We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”
Review of Sea Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Palace Hotel
Ranked #188 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Booked the hotel under corporate connection. The room that I was first allotted had fungus on it's walls. They changed the room on request. The second room was even worse. The bathroom had no tap, no hot water. The bed was creaky. Neither of the rooms has a safety latch/ bolt on the inside of the main door, hence female travelers beware.

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool/ fitness centre or spa.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aparajita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Sea Palace Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 196 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

A recent 4 day trip to Mumbai.
An excellent location near India gate and the strand, and front rooms with views of the sea.
Unfortunately the management of this hotel is quite poor, reception staff unhelpful and somewhat arrogant, room in poor repair and services slow.
general staff day to day were very nice and tried to assist wherever they could but laboured under what appears a poor system of management.
My room was booked several months in advance yet I was placed in the only room without the wifi access I requested. It also appeared to be the only room on the floor not yet renovated.
The rooftop restaurant has a great view and appears to be quite popular yet the food is average and overpriced compared to several other places similar nearby that I dined at.
Overall the management needs to improve their attitude and service

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alanah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

location is excellent but room sizes are very tiny.. its just opposite gate way of india, walking distance from hotel taj, break fast contains good choice, staff is also friendly. its accombodable for business travel for 1-2 day but room size is really terrible.

Room Tip: single rooms are worst.. like a lodge, pls go for double room only.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navendu2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at this place from 04-11th aug 13. The location is excellent( Just besides Taj Hotel) in colaba and overlooking Gateway of India . All the rooms have sea view and are well kept. The hotel staff is efficient and helpful. The food is great and comes with a lot of variety. A very good place for business crowd with its central location and efficient pricing.

Room Tip: There is very little space for parking your personal vehicles.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashwinNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Sea Palace has a great location. Clean and modern with a great roof top terrace and front terrace. The breakfast buffet was great. The staff friendly and nice. All very good except for the size of the room. Now views from the room. Small with the bathroom into the room. Very little room to walk around in. I don't know if there are larger rooms so ask for this if you stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluecamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The receptionist at the hotel made is very welcome although we came early. The rooms, although small, are clean and the bathrooms clean. Being in Colaba reduces anxiety and travel and easily located(near the Radio Club or The Taj!)
Locals are fond of the roof top restaurant although we found the prices almost Taj level.
The complimentary breakfast is adequate and sparse.

Room Tip: ask for sea facing...its worth the extra amount
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronaldo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for 2 days during a business trip. LOcation is the major advantag eof this Hotel. Located very near to Hotel TAJ at Gateway of India. Although rooms were just okay,I think it was okay for the rent we are paying.. Complementary breakfast was good.But the liquor was very costly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJPODIPARA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#78 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#229 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#132 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
823 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#63 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue Bird
Hotel Blue Bird
#315 of 452 in Mumbai (Bombay)
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palace Hotel

Address: 26 Sea Palace Prem Ramchandani Marg | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 452 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $70 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Palace Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Palace Hotel is located in the heart of Mumbai City having easy accessibility to the commercial, shopping and tourist areas. We are 5 minutes away from Chhatrapati Shivaji Terminus (V.T. Station), and 40 minutes drive from the Domestic/ International Airport. A heritage enchanting the view of Mumbai's beautiful harbour, we are renowned for luxury and comfort maintaining the standards of service and professionalism which caters to the requirements of a high profile business traveler as well as a leisure tourist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing