We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty hovel”
Review of Pals Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pals Hotel
Ranked #274 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dirty hovel”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I was planning to stay there for 3 nights, but only stayed 1 and checked out. Porters were constantly milling about outside my door which made me feel quite unsafe. The stairwells were filthy, you get accustomed to dirt in India but this was in a league of it's own.
The staff on the check in desk were awful, they couldn't find my booking initially, I wish they never had!
I had to buy a card to use the internet in my room, and it never worked.
I left my curtains closed because the view outside was ghastly.
I'm well aware that it's cheap, but I still feel it's overpriced. There's no excuse for a hotel being dirty, certainly not with so many stuff wandering around, and manners cost nothing!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeithAubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    19
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
11
8
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
calcutta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2010

The front desk people were extremely uncourteous and unprofessional. The reception, stairs were shabby and poorly kept. Except for a couple of members of the staff who were helpful most of the others were indifferent! The room (on the third floor) was poorly kept, dusty, shabby and the curtains and linen were soiled. I had to request the attendant to change it instantly which he did rather unwillingly. Tea was served in cracked cups and when pointed they turned a deaf ear!! The toilet was dirty but the cleaner boy was nice and helpful.
However the location was good and it was easy to commute to different places in Mumbai thanks to the service of a local cab driver.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank everlearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Ajmer, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2010

My stay at this hotel was booked by my colleague as it is near to Byculla where he lives. I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The exterior of the hotel boasts loudly of it being a budget hotel. For offline mode the payment has to be strictly made in cash as the hotel does not accept Credit/Debit Card.
My room (Superior AC) was on third floor. The elevator is old-fashioned type with channel gates. The room was full of smoke, courtesy of the previous guest who I believe left the hotel in a hurry as he did not even flushed the toilet after using it and what could I expect from the management as the linen was being changed after I checked in. A small soap cake was the one and only item as far as the free toiletries are concerned. I left that day for a business meeting and came back later in the evening to find females with overdone make-up (I guess four) passed by me during my endeavor to reach my room through stairs as the lovely old fashioned elevator was not working.
Next morning, when I was front desk, I was enlightened with the knowledge that hotel also provide rooms for short duration as confirmed by the front desk guy in my presence to an inquiry by a visitor. (No points for guessing who the strange looking females of last night were.)
The very same night as I overheard noises (mostly of a girl) from the adjacent room to authenticate that the hotel rents room for short time so people can have their way with the fairer sex as the room was vacant the very next morning.
I would advise people to avoid this property as you never know what assumption would be made of you if there is some local police checking/raid etc.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank mangalgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2007

Stayed here for our first few nights in India. It is an average hotel, a bit dark on the inside with quite dodgy carpet. Average bathroom with hot running water. Biggest downfall was the location - about 100Rs in a taxi to get to Colaba. We paid about 1000Rs (from memory) per night.

On our return to Mumbai we did not stay there, and I would recommend that if you are looking for somewhere close to the heart of Mumbai then try somewhere else.

  • Liked — It was easily booked through the website, and it was an average price
  • Disliked — It's location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank kjcaspersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Kalpana Palace Hotel
Kalpana Palace Hotel
#211 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
6 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Rosewood
Hotel Rosewood
#186 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
44 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Avon Ruby
Hotel Avon Ruby
#392 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Heritage
Comfort Inn Heritage
#159 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
204 reviews
2.0 mi away
Bawa Regency
Bawa Regency
#117 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
116 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Shantiidoot
Hotel Shantiidoot
#340 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pals Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pals Hotel

Property: Pals Hotel
Address: Barrister Nath Pai Marg | Kalachowki, Next to Union Bank of India, Mumbai (Bombay) 400033, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pals Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located hotel in Mumbai city with all en-suite rooms, room service, Wi-Fi in rooms and reception, Cable TV, Internet PC, telephone, refrigerator, online booking, laundry arrangement, doctor on call, travel arrangements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pals Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing