We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient but not cheap” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Diplomat
Ranked #196 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Sharm, Egypt
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Convenient but not cheap”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hotel was clean and our room was fine except for the fact that we were on the top floor and when there was a function on the roof it sounded like the ceiling was falling through.
Biggest problem was their on line booking system which did not work well. I tried twice to use it but was told on screen that the system had logged out and the booking was not made. However after the second attempt I suddenly found that the hotel had received my booking and I thought all was well. However, when I checked my credit card statement I found that I had been charged twice.
I immediately contacted the hotel and they implied it was my fault but it was their system at fault. They agreed to refund one on the bookings but it took 60 days to get the refund - totally unacceptable.
Be very careful if you use their booking system.
Also they charge service and taxes on top of what looks a reasonable rate but in fact when you add all together it is not cheap at all.
Breakfast was OK served in their restaurant round the corner of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flashpacker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    63
    66
    28
    23
See reviews for
31
47
26
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very negative kind of ambience. Hotel was not clean up to the mark. Room size was ok. Room service, food and laundry was really bad. Breakfast buffet was pathetic. Only good thing is the location of the hotel. 2-3 min walk from Gateway of India. I just won't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Vinkal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
272 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

The rooms are a bit average, certainly for this price. Yet, location is excellent: the hotel is located just behind the Taj Palace and just across from a Starbucks (a Tata alliance...). Easy to explore the city from here. Staff was also friendly and helpful. The piles of towels in the hallway could probably be avoided, as could be the staff phones in the corridor (which ring at night). All in all, not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We checked in after a very long flight and lost luggage, while waiting for the rest of the group to arrive. On arrival the staff were AMAZING, very friendly and checked us in quickly. We had 4 rooms booked and they were patient with the allocation of rooms and sleeping configuration. Everyone at the hotel is always smiling and no matter how many times you call up reception they are always nice. Since 2 of us had lost our luggage they also have us complementary toiletries.
The breakfast was pretty good, and since were a huge group it took us forever to get down to breakfast and forever to get back to the rooms, but never did the staff make us feel rushed.
The rooms are a little old, but very very clean. For a 3 star hotel, you get a 3 star room but 5 star service.
I would go back; it’s a budget friendly place with good service.
Location wise, you have a starbucks right opposite (bless), and the colaba street markets not too far from the hotel where you can bargain your way to amazing deals on shoes, clothes, jewellery and more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xavyness17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francophile in the UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful two night stay at the Diplomat. I highly recommend this hotel for its location, 200m from the Gateway to India and 100m from the harbour, and the quality of the rooms and staff.
Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking a rather dirty courtyard, however I would definitely recommend asking for a room at the back as rooms overlooking the surrounding roads would be subjected to the onslaught of 24h traffic noise and the continuous beeping of car horns. We could hardly hear the road noise from our room and it certainly didn't keep us awake.
The room itself was spotlessly clean and had two separate air-con units, one in the bedroom and one in the dressing area. The bathroom was marble tiled floors, walls and walk-in shower and everything worked perfectly (I would just add the toilet was European style) and plenty of complimentary good quality toiletries were supplied.
The bed was queen sized and although it had the usual hard mattress found in Indian hotels was very comfortable. We took extra pillows as one is the norm in India but I'm sure they would have supplied extra ones had we asked.
The hotel staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable, even helping to prevent us being ripped off by taxi drivers by negotiating with them on our behalf.
Security is high in Mumbai due to recent terrorist attacks so most hotels and shops have an x-ray machine to put your bags through as you arrive and you can expect to be scanned with a metal detector on arrival.You will be used to this after the airport security.
Breakfast is complimentary and is served in the hotel's restaurant and bar, Indus (see separate review), which is situated just round the corner from the main hotel entrance. It is served from 07.30 to 10.30 and is on a buffet basis with a good selection of English type foods and also Indian breakfast items including curry.
We would definitely stay there again next time we are in Mumbai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheeseybits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Fantastic location. Really couldn't be much better - and really handy to be so close to the Taj tower when you're looking for a landmark to get you home. Clean rooms. Decent shower. Breakfast was fine. Staff were OK, but no better than that. It wasn't cheap, but given the location it seemed a fair price.

I was tempted to knock a star off for the Wifi charge. When you're paying 4,000 IR a night, it seems penny-pinching to charge 100 IR for 24h access to wifi. Especially when the log-in procedure is such a monumental pain in the backside.

If it wasn't for the location I'd have given it three stars.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here very recently - had prebooked and fully paid and was a bit apprehensive because of some of the Trip Advisor reviews. We came in to Mumbai by train near midnight and taken to a great size clean room, clean bathroom with shower over bath so no slopping around in water (as is mostly the case in India), a/c (a bit old but o.k.) fan, crisp clean sheets and a window looking right at the Taj Hotel. Staff were very friendly and very helpful - they helped us organize a tour at our request. Great location for walking to shopping, sightseeing and some good restaurants. The room is starting to get a bit tired but a bit of work will bring it back up to scratch. Only downer was the included breakfast - not at all appetising - very very basic. I would have liked fly wire over the bathroom window louvres because I was afraid of mosquitoes coming in. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: View of the Taj Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chibur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.1 mi away
Causeway Hotel
Causeway Hotel
#368 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#123 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#65 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#95 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
0.9 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#58 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#39 of 441 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diplomat

Property: Hotel Diplomat
Address: 26 Boman Behram Marg | Apollo Bunder, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 441 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Diplomat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing