We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands down, best hotel and value in Bandra”
Review of Hotel Shubhangan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Shubhangan
Ranked #128 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hands down, best hotel and value in Bandra”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Over the past several years I have come to trust hotel Shubhangan more than any other hotel in the city. My time in Bombay is typically spent around Bandra for business, and so the location of Shubhangan is fantastic. The location is a bit tough if you are unfamiliar with the city (the residential streets in Bandra can be confusing), but the front desk will be happy to direct a driver over the phone. This time around I was with my girlfriend and we had a wonderful stay for 4 nights. The staff are pleasant, the rooms are spacious and clean, and the quality of service is consistently fantastic. I was particularly impressed with the staff at the front desk, and it is clear that the owner/manager is meticulous about running his business. This certainly isn't a hotel for people looking for 5 star facilities, but this is certainly the place for anyone who is looking for an affordable, super clean, comfortable, and hassle-free stay in Mumbai. If the cost of this hotel is in the ballpark of your budget, then I couldn't recommend a better spot.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank CanadianFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shubhangan, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shubhangan !!!

We would like to "THANK YOU " for your review and highly appreciated the positive feedback on our service and hospitality.

We look forward to having you with us on your next visit to Mumbai and enjoy your stay once again.

Assuring you the best services always

Regards
Reema Rasquinha
Fron Office Manager
Hotel Shubhangan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    66
    20
    12
    15
See reviews for
33
14
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I chose Hotel Shubhangan for the following reasons

1. Approximately 20 minutes drive to the American Consulate

2. Approximately 30 minutes drive to the Airport

3. The presence of a Pure Vegetarian Restaurant.

Had booked a Super Delux Room for 3 people (3 nights and 4 days from june 10th 2013)

My stay was comfortable. Staff were courteous and friendly especially the Manager. Rooms were good, well maintained and a seperate bed was provided for an extra person (not just a matress like most hotels). Had problems operating the shower system but the support staff attended to it immediately and guided us. Room service is good. We really loved the food there quality wise, taste wise and quantity wise too. Overall i enjoyed my stay and even recommended my parents to stay there as and also booked a room for them in the same hotel as well. Even they enjoyed their stay except for a minor issue they experienced with the electronic lock operating the door. They were stuck outside the room for apprioxmately half an hour while the staff were trying to fix the issuea. Since the support staff could not fix it, my parents were promptly shifted to another room. My parents also mentioned that the Manager was really friendly and helpful and the Lady incharge of house keeping was friendly and courteous as well. Now again we have to visit Mumbai (july 8th 2013) and as usual i have booked a Super Delux Room in Hotel Shubhangan and am looking forward to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurajKarwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shubhangan, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shubhangan !!!

First of all we would like to THANK YOU for your valuable comment.

We are grateful and happy to welcome you once again to our hotel and ensure the best and prompt services during your stay.

And also accept our sincere apologies for causing inconvenience because of the electronic door lock problem.

Thanks & Regards
Reema Rasquinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you are looking for a econmical business trip with all the amenities of a luxury hotel, this is the place. The staff is good and very helpful. Rooms are fully equipped with all the amenities. The service is bit slow slow but good. And there is an inhouse restaurant and CCD.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Abhishek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shubhangan, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shubhangan !!!

We would like to THANK YOU for your valuable review.

We have briefed and trained our service staff to provide the quick services to the guest.

Hope to see you soon.

Always at your services.

Thanks & Regards
Reema Rasquinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

It's an old trusty, with a 100% vegetarian menu and a cafe cofee day at the ground floor (also 100% veg:))
Location is good, as it's just off Bandra's Linking road.
However, don't be taken in by some really attractive deals being offered on this. The fact is, due to some major renovation work in the area, getting back to the hotel in the evening is a nightmare. If you were to wake up and find yourself in the aforesaid CCD, admiring the view outside, you might actually mistake the situation outside to be a giant parking lot. Traffic simply does not move. And until this changes, I would probably give Shubhangan, for all it's attractions of simplicity, price and adequate quality, a miss.

Room Tip: Their beds seem to be tiny. So if you are with a family and hoping to make do with a twin bed, think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasfaqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shubhangan, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Shubhangan!!!

We regret the inconvenience experienced by you travelling to the Hotel as infrastructure work has been carried out for the improvement of services by the local authority.
We expect this work to get over in couple of months and expect the flow of traffic normal as earlier.
We look forward for your next visit
Assuring you of our best services always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I have stayed here before and I am always impressed with the staff here.
It's great on location, has its own Cafe Coffee Day and excellent staff. The only downside is sometimes the room given may be musty. But as I experienced - 1 call and they will shift you to a better room instantly. I have bumped into the person who runs this place at 1 am - meticulously checking documents. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Harsha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shubhangan, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Harsha,

Greetings from Hotel Shubbhangan!!!

We would like to THANK YOU for your valuable review about your stay at our hotel.

Sorry for the inconvinience caused to you because of the musty smell in the room as it was recently painted. But we will make sure that the rooms will be double checked before we allott it to the guest.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards
Reema Rasquinha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Mumbai hotels arr e,xpensive anyways and if you manage to pick a location like Andheri, the price automagically goes very high. If we look in that context , hotel price and value for money is good.

The location of the hotel is not really at a very posh area but there are shops at walking distances and you can take an auto rickshaw or taxi without much efforts from outside of it. The lobby of the hotel is not only unusually located at behind the hotel but is also very tiny.you can just stand there and if you have to wait, there is just a tiny sofa for you. At the front, there is a cafe house which is good.

Rooms are fine. The room size is big but some how i felt that the flooring was sticky and felt like greasy sort of. I got a twin bed room and it was not a goodthing at all. The size of the beds was also very small. Cleaning was done but twice i had to ask to get clean towels.

Food is okay but i felt that it was over priced but may be it was because of Mumbai. I took complimentary breakfast and it was okay though wasnt started at the mentioned time of 7.30am. I had to ask the guys to get things for me and then they would bring it.

Overall, its not a bad hotel but dont expect it to be like Pan Pacific either. Its a budget hotel and a good value for money if you can manage somethings being a little flexible about them .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharmaAman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shubhangan, responded to this review, January 3, 2015
Dear Geust,

Greetings from Hotel Shubhangan !!!

We would like to 'THANK YOU' for taking your precious time to write the positive response about our services and hospitality, which makes the management proud.

We promise you to keep up our good work and serve you better as always.

Looking forward to have you again with us.

Regards
Hotel Shubhangan Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I really don't remember which room i was in living in but it was not sound proof.

Only plus point is rooms are with good amenities. Bathroom had all amenities including hair dryer. Shower was special with special designed area for shower. Digital clock was provided in room which had controls of electric equipment like fan/ac and lights.

Its in remote locations, difficult to find out.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarvesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Front Office Manager at Hotel Shubhangan, responded to this review, January 3, 2015
Dear Geust,

Greetings from Hotel Shubhangan !!!

We would like to 'THANK YOU' for taking your precious time to write the positive response about our services and hospitality, which makes the management proud.

We promise you to keep up our good work and serve you better as always.

Looking forward to have you again with us.

Regards
Hotel Shubhangan Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Nirvana Residences By 1589 Hotel...
#103 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
19 reviews
Hotel Regal Enclave
#69 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
264 reviews
Hotel Bawa Suites
#139 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Oriental Residency
#50 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
351 reviews
Hotel Accord
#52 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
206 reviews
Bandra West
Treebo New Castle
Treebo New Castle
#188 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shubhangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shubhangan

Property: Hotel Shubhangan
Address: 21st Road, Khar Danda | Khar West, Mumbai (Bombay) 400052, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shubhangan 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Shubhangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing