We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room but reception not very friendly an bad WiFi-conditions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
Ranked #171 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice room but reception not very friendly an bad WiFi-conditions”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights and on the 4. floor, the room was clean and big enough; the staff at the reception was not very friendly and they charged more money for the laundry and some things from the minibar which we not took. The breakfast was very simple. Do not book the airport transfer through the hotel they try to charge us 1.300 RS and finally we took a Prepaid-taxi direct at the airport for much less. We aks for a good WiFi-connection, but mostly it doesn't work well. If we come back to Mumbai we don't stay there again. If you looking for a stay between connecting flights it's too far away from the airport!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    52
    33
    7
    11
See reviews for
30
12
11
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
srinagar
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very prompt service....hardly took a minute to checkin.....true value for money....scope of improvement in breakfast served....located suitably ....nice restaurent n bar is inhouse ............................................

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Inam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The hotel room was clean, spacious and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was nice and it made our stay even more enjoyable. The hotel is in a convenient location, near the market and restaurants in the area. On a couple of nights of our stay we were awakened by noise (people talking outside the bar downstairs and doors closing) but overall we had a good stay. The Jewel of Chembur is a good value for money hotel and we would be happy to stay there again in future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibemygg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

A must try LE cafe , in house cafe of Jewel of chembur

The selection is so varied and to top it all, the wood fire oven pizzas.
Astrix the lounge, a nice relaxing place after a hectic day

The staff being very friendly and courteas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snehjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is in a good location, close to many things. The staff were all very welcoming and helpful.

We had a great room and dinner with our family on the first night was first class. Our stay was very pleasurable. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 239Sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is right in the middle of Chembur, near Chembur East railway station. The setup from outside is impressive, but the reception is cramped. The rooms are very basic, clean, but can do with better upkeep. Should provide more seating in the room. You have a workstation where only you need to have any food you order from room service or eat it on the bed. No table or chairs. The washrooms are clean. However, no comlimentary mineral water is provided in the room, which is quite surprising. They provide only filtered water.

Had food in the restaurant Moksha- elevated dining. Food is good but expensive considering the overall hotel. The restaraunt seems to be popular with the locals as it was full at the time of dinner.

Very very basic breakfast. Not worth it. Can do with a better spread and choices in the breakfast. They should improve the breakfast for sure by offering better variety and choices.

Overall a decent hotel for a business traveller looking for a basic bed and breakfast type of accomodation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SalilMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have been to Mumbai many times and this hotel was a welcome change from the usual. The rooms were large from Mumbai standards, modern, washrooms were good(Could be better though), reasonably good food. Its not in down town or main road in Chembur, but the room kind of makes up for everything. They have a restaurant and a coffee shop- I tried the coffee shop and it was nicely done and colourful. But I think overall the room size made up for everything. Do not over expect and you will not be let down!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prateek_mittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.6 mi away
The Royal Orchid
The Royal Orchid
#150 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
The Fern Residency, Mumbai
#35 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
444 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rajhans
Hotel Rajhans
#141 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#145 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Plaza
Hotel Plaza
#219 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grandeur
Hotel Grandeur
#202 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jewel Of Chembur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jewel Of Chembur

Property: Hotel Jewel Of Chembur
Address: 1'st Road | Chembur, Mumbai (Bombay) 400071, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jewel Of Chembur 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Jewel Of Chembur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing