We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for a pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Oriental Aster
Ranked #79 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night as I had come here from Cochin for a family function with my wife. Its near to the airport and with very good hotel for stay. The rooms are neat and very comfortable the staff is very friendly especially the manager Mr. Stanley was very helpful throughout my stay. The package breakfast is good and the prices also very reasonable. Overall a good experience! Recommended on your visit to Mumbai.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ratish_sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyFerns, Manager at Hotel Oriental Aster, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Mr Ratish,

Warm Greetings from The Hotel Oriental Aster..!!

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and for posting your generous feedback.
We are all delighted to note that your overall experience at Oriental Aster, Mumbai was comfortable and that the services rendered by my our team were to your satisfaction.

Your recognition makes us feel proud and motivates us to achieve higher standards of excellence.

We value your association with us and look forward to your continued patronage.

Thanking you,

Warm Regards,
Stanley Fernandes,
Operational Manager.
The Oriental Aster.
Email: manager@theorientalaster.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    81
    27
    11
    10
See reviews for
44
39
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here for two days.
Ok type hotel with respect to price. Buffet breakfast was average.
Near to Airport. 45 minutes from Juhu beach.
Had Hyderabadi biryani once was good.
Overall ok type, Good if price around 2.0k.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YogeshwarVhatkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyFerns, Manager at Hotel Oriental Aster, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Mr Yogesh,

Greetings from Oriental Aster..!!

We would like to thank you Firstly for choosing Oriental aster as your stay during your trip to Mumbai. Thank you for your compliments on location of the Hotel.

We are concerned to hear that you found our Breakfast service not up to the mark.
We will look into the same as to what changes can be made from our side.

I look forward in personally welcoming you on your next visit to Mumbai.

Thanking you,

Best regards

Stanley Fernandes
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Good:
- Seemed clean enough
- Rooms had modern amenities
- Price is reasonable
- Free airport transfer

Bad:
- Staff is not paid enough, constantly hanging around and hinting at tips. Very unprofessional and annoying. I typically do not tip for just doing your damn job.
- Bed was too small. I'm 5' 10" and my feet are sticking off the end.
- Ate some masala paste grilled fish. Really tasty. Had bad diarrhea the next day, still there 2 days later. I skipped lunch that day, so I don't think it was anything else.
- Related to the point above, flush was broken in the toilet.

Okay:
- Breakfast was pretty pedestrian, dining hall in a basement and cafeteria style. Food was okay, nothing great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacobSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyFerns, Manager at Hotel Oriental Aster, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Mr Jacob,

Greeting from Oriental Aster..!!

We thank you for sparing your time and writing us a review on TripAdvisor. At the outset, please accept our sincerest apology, for your recent experience with us.

As you mentioned that you were not satisfied with your room size, we would like to recommend you to upgrade to the premium or luxury room which is a bigger room option then the classic room which you stayed in.

We at the Oriental Residency group of hotels take our guest feedback very seriously and will take all the appropriate measures to address the problem that you brought to our notice.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Please allow me again to express my sincerest apologies and feel free to personally contact me on any issues.

Thanking you,

Kind regards,
Stanley Fernandes - Operational Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Had been to the Oriental aster restaurant yesterday for business meetings with my clients ... The place truly makes you feel comfortable the taste is too good and one must ask for the chef specials.... Chef Pulin ensures you have a smile on your face with the first bite of the chef special dish....
The place is worth every penny for its quality of food, taste, ambience, hospitality, and truly awesome people...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KD_Spiritsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

As a female business woman travelling to Mumbai for the first time I was somewhat concerned about where to stay. I emailed the hotel before I left Australia and (Stanley) was very re-assuring. I provided my arrival details via email and although the flight landed at least 30mins late, there was a lovely Hotel Security man waiting for me who quickly telephoned the driver to bring the car around from the parking lot. The staff are friendly, helpful, honest and have a great sense of humour, English and would ensure I was looked after at all times. They negotiated taxi prices on my behalf; sent a security man to walk with me to the ATM (only about 50mtrs away); helped explain the menu; delivered free newspaper every day; lots bottled water, etc, etc. Nothing was too much trouble . I visited a top end Hotel one day and could not believe the difference in treatment and prices...The Oriental Astor's restaurant prices are amazingly cheap and the Indian food the best (and I mean THE BEST) I have ever enjoyed. The A/C was excellent. Note: No Spa, Hairdressers or Pool so if you want these facilities you'll need to stay at Top End Hotel and enjoy paying at lease 5 x cost for cup of tea up. I did go to some 5 star Hotels for drinks/coffee/spa treatments and found them very 'nice' but somewhat sterile and the price I paid for a cup of tea & juice would be the equivalent to a 2 course meal at the O/Aster - and not taste as nice as their tea or coffee! Yes I would stay here again - without hesitation and I am a 'precious princess' when it comes to my hotels!

Room Tip: Select Luxury room for additional space, if you are staying over a week - I did and was very please...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Possum3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

It's a nice place to stay in Andheri near the airport
Was there for a business trip
They provide complimentary airport drop and pick-up which is a good facility.
The hotel is pretty close to the airport.
The rooms are average size bt really nice, neat and clean
Breakfast is good too, so all in all I will recommend a stay here. It's a good value for money.
highly recommended , will deff visit again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiskabyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StanleyFerns, Manager at Hotel Oriental Aster, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings From The Oriental Aster…!!

Thank you for your short and sweet write up on TripAdvisor.
I am glad to hear that you liked our Hotels location as it is situated at a very short distance from both Airports (Intl & Dom) and found the hotel good value for money.

Our priority is always you, our guests and we are glad to note that we were able to ensure you had a comfortable stay with us

Thank you once more and we look forward to reconnecting with you soon.

Kind regards.

Stanley Fernandes
Operational Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

u have to see it to believe it. simply a very good hotel with brilliant service.Good food and a very convenient location. MIHIR PILLAI is a very helpful and supportive manager. he has been of immense help and has provided us excellent guidance.Thank u all.

Room Tip: all d rooms r good over there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neyaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Vile Parle East
Hotel Le Grande
Hotel Le Grande
#45 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Vile Parle East
Dragonfly Hotel
Dragonfly Hotel
#128 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Vile Parle East
Hotel Aircraft International
Hotel Aircraft International
#93 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vile Parle East
Hotel Planet Residency
Hotel Planet Residency
#109 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Hotel Suba International
#37 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Hotel Accord
#46 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oriental Aster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oriental Aster

Property: Hotel Oriental Aster
Address: 45 Near Cigarette Factory | Near Cigarette Factory, Chakala, Andheri East, Mumbai (Bombay) 400099, India (Formerly Hotel Suresha)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Vile Parle East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Oriental Aster 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Hotel Oriental Aster (formely Hotel Suresha), a modern business hotel coupled with its strategic location makes it a perfect choice for your business or in transit stay. Hotel Oriental Aster, under new ownership, with its newly renovated 40 rooms are fitted with all contemporary amenities including LCD TV's, mini bar, split air-conditioner and safety locker. The new in house restaurant, 99 East, serving local and international cuisine will take care of your taste buds during your stay. Our customizable conference meeting facilities are ideal for businesses to have meetings and banquets at your doorsteps. Wi-Fi, 24 hour in-room dining, 24 hour front desk with currency exchange facility and car rentals are some of the services you can avail of during your stay with us. Hotel Oriental Aster located in the bustling Mumbai City is just 1km from the Mumbai international airport, 3 kms from the domestic airport and 4kms from the Andheri railway station and highway bus stand. It is just 5 kms from MIDC, the corporate hub of Mumbai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Oriental Aster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing