We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel to stay there......”
Review of Hotel Ajanta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ajanta
Ranked #336 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great hotel to stay there......”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

That's my second visit to this hotel...What to say about it,Perfect location,Qualified Staffs,Great food,Clean rooms. All i can say that this is the perfect place to stay in Bombay. Very nearby to juhu beach and the best part is 24 hrs services at any circumstances

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    17
    6
    9
See reviews for
8
6
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I along with a colleague had stayed overnight on a business trip on December 23-24, 2011 at Hotel Ajanta on Juhu Tara Road, Mumbai. The hotel is well located…quite close to the famed Juhu beach of Mumbai and that's sadly its only merit.

The entrance was on the main road itself, it lead to a long corridor, which brought me to a shady, dimly lit reception area. I was allotted supposedly a suite, the Tulip room (# 405; tariff: Rs.6000/- net on special corporate discount basis) on the fourth floor…the room was biggish but the amenities were awful. The bed-sheets & pillow covers were stained, the towels were stringy on overuse and the blanket was frayed at the ends as it was quite old. The toilet floor and the wash basin counter had dirty stains. There was no tea/ coffee making facility in the room and surprisingly not even a bottle of mineral water by courtesy from the hotel!

After the business meeting we returned to the hotel late evening expecting to catch a good nap as we were to rush to the airport in the early morning next day. At about 1.15 AM, all hell suddenly broke loose in our floor…jolted from the sleep I initially thought there was a police raid, which is common in cheap Mumbai hotels doubling as brothels as I heard great commotion with many men & women shouting at the top of their voices. As I looked through the door's magic eye, I found a large group of college students creating a raucous having arrived at the hotel in the ungodly hours. They ran around the corridor, played music with ear splitting volume, slammed the doors shut many times and even kicked on my door thinking the room to belong to their group members…there was no one from the hotel to caution them about other boarders staying in the same floor!!! The racket continued till about 3 AM. This was the most terrible experience in a hotel I have ever stayed. Hotel Ajanta should be avoided at any cost!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travel-travail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
280 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Eventhough not a very fantastic property, its tariff is affordable.The rooms are quite spacious with kingsize beds and all room-facilities are good,like hotwater,A/C,wardrobes,showers etc.However, the frontage of the Hotel is minimalistic and not very prominent.This may be due to lack of much space at the entrance of the Hotel.
Room service is excellent.Food at the restaurant is in fact very delicious,especially the Indian and continental food.The Buffet breakfast and dinner come alongwith the Room tariff as a package.

Added to this, the Juhu beach is just a stone's throw away from the Hotel where one can take an evening stroll.

I recommend this property for the middle and senior executives who descend on the city for business tours.

Room Tip: Take rooms at the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAMAREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The hotel has not too much comfort and the showers are indian, but we got hot water and newspaper every morning. TV, a/c all fine. The windows were not really good, noise and water droping in... not bad but just to let you know (it was monsoon I know, but still, the building is an older one).
You are in the heart of Mumbai, Churchgate Station just a few steps away, that make it worth the price and the breakfast buffet was indian-european mixed, quite good to start a day.
Service was good, taxi catch up available makes it easy when you arrive in the night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nblaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed for 4 days in Hotel Ajanta in July 2011. I liked that hotel very much. It is very near to Juhu Beach and I enjoyed very much at Juhu Beach Also.

I found that, their hospitality is excellent. Their food and servicve are excellent.

I will be very happy to visit Hotel Ajanta again and again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MUKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The Hotel Location is the properties Biggest USP. The fact that it is between the one of the most happening areas in Mumbai makes it stand out with its economic layout.
I happened to make a business associate of mine to stay there who was very happy and comfortable with the hotel.
The rooms were of adequate space and comfort. Actually the rooms he said even though not done up were pretty big in size.
The breakfast was a pleasure for him with the hotel making new dishes everyday (stay was for 3 days).
The hotel is a good stop over for business travellers on a budget or even for a family on a budget.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the sea facing rooms or the newly renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TanayTheTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The rooms are not too clean and the bathroom facilities are just too basic, not what would be expected of a reputed 3 star hotel. The old CRT televisions make you want to scream in anguish, especially when the remote refuses to work! The room service is very slow and orders once placed take about 30 minutes on average to be served.
The advantage is the hotel is located not too far from the popular eating places and Juhu beach is walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Royal Garden Hotel
#323 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Beach Garden
Hotel Beach Garden
#188 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Juhu
JC Chalet
JC Chalet
#362 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
Hotel Juhu Plaza
Hotel Juhu Plaza
#348 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Juhu
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#125 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#73 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ajanta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ajanta

Property: Hotel Ajanta
Address: No 8 Juhu Tara Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Juhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ajanta 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ajanta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing