We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely friendly family run hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kumkum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kumkum
Ranked #73 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely friendly family run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed for over a week here and I can honestly say it's the best budget place I have experienced in India so far. Clean rooms, amazing food (don't order if in a rush as everything is prepared from scratch), warm people - all the staff were really accommodating, friendly and helpful and made me feel totally at ease and welcome.
Only slight problem is the location - Grant road is a bit in the middle of nowhere, but the local train station is only a few minutes walk away and taxis are available right outside the door so it's OK. The staff are happy to suggest ways to get around and places to go.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Eat from the restaurant! Totally delicious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hannahinmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hi Hannah

Thank you for the excellent review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    112
    49
    9
    5
See reviews for
38
78
42
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We had a very large group of 21 teachers who were coming to India for a leadership experience. The hotel arranged all of our travel within 24 hours and that is not an easy feat for 21 people. The restaurant is delicious. The workers are very kind and dedicated. The rooms are cleaned everyday. The bathrooms are clean but you should probably know that it is a combined shower and bathroom. Our group of young teachers HIGHLY recommends staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for whatever you need and they will accommodate with extra mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hchauvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Hannah

It was our pleasure hosting your group. We're very pleased that all of you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for the great review and hope to see you all again soon.

Regards

Chirag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My Stay With Family Was Awesome With the Perfect Rooms Designed For Family With Good Ambience and a Very Budget Friendly Hotel..The Staffs Are Very Gud..Rooms Are Clean And Well Furnished.And The Hotel Management is Very Helpful Specially Mr Chirag.. It was a Pleasant Stay in Mumbai at Kumkum Hotel...

Room Tip: Double Deluxe Rooms are very Gud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuzerHamid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Juzer

Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Chirag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

The rooms in the hotel fits perfectly to stay a few days in. We were here for two days and it worked great. Rooms are simply furnished with what you need. The bathroom was clean and fresh and had "eu" toilet seats. On the top floor they served breakfast and dinner from 7 pm (19:00)
The staff at the hotel were very polite, helpful and service minded. Two persons from the staff spoke fluent English.
We came on early morning to Mumbai so I mailed the hotel and asked if we could check in earlier. They solved it by letting us lend another room and then switch when our room was ready.
The first room had no windows but a working wifi. Our next room with windows was bigger but had no wifi. In the restaurant at the top floor there was always connection.
This hotel is located ca 5-10 min by taxi to Colaba where the tourists area are.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalle_from_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Kalle

Thank you for your great review. We aim to provide a super service oriented experience to all our guests and its great that we have fulfilled your expectations.

Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Regards

Chirag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

i was planning to sample some more of mumbais culinary delights but the food at the simple cafe here was outstanding.The chef cooks everything from fresh so obviously some dishes can take a few minutes. there is pretty fast FREE wifi and the rooms were clean and simply furnished but great value for the cost.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mallorywas1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

We stress a lot on procuring our vegetables for our food fresh every day and I'm very glad you appreciated the same.

We hope to see you on your next trip to Mumbai soon.

Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Room was ok, nothing special but did the job. Staff didn't seem particularly friendly and often struggled to understand what I was saying. For the price and location definitely a good option seeing this part of Mumbai though. On the other hand the food in the little restaurant (rooftop snack bar?) was excellent. The kitchen and seating are all in one room so you get to watch your food being cooked in front of you. I had the pakoras and a Veg Kadai. Some of the best food I had in Mumbai and in a place you may not expect to find it. I would go back just to eat there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrythehen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Henry

Thank you for the good review. It's great that you loved the food. We have a strict policy to buy fresh vegetables every day for all the food we make and I think that's what makes our food delicious.

We are trying to teach our staff better English to communicate with our customers but sometimes they struggle with the accent and I'm sure with some more experience they would surely become better at that.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Mumbai.

Regards

Chirag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

An initial irritation left aside the hotel indeed provides good value for money. It's in fact very cheap compared to the constantly rising Mumbai hotel prices and offers good quality. Inside it is relatively modern, clean and with lots of friendly staff taking care for cleanliness and safety. The rooms are basic but also clean. They provide a fan and both a small TV and A/C, the latter both we didn't use. The bath has an interesting sink concept (the shower being in one corner and the sink in the opposite corner so that the entire bath will be flooded) but it was clean and the warm constant flow of water was good, though. Lastly, the free WiFi was always working when were sitting directly in front of the check-in counter, where they provide a small comfortable bench.
The initial irritation consisted in the fact that we had booked a room for three and were faced with a two bed-room plus one extra mattress on the floor. However, after a good discussion with the hotel manager we found a fair and mutually agreeable solution and divided up in two rooms.
So for us as experienced budget travellers hotel KumKum was the right choice in buzzling Mumbai we can recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sascha_and_Inge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi

We try to provide our guests the most hassle free experience and am glad that you were satisfied with the final conclusion we reached.

We are constantly improving and now offer WiFi in the cafe as well so that our guests can sit with a drink or snack while using the internet.

We try to provide the best value for budget travellers and I'm glad you agree on the same.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#83 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Hotel Royal Castle
#125 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Hotel Kemps Corner
#70 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Accord
#46 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Residency Hotel
#16 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Residency Hotel Andheri
#52 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumkum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumkum

Property: Hotel Kumkum
Address: 165 Lamington Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400007, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kumkum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Kumkum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing