We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre
Ranked #110 of 456 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Hotel is by the sea, absolute dead end . great place to go for a weekend getaway .
The staffis friendly , rooms can do with some refurbishment .
Overall dont compare it with a five star holiday experience .
Food can be from good to average . The smell from the sea can be killing at times

Room Tip: book the sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyashpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 421 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

We live in Bombay, so the Retreat is a quick comfortable and convinient getaway. The hotel rooms are large and very spacious, and the food is extremely hygenic and very good. The breakfast buffet is terrific and a must eat. I was extremely disappointed by the health club and spa (steam). It was very dirty and smelly. There was no attendant there to help out or guide. For a resort spa i think its very important for them to change their spa approach. The pool is great. The staff is average. Decent for 1 or 2 nights if wanting to chill by the pool with a beer and taste good food.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maharsh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017
Google Translation

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in The retreat on 23rd and 24rth February. All of us are staying in mumbai and wanted to have a weekend break and so were happy with it being in the city and still away from the noise. The presidential suit we booked was awesome( though i havent been to any other presidential suit). The wonderful sea view from the large windows and 42inch screens in the living room and bedroom made us smile instantly. The Pool looked big and when we went to the pool we found it clean enough. These were the two most important places in the itinerary as we were mostly in our room or in the pool.
Then came the spoilers. the possibly worst food and the stinky beach. Both the lunch and the dinner buffet had limited options and even those limited options were really bad. No class no taste. In the evening we called for a chicken sandwich, which probably costed us around Rs 311 and which should top the list of world's worst sandwiches.
All the open area of the hotel has a stench and it increases as one steps out towards the beach. This is probably because of the fishermen operating at the beach and drying the fishes over there. I went for the walk in the morning and returned back in 15 minutes as the smell was overwhelming.
The hotel probably cant do anything about the beach and its smell but they can surely change the chef and improve the quality and variety of food( which is a big big downer)!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapilpandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had been to The Retreat with my colleagues in Jan 2013. This was my second trip to this hotel. The location itself is good and the overall resort is neatly made. The climate at madh is always pleasant and hotel offers a huge spacious area to let you enjoy it. Along with good rooms, the hotel offers good sports and games facilities - you can enjoy table tennis, foosball, chess, billiards, beach volley ball and some other. Of course, you have a beautiful swimming pool.
I was put of with the food served. Of the 6 meals I had at the hotel, I did not like any. At the breakfast, you will hardly find anyone to serve you food. To top it all, the breads served had a cockroach in it. If the food at the hotel is bad, the overall experience can never be good.
There are better options available at Madh Island to choose from.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jay26882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I booked a stay in retreat on 22nd of December being my wedding anniversary, as I had a yearly membership of the hotel that included one night complimentary stay. This Hotel property is just 30 mins drive from my residence so for a celebration we decided to have a stay overnight. The check in didn't took around 15 mins,in-spite of no rush and it was late evening. The room looks tired, demands make over. Toilet size is good,but dilapidated,there's no other place for standing shower. The water from the shower was saline.Mini- Bar empty, except for 1 old used Plastic Bottle filled with water.Breakfast was average... to my surprise I was offered a bill of rs 1100/- for two and I was told that Breakfast is not included..I wasn't the only one but there were few more who had similar issues.. do check on this during reservations. The whole place around stinks...because of fish being dried nearby..The only plus point is the location free from noisy traffic and pollution. I wouldn't rate this as 3 star hotel, and not at all recommended....There are better options available at this price...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank araish-mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

In a country where I've been fascinated by the hospitality industry i was appaulled at the service I received at this resport. But after reading the other reviews, I guess this is the norm here.

We were supposed to stay here as it was close to a wedding we were attending. But when the bride to be broke her leg the wedding was cancelled. As we were hoping to get a fun day out of the city, we kept our reservation and headed out to Mud Island.

First and foremost, Mud Island is far from Mumbai and we were even coming from Bandra which is much closer as it's over the Sea Link.

Plan on a hefty cab or rickshaw ride. Like 500-1000 rupees depending on which one you take.

Now to the actual hotel:

Mind you I've been staying at a wide range of hotels: Budget dorms in Khar West, The Taj Mahal (ultra luxurious) and a handful of boutiques which fall anywhere and everywhere in between.

That being said when the price for a room was $140 US dollars I expected it to be a little nice. My room at the Taj was $180 plus taxes...

And being that far from the city it really should be much less. To be fair it's worth $60-80 at best. It does have a walk out to the beach but the doors close at 6:30 and the section of beach is kinda gross as locals dry our fish adjacent to the property making it smell like Seattle in a summer day.

Upon checking in we were told "you must be out at 10am because there is a wedding"

SUBTEXT -- "We don't care about your 1 day reservation, don't mess this up for our wedding client who is renting 100 rooms..."

STRIKE 1

After flashing a smile trying to deflect the comment we politely asked what the internet password was. "Internet is 500 rupees for 24 hours or 500 mb, whichever comes first."

After getting the internet set up on our phone we headed upstairs to the room. I tried to then connect to my Ipad and could not. When I asked they said it's 500 rupees per device.

Regardless of that being a real nickel and dime operation you think they might have mentioned that as we were standing in front of them with 2 iphones and a ipad basically with writing on our forehead insinuated "we will be connecting all 3 devices."

I get that miscommunications happen but when the manager wouldn't even refund us the money or simply give us a second code without charging us another 500 rupees the blood literally started to boil in my head.

The wife shrugged it off and talked me away.....

STRIKE 2

That's when the nightmare continued. In the interest of brevity and low blood pressure, I'll be brief. Below are the bullet points.

--Room smelled like it had mold damage mixed with industrial strength cleaning supplies and a hint of rotten fish.

--Tea boiler short circuited and a spark flew at me almost electrocuting my hand... No tea for us as I could only imagine what they would want to charge for another boiler.

--The pool was cold and had no one tending bar as it's only open weekends. This they do not advertise. The hot tub was only half full and more like a warm tub... also no jets.

--The food was very lousy, especially the sandwiches from the cafe. Do not get the turkey club as instead of turkey they brought it out with minced chicken and instead of cheese, as advertised, nothing.

--The massage I got was cheap but it wasn't even a massage. It was like a 1950's old man wrestling rub down. I've had girlfriends in junior high give better back rubs.

--The facilities are old and need updating. It feels like on old Vegas hotel that should have been torn down decades ago to make way for the Bellagio and Caesars palace.

--The main restaurant was pretty average but the prices were high. Our bill for the pool snack, a small treat from room service, the bogus internet fraud/charge, amd our dinner was over 5,000 rupees for one night. I haven't spent half that at the Taj and other high ends spots for one night my entire time in India.

--Housekeeping banged on our door at 8am

--Front desk then called 30 minutes later to make sure we would be out by 10

--The entire place is understaffed and getting service by the pool or to your room for anything was a hassle often requiring multiple calls.

STRIKE 3

OVERALL, THE EMPLOYEES ARE FLAT OUT RUDE AND WHEN YOU COMBINE THAT WITH SUB PAR/OUTDATED FACILITIES YOU GET A REAL CRUMBY EXPERIENCE.

DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE AND EXPECT TO HAVE A GOOD TIME FOR YOUR VALUE

Room Tip: Do not stay here unless it's free -- paid by a conference or your company which I'm guessing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 45robertc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017
Google Translation

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Cons:

- Very poor reception. Not helpful at all. Give unreliable/contrasting answers. No at all willing to help (really not expected even in a 3 or 4 star nowadays)
- Stink all around the hotel (better to wear a mask if u want to here)
- Far away from airport and railway station
- Water for bathing is salting and looks odd. Bathrooms are poorly maintained
- Service is outrageously ridiculous. Fail to tranfer luggage in and out quickly. Cant even be sure if they can arrange a cab or not. They expect u to go out out an find one yourself

Pros:

- Only pro is food quality which is good. Variety is also good

Overall not even a three star experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dr_vicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Retreat_Mumbai, Manager at The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2017
Google Translation

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
The Resort
#42 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
837 reviews
Pali Beach Resort
#205 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
284 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#70 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
#76 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
2,006 reviews
The Empresa Hotel
#101 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
20 reviews
The E Hotel at Eskay Resorts
#106 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre

Address: Madh Island Marve Road | Malad West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400061, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#37 Best Value Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
#62 Luxury Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $72 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre you are ready for the action even before you unpack. Because no other holiday destination rejuvenates you so completely. It’s fun and entertainment all the way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Retreat Hotel & Convention Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel The Retreat Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing