We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful a manager”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #104 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
White Plains, New York
1 review
“Very helpful a manager”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband had to see a doctor.
He had a acute pain his back, and we don't have any idea where to go.
So I asked a front desk, a gentleman ( I didn't ask his name,) called a doctor ( Dr. Samuel),
And Dr. Samuel referred a doctor at Bombay Hospital ( General Hospital ).
Less than hour we were at the hospital, and my husband could see a doctor.
Fortunately his condition was not serious,the doctor gave him a prescription.
He also gave a referral in Goa, that our next destination, in the case if my husband need to see a doctor again.
Ascot Hotel was recommended by Lonely Planet, and lot of other media.
Overall Hotel stand out all recommendations.
And my appreciation for helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miyukiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    135
    22
    5
    17
See reviews for
47
129
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed at the Ascot for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute of it. We arranged for the hotel's car to pick us up from the airport and this went very well. The check in was handled very quickly and efficiently by Jackson a most charming, efficient and helpful man. We settled for the basic room which was very adequate. It was clean, spacious and comfortable with a safe (free of charge) and good clothes storage space. There was tea and coffee making in the room and the bathroom (with a bath) was good. If I remember correctly TV stations were limited but we rarely watch tv and then only for news items.
The breakfast was simple but good and adequate for our needs.
Wi Fi was charged at 110Rs for 12 hours but guests have free use of a lap tap in reception which is ok for emails and simple tasks. I was allowed to use the hotel's desk top computor in their office to check in on line and print my boarding passes for my flight home.
The hotel is not in a good position for someone merely wanting a nights sleep near the airport but is excellent for the Colaba district with all its attractions and restaurants. However Jackson (on reception) did inform me that the hotel has a sister hotel called The Residency which is close to the airports.
OK, I have stopped in more luxurious hotels but, bearing in mind its position (in the Colaba area), this hotel is excellent value.
Our only problem was there were some noisy arab families staying in some of the larger rooms but they went quiet about midnight so did not really interupt our sleep - except on one morning when they left ( and let everybody know about it) at 5.20am ! This problem has been referred to in a recent post. I appreciate this is not any easy situation for the hotel to deal with particularly when children are invloved but perhaps they could try and resolve it.
A well recommended hotel and we hope and expect to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

By far the best place to stay in downtown Mumbai. Great value, spacious, comfortable rooms, extremely friendly and helpful staff, and a wonderful location. Also, you are within walking distance of many of the local attractions, including the Gate of India and the Oval. Plus some fantastic restaurants in the vicinity, including the best vegetarian in Mumbai: Kailash Parbat, two streets down Colaba Causeway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikael_Widell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This Hotel in the heart of the Colaba area was the starting point of our 18 days in India.We stayed here for 2 nights 11th to 13th Feb. I booked 2 months earlier it was my second choice.
It was a good choice, thank you Trip Advisor.Our room on the first floor was large clean with lots of sunlight. The double bed was very comfortable with spotless clean white sheets. Bathroom modern with a very good shower and lots of hot water, much appreciated after a long days sight seeing.A computer was available in the foyer. Wi fi not free. It is a 10 minute walk to the Gateway of India where we took the boat for Elephant Island. Security is very tight there, especially after what happened here some years back. We ate our dinner here very good simple Indian food.Around the left corner of the Hotel there is a good money exchange.

Room Tip: try to stay away from the generator when in use makes a lot of noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eva m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoe17
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

I stayed there just one night in January 2014. The location was near Colaba street was very convenient, and the night shopping there was interesting. Additionally, it was a nice walk to the Taj Hotel and the Gateway to India.

The reception staff was very congenial, and in fact gave me an upgraded room. The room was spacious, comfortable and nicely decorated. I did see a few mosquitos there. Breakfast was quite good.

The problem I had with the hotel was a party of Arabic-speaking, sheesha-smoking partying young women on the same floor. Even with the hotel staff speaking to them, they didn't stop making noise till after 12:30 am.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the Ascot Hotel for 6 nights in early January 2014 and, generally, we were pleased with our choice.

The Colaba location of the hotel was brilliant as was the spaciousness and general level of comfort of our deluxe room. The only qualifications to the accolades that I would venture are that, for the price paid for the room (we paid about $AUD170 per night), the service levels were a bit 'hit and miss' (i.e. some staff were very good whilst others were not very attentive or well meaning but somewhat disorganised) and the access to wi fi in your room expensive and guest internet facilities (namely, a lap-top where guests are requested to use only to check their emails) less than the standard expected of a hotel charging the prices that it did.

In summary, this is a good hotel though, in my opinion, its deluxe rooms are overpriced. I rated the hotel 'very good' above because there was no 'good' rating facility available and it would have been unfair to rate it as 'average'.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed for four nights in February 2014. The hotel is just round the corner from the Gateway to India and the Taj Hotel. From our base here we were able to walk to all the main sights in the centre on Mumbai and only used a taxi for the distant ones. Even walking to the other coast only takes 20 minutes or so.
The hotel itself does have large bright well decorated rooms some with a balcony. We were given a suite that had virtually everything including two TV's. The bed was large and comfortable and the a/c worked fine.
The service and breakfast were both good.
Nice hotel in an excellent location.
For dinner we used Mondegars just down the road - excellent food, service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#62 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
431 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#138 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
240 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#80 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#38 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
#182 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#108 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Hotel Ascot Mumbai
Ascot Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing