We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent location”
Review of Hotel Kumkum

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kumkum
Ranked #78 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel with excellent location”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Located very close to Mumbai central which makes it very convenient. The rooms are very clean. Also the coffee shop on the top floor serves nice lattes. Parking is a big problem around the hotel so do not bring a car. Hotel arranged a taxi for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ankgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. We have recently upgraded our cafe and are happy some of the changes have been well appreciated by our customers.

Being in a very central location in a large city like Mumbai does put up challenges on the parking front but as you have stated getting taxis , buses and trains is very easy from our hotel. Just to add on Grant road station is even closer to our hotel - just a 5 minute walk in a lane opposite our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again and hope to keep improving our services.

Thanks & Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    117
    52
    9
    5
See reviews for
40
80
46
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is close to Mumbai Central Station, the rooms are clean and comfortable and for the location its very affordable.

They have refurbished the hotel and is maintained.

The front desk people are friendly, Restaurant is not available but close by there are many restaurants.

Overall a good Budget Business Hotel.

Room Tip: Double Executive rooms are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hgumballi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYMody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Sir

Thank you for the great review. We aim to please and positive reviews from our esteemed clients make us strive harder to continuously improve ourselves.

I would like to point out that we do have a rooftop cafe with a varied selection of food. I would request you to try the same on your next visit and provide feedback on that too.

Thanks & Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We was looking Hotel in mumbai for 4Nights Stay. it is very heard to find any good hotel in mumbai into Budget of 1250 to Rs. 1750/-. After hard work on Tripadvisor we found this place and booked it Rs 1760/-

Pro :-
1} Centralized Located in Mumbai near Mumbai Central railway station
2} Easy reach to Local Transport like Bus, Train and taxi
3} Very Clean
4} Nice Staff
5} Nice Decorated.
6} Everyday Room service are available
7} Ac, Tv, hot water, Lights are perfectly working
8} Hotel was quite all day

Cons :-
1} Horrible Tea ( Chai )
2} bathroom was very small ( 5'x4 feets only )
3} Room was ok for 2 person
4} Hotel is located on 1st Floor and they don't have a Lift and they have rooms 1st and second Floor.
5} In the AC Room Blancket was so Thin

Overall value for money in Mumbai....Would Recommend for Family and solo Travellers for Comfortable stay at Kumkum.

Room Tip: Try to take Bigger room and may be on 1st Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mahi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cmody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Mahi

Thank you for your review. We do pride ourselves on all the positives listed by yourself as we have made a constant endeavour to implement them and appreciation for the same inspires us to continue on the same path. We try to keep our prices as low as possible and Rs. 1760 (inclusive of taxes) for an air-conditioned room which you rented in a very central area in Mumbai is very reasonably priced as mentioned in the title of your review.

We will definitely try to improve the tea as recommended by yourself.

I believe you had taken the Economy room which is the smaller variety of rooms that we have. All our deluxe rooms are much larger with bathrooms that are around 35-50 square feet which are considered quite adequate in Mumbai. These rooms are available for Rs. 2000+taxes.

We do appreciate the difficulty of a lift not being available but since our's is a boutique hotel in an older building there is no possibility of a lift being installed currently.

I thank you again for a candid unbiased review and hope to see you again soon.

Thanks and Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

At the walking distance to Bombay Central, I found this hotel Refurbished, Clean and friendly. Located at 10 mins walk from Marine Drive. Would recommend for Family and Lone travellers for a comfortable stay with Friendly crew onboard.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally furnished and maintained. The Kitchen has limited options for Dinner. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ayush_Gurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYMody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We Strive to maintain high standards of cleanliness and hygiene and will provide the same high service standards whenever you return.

We have expanded our food options considerably and hope you would try them on your next visit.

Thanks and Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The outside view of Hotel Kumkum is quite deceptive. Though it looks like an old worn-out building from out but in inside you will find newly renovated quite spacious comfortable A/C rooms which is economical as well in respect to Mumbai standard. The hotel is quite neat & clean. They have a small canteen with limited menus and it takes sometime to prepare the food. The good thing is that what you will get is all freshly prepared. The location is also very convenient and central.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rukendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYMody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Sir

Thank you for the great review. We have recently renovated the premises and such positive feedback from guests encourages us to improve further.

We appreciate you taking out the time to review our hotel and await your return stay with us.

Yours truly

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Each time I come to Mumbai for business, I stay at Hotel KumKum. It has become a second home to me. The location is excellent and is situated between Grant Road and Bombay Central Stations, which makes commuting extemely fast in the city. The staff is excellent and nothing is too much for them. The newly renovated rooms are modern and comfortable, and in my opinion one of the best value for money hotels in the city.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Traveller47304554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYMody, Owner at Hotel Kumkum, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. We always try to price our property reasonably and it is always a it is great that our customers agree with us.

We try to provide a much higher level of service and amenities than what we charge and such positive reviews help us to continue that trend.

Thanks and Regards

Chirag Mody
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#79 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
634 reviews
Hotel Royal Castle
#143 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
196 reviews
Hotel Accord
#52 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#16 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,759 reviews
Hotel Kemps Corner
#68 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
118 reviews
The Sahil Hotel
#30 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kumkum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kumkum

Property: Hotel Kumkum
Address: 165 Lamington Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400007, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kumkum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kumkum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing