We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what it was”
Review of Hotel Pearl

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pearl
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced for what it was”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The setting was a bad first impression; it was quite seedy, and roaming packs of dogs in the vicinity didn't set a good standard. However, inside, it was quite clean, including the rooms.
The only problem with the stay, is that even for a budget option it was overpriced; the rooms were very cheap; very poor quality bedding. The bathroom was grotty - don't use the shower curtains!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mistermordancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
1
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

On the whole, the stay was cmfortable. Not so clean place. Jus ok for budget travel. Management adn staff friendly. Had promised that no extra charges to be paid for hireing taxi. But on check out the guard instructed us to pay the taxi Rs200/- to go to airport, and not by Meter which upset us as mumbai is good for metered taxis and autos.His behaviour was very arrogant. When we refused he off loaded the luggage from the taxi.
Normally when you hire taxi from Hotels in Mumbai they charge an exorbitant flat rate especially if you are going to airport.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geekay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Had an enjoyable stay in hotel pearl. Staff were friendly and honest. They showed a genuine business ethic and requirement to seek feedback showed they cared about customer opinion. Hotel is a bit far out but near a train station. Prices reflect this. It was decent accomodation by Indian standards. Not having wifi was a little annoying but theu said they were in process of getting it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anfeardeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2010

I had stayed in this hotel for 3 days. The room service was good and the room boys were courteous. But I was stunned at the behavior of the management. On the day I was checking out, I had informed the reception about it. My colleague had to go out before me and I was taking bath. I received a call from down that they were not letting my colleague to leave bcoz they told we have to clear the bill first. I explained that he had to go for some urgent work and I am still in the room with luggage. I told I am taking bath and will come down in 10 minutes. They told it is not possible and they forcefully detained my colleague. I had to go down clad in a bath towel and settle the bill before my they let my colleague go..

Heard anywhere else like this ? If you are even thinking to stay in this hotel, my strong advice is to stay away from this joint. The manager's name I believe was Abdul. The most arrogant person I have ever met in my life.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas_Chacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Oslo
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2009

We arrived after having searched quite a while. The building looks nothing like a hotel from the outside, but we called the hotel and had the night mgr give the cab driver instructions.
When we arrived, the reservation was wrong, so we ended up with a non-ac room.
As I was walking into the room, I made a comment to my travel buddy that the sheets were filthy. As if the bellboy understood my native Norwegian, he ran off to get new sheets. As i was very happy with this, I gave him a tip, 10 rps, which led to him running once again; this time coming back with stark white, unused towels and sheets. :)
In general the room and ensuite bathroom were not clean, but we managed to stay for the 2 days we needed to be in Chembur.
Th neighborhood is nice, and there plenty of shops and eateries nearby, but for Mumbai sightseeing it is in my eyes too far from town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#149 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
3.7 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#150 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rajhans
Hotel Rajhans
#138 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#237 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
#141 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Orchid
The Royal Orchid
#147 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pearl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pearl

Property: Hotel Pearl
Address: D K Sandu Marg, Near Dr Ambedkar Garden, Mumbai (Bombay) 400071, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 540 Specialty Lodging in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pearl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing