We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #227 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is pretty basic. Staff is friendly, rooms are relatively tidy. AC's work and there is a TV. It is a bit noisy at night, but if you have stayed in India for a little while, you probably wont notice. The great thing is the location, just behind the Taj Hotel in the Colaba area. Good for sightseeing. Avoid the breakfast though, that is simply awful. Consider dropping by Leopold cafe for breakfast instead, or drop by the Starbucks which recently opened across the street.
Recommended for a few nights, backpacker or simple tourist style...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    63
    70
    29
    24
See reviews for
31
52
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amritsar, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Stayed on Nov,2012 for a couple days. The location is great- back side of the Taj Hotel, very close to Gates of India and to everything in Colaba. Breakfast is traditional. But I asked for the masala tea and masala omelette and they coocked it in 10 min with no additional charge. You must be attentive on check-in: Not all the rooms are refurbished. The room I got was awful, and the bed blankets were dirty. I immediately asked to change the room. I got very nice modern room then and everything was ok. So be careful, and check the room before unpacking the luggage. It's India:)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieY1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nice hotel very close to India Gate and the famous Leopold Café is just a block away. Reasonably priced, with clean and spacious rooms. Breakfast is included and is actually really nice. Safety Box is available, but not in the room, it's clowe to the reception and it's behind a closed door, so you need to get a help every time, but I would imagine it's very safe. Really helpful staff. Wifi is available, but not free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LFredrikJonsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amirim
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Nice breakfast. Reception desk could try harder. Room service okay. View from room - disgusting (two skinny cats on a filthy roof facing a dirty wall). Money for value? Not sure... Haven't shopped around in Bombay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
5 Thank Gideon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridkot
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Room tariffs are excessively priced as per the quailty of the hotel. I stayed for 1 night. Good point is only location. Renovation work was going on 1st floor. Could not sleep till 11:00 o clock. The hotel management was not bothered about the comfort of the guest. The breakfast was so so. Room size was ok. Bathroom was not much clean. There is no poll and fitness center in the hotel. Only good about the staff is that the security person was very helpful. Ambiance was not at all attractive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank virinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharm, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hotel was clean and our room was fine except for the fact that we were on the top floor and when there was a function on the roof it sounded like the ceiling was falling through.
Biggest problem was their on line booking system which did not work well. I tried twice to use it but was told on screen that the system had logged out and the booking was not made. However after the second attempt I suddenly found that the hotel had received my booking and I thought all was well. However, when I checked my credit card statement I found that I had been charged twice.
I immediately contacted the hotel and they implied it was my fault but it was their system at fault. They agreed to refund one on the bookings but it took 60 days to get the refund - totally unacceptable.
Be very careful if you use their booking system.
Also they charge service and taxes on top of what looks a reasonable rate but in fact when you add all together it is not cheap at all.
Breakfast was OK served in their restaurant round the corner of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flashpacker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very negative kind of ambience. Hotel was not clean up to the mark. Room size was ok. Room service, food and laundry was really bad. Breakfast buffet was pathetic. Only good thing is the location of the hotel. 2-3 min walk from Gateway of India. I just won't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Vinkal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#381 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
99 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#81 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#58 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Hotel
Sea Palace Hotel
#197 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#134 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Property: Hotel Diplomat
Address: 26 Boman Behram Marg | Apollo Bunder, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #227 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diplomat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing