experience, but I would not stay here again. Not for $85 a night.

We did not eat the complimentary meals while here but heard from another guest that they were quite good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jenniebdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We arrived at 2.30 in the am, so decided to stay here for the first "night" and second night. This was in an excellent location. The rooms were basic but clean and air conditioned. The food was good, both the 2 breakfasts and one evening meal included in the room rate. Only down side is the fact that our 23 year old left her brand new Ralph Lauren cardigan and trainers inadvertently in the wardrobe. She emailed and phoned within a day, to sort collection on our return to Mumbai but was told, " the cardigan was left next to the rubbish bin and was thrown out as the cleaner thought it was trash. The trainers are now in lost property". Further emails protesting that the cardigan was hung in the wardrobe were ignored. Well I suppose it is India but the only sour taste in our whole amazing Indian trip. If one adds the cardigan replacement cost to the accommodation cost, it probably still works out at reasonable value. Would stay there again but be very careful with belongings. Had no other similar experiences in India but double checked all rooms twice!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bhfgjrfjrdjrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

I found this hotel to be safe and clean and very well located in relation to many tourist attractions, including the Gateway of India and Leopold's Cafe. I felt secure there as a female traveling on my own. The staff are professional and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceSarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was small, had a balcony, and was clean. There is a cabinet with lock provided to lock your stuff if you wish. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Just went there to sleep, so it was fine. People mentioned rules in the previous reviews, but we were not informed of any and had no issues. We ate at the dinner buffet one night, and it was good. Breakfast was good too - omelets, toast, cereal, etc. For the price and the location, you can't beat it. They also stored our luggage for the day since our train was later that evening.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingwrld2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Our family of four have stayed four nights at the start of a month long trip and the last two nights. We did the same two years ago. We love the 'family' rooms with four beds next to each other and the balcony overlooking the socker field/school yard and with a huge tree just outside. Waking up to the sound of laughter and birds combined with the bustling streets of colaba just outside is a great mix. Friendly staff and spotlessly clean room make us longing to go back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Tove I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
117 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I made booking for June and they want immediate payment in February

I told them, I will make payment in Mid April and they were not willing to wait

YMCA in Mumbai and Delhi don't ask for advance payment and they trust their guest who can pay on arrival.

However YWCA wants advance payment and that too over four months in advance.

Breakfast is ordinary and cold. Dinner is for name sake Dinner

There are other better options to live in this area, Hotel Residency and Hotel Diplomat are of similar costing to YWCA though dinner is included in YWCA only, but dinner at restaurants near by these hotel's and also near YWCA is worth having than dinner at YWCA

Room Tip: Standard room is better than Deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajit_from_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.7 mi away
Residency Hotel
Residency Hotel
#20 of 424 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 stars 1,481 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#83 of 424 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Taj Mahal Palace
The Taj Mahal Palace
#2 of 424 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 stars 5,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trident, Nariman Point
Trident, Nariman Point
#8 of 424 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 stars 2,417 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#26 of 424 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 stars 1,845 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#65 of 424 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YWCA International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YWCA International Guest House

Property: YWCA International Guest House
Address: 18 YWCA International Guest House Madame Cama Road | Fort, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 466 Specialty Lodging in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YWCA - International Center, Mumbai is a medium size guest house situated in the heart of the Commercial Capital of Mumbai City, a five minute walk from the Gateway of India and within short distance of the city's prime spots - Churchgate/CST Railway Stations, Nariman Point, Queens Necklace, Jehangir Art Gallery, and Museums. Apart from well furnished air-conditioned rooms,we also have fully equipped, air-conditioned conference rooms for full day and half day programs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ywca International Guest House Hotel Mumbai (Bombay)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing