We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room With A Juhu Beach View!”
Review of Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citizen Hotel
Ranked #117 of 456 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed June 8, 2011

I have mixed feelings about this property, as no matter which way you look at it, BOmbay is severely overpriced city for what you get, but.......If you are passing thru Mumbai and want to spend some time in the JUhu area, and be smack on this fun crazy beach, this is a good choice...Rates are high, but check around the various sites for discounts.....this is probably your best bet! The hotel is very old, the rooms are small, but they are clean, functional, and mostly renovated and have gorgeous views onto juhu beach...Staff was very helpful, Internet available but chargeable at okay rates, and seaside restaurant good but expensive..Overall the place has some old world charm, I guess it is old elevators....If you are not seeking luxury but want a excellent location for a few days, I would say go for it....

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndiaBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 213 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2011

Stayed here for a day with a fellow colleague. I was given a room which had a beautiful view of the beach. Room was very good and bathroom was excellent with a glass panel partition. The complimentary breakfast had a good spread and I enjoyed the omlette especially. Recommend to anyone, definitely.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
Thank silsila11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Citizen is the best hotel located on Juhu Beach. we frequently stay in this hotel due to its excellent location. Hotel's backdoor is on the beach front. Restaurant is on the beach, it seems.Nice cool waves you can enjoy with your drinks and food. Excellent Fcaility over all.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riturajNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

i would not advise anybody to stay in this hotel, i had to change the room due to a havy smell of paint which i am allergic to the management told me to wait until 3;30 am , and never bothered to change the room after reminding at 3;30 am.next day spoke to the manager mr. murley and i demanded my $115.00. and was declined ,they simply belive in TAKE TAKE TAKE not give ,one hand washes another.You are better of at another hotels with brand names specially travelling to India.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Friends67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

I found the room, corridors too small compared to other hotels. There is very little natural light in the room. The staff service was slow and laid back. Had to wait long for the food. The staff are not welcoming. I sld have paid more for a better hotel. Better deals out there.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank safari_motors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

As you arrive, you see swollen faces, no friendliness, miserable staff.
Lobby gives a false impression of what the hotel is like. Wait till you get into the cramped lift! If you are above 5.10 you have no chance in this hotel. Cramped smelly corridors, rooms and bathrooms, damp rooms, sickening smell. unhelpful staff! Room was dark and full of mosquitos. You cant open windows becuase the duty manager says so. Miserable man.
Food is terrible, made my family and I very sick. If you sit on the balacony, let me put it this way, the crows will be eating your food not you! you get sprays of water from a neighbouring water tank... makes you sick... anyone say contamination! order your tea the day before, no chance of getting it when you want. appauling service.
There is nothing positive i can say about this hotel. NoISE NOISE NOISE all day and night! You can hear the managers shouting at their staff. Poor workers are miserable. Pay the extra few bucks and book elsewhere. Website is completely false!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jassyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We had 3days stay this hotel ,it have small but clean room with nice bathroom n excellent shower and front rooms have superb view of juhu beach,friendly warm staff and we appreciate it`s owner ,he is charming n quite very helpful human we met...it have good restaurant in front of juhu beach open and indoor. A safe and good hotel for family n single women traveller same . we enjoyed fully this hotel location that excellent .

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Juhu
Hotel Bawa Continental
Hotel Bawa Continental
#70 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
467 reviews
Hotel Atlantic
#311 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
63 reviews
Juhu
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Ap...
#100 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Garden Hotel
#335 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
107 reviews
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#95 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
849 reviews
Juhu
JC Chalet
JC Chalet
#400 of 456 in Mumbai (Bombay)
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citizen Hotel

Address: 960 Juhu Tara Road | Juhu Beach, Mumbai (Bombay) 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Juhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 456 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $76 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing