We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YWCA International Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Sofitel Mumbai BKC(Mumbai)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$169
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$296
$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$243
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$59
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$134
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Lalit Mumbai(Mumbai)
$126
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (210)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveler rating
72
94
24
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
94
24
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnerhot waterhard bedschanged everydaydouble roomsafe place to staynoise from the streetnon vegetarianamazing locationwifi is freestayed two nightsstaff members arewell trained staffmarine drivecentral mumbaiclean roomsper day
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 210 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2013

First the good - the YWCA is in a fantastic location within walking distance to central Mumbai.
Its fairly cheap [for Mumbai], very clean and very safe, and there's a great taxi driver outside who speaks excellent English & will take you around all the sites in Mumbai for a day.
But this place has more rules than a reform school - and treats its guests like juveniles who've been sentenced to time in a junior jail. Don't you dare check in early or break any of their many, many rules which they live to enforce..
Worth staying if you want to stay cheaply & can handle the prison camp experience & mediocre breakfast [for dinner head to 5 Spice or Khyber] - otherwise look elsewhere

Room Tip: Not sure there are any
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sewaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed at the YWCA in Mumbai with my family over christmas last year. It was cleaner than most hotels we had stayed at in India, and our beds were made up the way we asked (with an extra bed), whereas most other places did not have this organised until we asked multiple times. Both taxi drivers seemed to have trouble finding the hotel, possibly due to the small sign on the gate. However, we felt safe as there was a security guard, and it was ideally located, only a five minute walk away from restaurants and great market style street shopping. It was also only a ten minute walk away from the Gateway of India. One of us got bad bed bug bites during our stay, but the staff were very quick to ensure we got a new mattress and sheets. The complimentary meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) were very nice and great value. There was a lot of variety, and the waitstaff were very nice. They even gave us Indian desserts. Free wifi was also available (for one device from memory). Overall a very nice stay and worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Compared to other guesthouse in India the YWCA is quite expensive. Although breakfast (indian breakfast, toast, cereal or porridge, eggs they way you want them) and dinner (indian), wifi is included in the price. First night we stayed with two in a one person room. The placed and extra bed because there were no double rooms available. We agreed upon this after seeing the room, so this was ok. The matras on the extra bed they put in was quite thin. The second night we switched and this was a bit better since there was more space. The rooms, and bathrooms were clean and had good wifi reception (first floor). We gave our clothes for the laundry and unfortunately the lost one of our, expensive, travel towels. When I spoke to the manager he simply told me that the towel was not in the bag when I brought it to housekeeping. He said I should have counted the items together with the housekeeper. To me this sounds absurd since I actually believe in trusting them. Anyway, he laughed at me and I had to tell him to lower his voice. Not such a nice experience especially when in the end we were expected to pay the entire laundry bill. So we ended up paying 532 Roepie and loosing a towel that costs 2000 Roepie. Interesting! I would not go back due to this, although location is thoug to beat.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street have a small balcony.
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Onderweggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Yes, a bit pricey by Indian standards, but Mumbai is one of the more costly locals in India. You can probably find cheaper farther out from the tourist attractions, but the location is ground zero for most tourist activities. The staff is very friendly and helpful (my e-mail inquiry for a booking was answered promptly), and the house rules seem a bit regimented (very common for larger, more established places in India). The WiFi is fast and the property is meticulously clean. Another plus, their is a good mix if foreign tourists as well as Indians that stay here - the mealtime conversations can be quite entertaining.

Room Tip: Singles are small and the AC is a window unit, close to the bed - adjust the air volume appropriately when slumbering. The work desk is cramped.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank txvago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. It has rooms with hot water, balcony and air con. The rooms have also free wifi (a bit slow) and the're clean, even if I found 2 beetles.
Room rate includes breakfast and dinner and they are very good.
I paid 2340 rupees for each night and it's cheap for Bombay's standards.
There's also laundry service (the prices are not bad).
It's a very safe and peaceful place, if you're travelling alone and it's in very good position.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 187855VV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews