We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Strand Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$166
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$128
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$121
$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$140
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$354
$169
Oberoi Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$219
$128
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Le Grande(Mumbai)(Great Value!)
$49
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
8
28
23
23
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
28
23
23
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean towelstaj mahal hotelnice staygateindian
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 115 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We arrived late evening and just wanted the experience of a night in one of the Art Deco mansions. There are probably better examples of this experience for more or less money. If it was cheaper we may have stayed longer, high end hotels much better value for money. The gentleman on reception was frosty, but fine. The porter and waiting staff were very obliging and friendly (two men from Delhi). Had a balcony room overlooking the seafront. The bed was firm, very firm, one of the pillows was solid in fact! But the bed was very clean and the room was large and clean.
It all felt safe and the elderly man outside offering taxis was a gem.
The Harbour View hotel is on the top floors - didn't see what it was like?
The Puri Bhaji for breakfast was delicious and freshly cooked.
The whole experience was worth it to hear the music in the lift, it made us laugh very much.

Room Tip: Haggle harder than I did. The hotel is unlikely to be full! Rooms at the front of the hotel are best for the view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mintymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here and loved it. It has both modernized rooms and older style rooms. We opted for the older style for the view and space. We loved our stay there the best of all hotels we have stayed in Mumbai. Good value too.

Room Tip: all good. No swimming pool or fitness centre. Close to the Gateway of India
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was here only for a night on a business visit, so will just write about my brief experience.
The location of the hotel is absolutely fabulous, right next to the Gateway of India. There are plenty of good places around to visit as well.
The staff is courteous and didn't cause me any worries. Infact, they were kind enough to drop the newspaper outside my room in the morning.
The pricing of Rs. 3200 per night for a single AC room is a quite high, but taking into account the expensive real estate around, I'd say it was normal.
The room was clean, AC was very powerful, TV was very small and bathrooms were hygienic enough for a comfortable night's stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahulajmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

great location
sea front hotel
spacious rooms
medium sized bath room
good indian food
clean rooms
near gate way of india
close to taj
in coloba,city centre
complementery break fast
near radio house
near major banks
near shopping centres
near market
near good food courts
value for money

Room Tip: basic hotel but good location in front of sea shore near gateway of india
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRK64IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is very basic but in a great location, just down the road from India Gate. It isn't a nice hotel, but if you just need a place to sleep then it is ok. I wouldn't want to go back here, but the location was ideal and it was one of the cheapest options. It doesn't seem like good value for money, however hotels are so much more expensive in Mumbai than anywhere else in India.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renata J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews