We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance and staff”
Review of The Royal Orchid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Orchid
Ranked #149 of 463 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Royal Orchid is a nice restaurant in Chembur and has excellent ambiance. Staff attitude is excellent but food service is slightly slow which is fairly compensated by good quality food.
Location is in the market place of chembur near railway station, so little crowded most of the time.
We have stayed a couple of times and rooms are quite comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Machan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

near to the airport and a very luxurious hotel.great service and great food.Loved the cake at the cake shop.Great rooms with all amenities.Free Wifi is available.the hotel is centrally located in mumbai.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gopnrstatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Except for ambience I would rate all other parameters below average. Surprised how it's was rated. 4 on Zamoto

Food was horrible we ordered some chicken dishes it was not cooked properly. Veg dishes were ok. location was very near to railway station had issues with parking

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Palasri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

There are certainly closer hotels to the Mumbai Airport, but unfortunately they were all booked.

This hotel seems very nice, safe, clean, and has an attentive staff.

I would recommend connecting to the WiFi (which is complimentary) at the front desk as they seem to give out unique userid's and passwords to each guest (and I didn't find out that mine was already taken until I got up to the room).

Also, I arrived at 11pm and my hotel room was completely dark. It took me a second to realize that I had to insert my room key into a slot by the front door in order for the lights to turn on... And leave it in the slot for them to stay on.

After a full, stressful day at work in NYC and then a 14 hour flight to India, I was most looking forward to a long, hot shower AND the shower in my hotel room DID NOT disappoint. The water pressure was fantastic and the temperature range was equally great. The bed was comfortable, especially since it was on the firm side which is my preference.

Another nice feature is the two large bottles of water that were in the room. Sadly, I failed to get any shots before making this trip, so bottled water with no ice is how I'll hopefully avoid getting sick.

I can't comment on the food, location, etc. because I checked in late and out early. I give this 4 stars because 3 is my average starting point for any review and this hotel gets an extra point because of the shower. You might say that I'm easy. But there is something to be said for being clean, refreshed, and comfortable.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a good hotel for a short business trip. Accessibility is excellent, you will get taxis even in the middle of the night right infront of the hotel. The hotel is decent on hygiene and the facilities are good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmitJ24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on more than a dozen occasions both for work and leisure. Its is very close to the Domestic airport and is excellent for catching an early morning flight out of Mumbai. The rooms are clean and this is a full service Ecotel hotel. The executive suites in the new wing are great. The breakfast is decent with a reasonable spread. The staff is very friendly.
For the very early morning check-outs, they have often handed me a breakfast bag! Its a good business hotel and the roof top restaurant has excellent Tandoori food.

The down side is perhaps the older part of the hotel and the entrance is not particularly impressive. It looks a bit dark at all times.

Room Tip: Choose the new wing of the hotel. Its a new construction, better suites and more sunlight!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSuperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for a Duration of 15 days working in night shifts.Sound Sleep is what I needed the most with food availability options at my wish., Thanks to Royal Orchid Hospitality that they made both the things Possible with a smile on their face. Rooms were comfortable & cosy ...Restaurant was good with speciality of south Indian food.
There was a Bar in the hotel underground area.. ambience of the Bar was awesome and best for Casual Treats. Overall service was satisfactory

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ykj86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
#190 of 463 in Mumbai
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#145 of 463 in Mumbai
55 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rajhans
Hotel Rajhans
#140 of 463 in Mumbai
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
3.3 mi away
Lake Bloom Residency
Lake Bloom Residency
#126 of 463 in Mumbai
69 reviews
8.2 mi away
Majestic Court Sarovar Portico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Orchid

Address: N G Acharya Marg | Chembur, Mumbai 400071, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 463 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: $59 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Orchid 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Enclave is a restaurant in Chembur. Please come for food and we have a lodge also ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Royal Orchid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing