We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sea Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sofitel Mumbai BKC(Mumbai)
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$296
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$241
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$59
$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$187
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$160
$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveler rating
21
60
75
27
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
60
75
27
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantradio clubwalking distance from gateway of indiaexcellent locationdeluxe roomscolaba causewaythe sea facing roomshotel is locatedpaneerevery morningtasty foodbreakfast spreadcstlocalityindian
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 212 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This hotel is located on the same street as the famous Taj Mahal Palace Hotel (just a 2-3 minute walk). So excellent location, right in front of the ocean, and the broadwalk has plenty of male hustlers at night. To the right of the hotel is the Taj and to the left (right around the corner) is Voodoo, a gay night club, also with lots of good looking Indian money boys.

We paid 6,100 rupee per night which translates to around USD117 at the time, not cheap in our view for what we got, particularly compared to other hotels around the world that we've been to, but by Mumbai standard this is quite reasonable (we found hotels to be rather expensive in this city).

What we didn't get in this hotel: No bath tub, no hairdryer, no facial tissue, no cold a/c (was a bit too hot for our taste and definitely too noisy - they are still using the old window type with the machine still attached) and no spring bed (very thin mattress). Everything was VERY mediocre/ minimal, including the breakfast.

However, if you just want a place to crash with an excellent location to the night market, shops, bars and restaurants, this might be the hotel for you.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 (with flat screen TV) and 206 (without flat screen TV, but slightly cooler A/C)
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SoutheastAsiaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I was absolutely satisfied with this hotel. We stayed here for two nights between Delhi and Goa, and in fact, we should have spent more time in Mumbai and less time in Delhi... this city is so much nicer.

Our room was a deluxe twin room on the second floor, with a superb view of the sea from the window.

The hotel felt nicely finished... the reception was small but nice, the hall ways were immaculately kept, and our room was fine for this price range. Air-conditioning was loud (it's always loud in India), the fan provided enough air circulation not to need the air-conditioning at night. The room wasn't huge, but was tasteful enough. The bathroom was functional, nothing to be amazed by, but nothing to be disappointed with.

The breakfast room was really nice... looked very modern with comfortable seating. The selection was pretty good. Outside, the restaurant was excellent. Wonderful tables with fans overhead, great selection of food at very reasonable prices.

Locationwise... this is probably the nicest area of Mumbai to stay in. The Gate of India is just a stones throw away where you can get boat trips to Elephanta Island (approx 1 hour) and Indian's gather to hang out in the evening. Chowpatty beach is just 10 minutes away by taxi... worth taking an evening walk along.

I was completely satisfied with our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisPDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The hotel isin a gud location close to gateway of india.the rooms highly priced for its size and ambience,the breakfast buffet is ok, overal its gud for people to stay for 2 days.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grnk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed here two nights on a round trip. The first room we got hat mold growing on the ceiling and the atmosphere of a train station, so we asked to change room. Wo got one in first floor which was ok. Room entertainment by TV and some cockroaches in the bathroom. Eating outside was great though, the waiter was very friendly and the food was very good.
Location is absolutely great as its close to the Gate of India and even the Marine Drive is in walking distance to watch the sunset.
Reception staff wasn't friendly or helpful, they did only what they absolutely had to but definitely didn't walk the extra mile.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wallimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I joined friends on a wedding shopping spree in Mumbai. After being let down with a previous booking, the staff at the Sea Palace were only too happy to welcome us.
Always eager to help, the room was cleaned for us adequately and when we needed anything, it was never a problem.
Yes, the breakfast was not a large variety in comparison to European hotels but ample for our needs. Our lunches, which were great value for money, were excellent!
The room itself for three of us, was ample and we never had problems sleeping soundly. The view of the sea and of the gate were a cherry on the top.
We were fortunate enough to have had a designated driver provided by a local shop owner, so all in all - the trip to Mumbai was a wonderful experience and I can't wait to return - will definitely stay at Sea Palace again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn-LeeN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews