We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel experience ive EVER had.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bawa Continental
Ranked #71 of 463 Hotels in Mumbai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This place was the Absolute worst hotel i have ever stayed in, in my life. Well i shouldn't say the hotel was bad but the service is what KILLED it for myself and my girlfriend. in fact the rooms were ehh.... We arrived to the hotel at 8PM with a reservation in which arriving to the lobby there was a large party of which was staying in one room, so both of the reception people were overwhelmed and working on there one room. my girlfriend and i waited 30 minutes for someone to acknowledge us in which i had to say something. after i finally got my room key, i was never welcomed or anything. we finally got to our "upgraded" room, which was smaller than the room i had originally booked. and had a blue tarp covering over the window, as if i was staying in a Gaht. The Service from reception was terrible... upon going out to dinner we asked for a recommendation of a place to go get something to eat, and being american they told me the only place available was SUBWAY. The stupid thing about saying that is there is a HUGE area on Juhu beach where you can get a million different options of indian street food. Finally arriving back to the hotel, the hall ways were about 40C Degrees in which i felt we were going to faint. our room was nice and cool temperature but the halls were unbearable. Finally upon checking out i called down 1 hour ahead of time so that they could arrange a taxi for us to go to the airport. Was told they would have one waiting for us when we came down. Finally when we came down to the desk after the hour expecting to hop in the car and go to the airport. they told us to sit and wait cause the car wasnt there yet. we sat for 30 minutes in which every ten i asked where they car was and they told me it was on its way... THIS IS A CITY WITH A BILLION TAXIS. i finally gave up on the reception people and walked outside and went to the hotel next door where they had three taxis waiting out front for work. i was so furious that i had been put off like that and now 30 minutes late for my day, which was a very easy solution for them. they just had to walk outside and scream for a taxi. Finally once we gave up and started to walk out of the hotel the two reception men were ready to finalize my bill and check me out of the hotel. After We'd been sitting right in front of them in the lobby for 35 minutes, and they didnt have the decency to start our check out process... They knew were were leaving there was no excuse. this place really made me not want to return to ANY Bawa hotel. which is a shame because it seemed like a cool place to stay in a cool area of town. I cannot say enough bad things about the experience i had from the reception staff and there is no excuse for poor treatment of a guest. A small welcome or thank you for your stay would have made it alittle better but they didnt even bother to do that.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viksinghmumbai, Owner at Hotel Bawa Continental, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Bawa Continental...!

Thank You very much for your feed back on Trip Advisor.

You definitely did not have a very pleasant experience staying with Bawa Continental.

We are extremely apologetic about the unpleasant experience you had about the hotel staff, and other services.

Your every comment has been taken into account and we shall take all the measures not to repeat the same with any of our guest.

We are thankful to your for your business and the time taken to let the management know about the shortcomings in the operatons.

Thanking You.

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 470 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in August. The first thing we noticed was the freezing, characterless lobby. There was no reception desk, just two office type-desks for us to check in. We hoped for better when we saw our room, however we were disappointed. We were supposedly given a 'larger' room which was overcrowded and cramped. The room smelt of damp and when we complained, we were told it was the monsoon season and we couldn't change rooms. There was also a huge picture of New York on the wall - very odd considering we were in Mumbai! It was reminiscent of a poorly decorated 1980s city bachelor pad! The bed was covered in about 20 black and silver cushions in an attempt to make the room more attractive - it didn't work. The room also had not been dusted properly. Another thing I didn't like was that the bathroom door was merely a curtain - no door to be seen. Not great for privacy.
On a positive note, the staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were better than average. However, this couldn't compensate for a pretty mediocre hotel. If you're on a budget and you want a good location, this may be the choice for you, but personally I would spend a bit more money and find somewhere better.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaid88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
viksinghmumbai, Owner at Hotel Bawa Continental, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting you review on Trip Advisor....!

Your comments and feedback are of utmost importance and shall make us improve our services and the product experience.

We appreciate your business and the taken taken to post the feedback.

Thanking You.

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Instead of a luxury hotel as indicated, the Bawa Continental is a standard tourist hotel. My room was okay, but not luxurious. The bed too soft for a good sleep. The bistro provided friendly service and a good kitchen, but they have a disco there every night and everone who prefers a quiet dinner should look for somewhere else. The breakfast room is dull and could do with a makeover which is long overdue. The air condition in the entrance area and the bistro is set a refridgerator temperature. Even though the staff was friendly and helpful, I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inge_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikramveer B, Manager at Hotel Bawa Continental, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hotel Bawa Continental...!

Thank You for posting your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the comments and suggestions about the various areas of the hotel.

We shall give our best efforts in all the areas that you have commented on.

Kindly do give bawa group of hotels a chance to serve you again in the future.

Thanking You.

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We booked this hotel for a short trip of 2 days in Mumbai. The location is very good as it is in Juhu, within walking distance of the beach and quite close to the airport. The rooms are extremely small (as with almost every Mumbai 3-4 star hotel) and this is the biggest drawback. The other cause of complaint was the beds. We spent an extremely uncomfortable night as the mattress resembled a water bed more than a traditional mattress. Breakfast buffet was quite average.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepakgupta5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikramveer B, Owner at Hotel Bawa Continental, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanking you for your time taken to post your review on trip advisor.

We shall take all the comments very seriously and shall work on delivering the best to our guest.

Kindly give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Thank You.

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a week. Not far from the airport. Hotel arranged pick up and drop off to the airport which was very good. Room was decent size and clean. Complementary breakfast was very good. Overall an excellent service from Jagdish and his team. We would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avinash B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vikramveer B, Owner at Hotel Bawa Continental, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank You for using Hotel Bawa Continental, we apreciate you feedback on trip advisor.

Look Forward to have you as our guest in the future.

Thank You once again.

Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Booked online through their website, my CC was not debited so I paid at the hotel. Decent roooms, clean and frendly people. Good value for money considering Mumbai is so expensive. Nice food. I would recommend for business and not very g=far from the airport

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
Thank Gavin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Good Hotel .Efficient door man / room service/ reception . All were cordial and helpful. We reached hotel at 6.30 am while the checkin time was 12 pm . We went to visit the juhu beach and by the time we returned at 8 am we very efficiently checked in our rooms. the rooms were comfortable . the breakfast was good .would recommend this hotel as chowpaty and beach are all at a walking distance. we used to walk every night at Chowpaty to enjoy the food there amidst sea breeze and thousands of people .

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room . it was a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123bina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOMBGH, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bawa Continental, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Hotel Bawa Continental as your preferred stay destination.

We are glad that your stay experience exceeded your expecations and we value your detailed review.

We hope to see you soon yet again,

Regards

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Juhu
The Emerald - Hotel & Service Apartments
Juhu
Hotel Sea Princess
Hotel Sea Princess
#90 of 463 in Mumbai
865 reviews
Juhu
Citizen Hotel
Citizen Hotel
#124 of 463 in Mumbai
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Juhu
Ramada Plaza Palm Grove
Ramada Plaza Palm Grove
#60 of 463 in Mumbai
919 reviews
Hotel Bawa International
#101 of 463 in Mumbai
578 reviews
Juhu
Novotel Mumbai Juhu Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bawa Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bawa Continental

Address: Juhu Tara Road, Mumbai 400049, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Juhu , Juhu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 463 Hotels in Mumbai
Price Range: $82 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bawa Continental 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bawa Continental is a luxurious 3-star boutique hotel conveniently located only 6KM from the International Airport, and from a 5 min walking distance from the most famous Juhu Beach of Mumbai. Guest bedroomsHotel Bawa Continental has 32 well-appointed, recently renovated guest rooms. Rooms have wooden flooring; each standard room measuring approx. 200 sq ft. Beds at hotel feature premium bedding. Extra towels and bedding items can also be found in the rooms. We provide a range of Pillows to choose from in the evening service, along with night chocolates, eye mask, and choice of newspapers for the morning. Bathrooms are spacious, made with Italian marble, and have international brand bath and sanitary fittings. amenities include hair dryer, bathrobes and designer toiletries. In room Amenities: Guests of the hotel can make use of the following room facilities: voice mail, clock radio, climate control, in-room safe, mini bar, complete electronic operations of lights. Iron/ironing boards, mobile chargers, DVD players are provided upon request in the rooms free of charge.Mini bar well stacked, with sodas, spirits, and other eatables are available at very low prices for our guest. Tea and coffee maker fully stacked are available complimentary with 2 bottles of water per room per day.Entertainment: The hotel features in-room facilities such as premium television channel(s), cable/satellite television channels, flat-screen TV and DVD player. Internet connection options: Guests wishing to stay connected will certainly appreciate wireless Internet access. Housekeeping services and room service are 24 hrs of the day.Food and Beverage Options:Bistro Grill: Meal options at the hotel include a restaurant named Bistro Grill serving the morning breakfast and open all day until mid night. The menu includes a Global fusion menu from the Far East to the Mediterranean style of cooking and includes exotic Indian foods.The restaurant has well stocked bar with a variety of Spirits, cocktails and mock tails. The bar tenders are trained to make every cocktail request with utmost care and perfection.Bombay Bru: The hotel has a coffee shop by the name of BOMBAY BRU which is open until 3 am. Small and yet cozy with a library and deli counter, for our guest to munch on some fresh baked products, and to go sandwiches and burgers. The choice of coffees available is known for in the local area.Cocktail Lounge: The lounge being the most recent addition to our bouquet of food and beverage outlets, features a live gig each night form comedy to bands to karaoke. The meal offerings are form Bistro Grill and the coffee shop. Any special request by our guest is always met up to by our chefs.Room service is offered for guest convenience and is available 24 hrs. The room service menu offers Indian and oriental options with a limited variety of pastas and sandwiches available though out the day.Our hotel provides a 24-hour front desk service. Public areas of The hotel are comfortable and air-conditioned. Guests of the hotel will appreciate the friendly services of our multilingual staff. Leisure amenities: The hotel offers spa/wellness services in room by our masseurs who are outsourced by one of the most renowned spas in the city know as IOSIS. Book a relaxing massage after a long day of sightseeing or business meetings. Additional services: complimentary newspapers in lobby, concierge services, dry cleaning/laundry service, elevator/lift, express check-out, porter/bellhop, safe-deposit box - front desk, television in lobby, wheelchair accessibility. Transportation/Parking facilitiesGuest parking can be used free of cost. However car wash is chargeable. We do not provide any accommodation for drivers and maids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bawa Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing