We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to excellent”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #99 of 484 Hotels in Mumbai
Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is very well located in the Kolaba area ,close to the sea . The street is very quiet yet very close to the main commercial street !
The hotel has a very modern look with wide public areas , elevators and excellent climatisation !
The rooms are really spatious , well furnished and decorated and the bathroom is really appealing ! It is also very quiet at all hours of the day and night .
The service is excellent ! The people at the front desk , specially Jackson , are very helpful and in fact are trying to foresee your requirements ! In fact they took a big part in making our stay in Mumbai really enjoyable !
The only area of improvement is the breakfast : the service is awkward i.e. toasrs served before orange juice , the eggs tend to be overcooked and the coffee is .... hard to describe but not coffee !
If breakfast is not a priority then this hotel is a deal hard to beat !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belleretraite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 308 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

As part of a 9 week trip to India we booked the Ascot knowing that we would be tired after a lengthy train journey from Rajastan.We normally stay in budget hotels and knew that we would have to pay more for a hotel in Mumbai. The Ascot was worth every penny.The room was immaculate,modern and tastefully decorated.The bed was large and comfortable.Everything that you would expect of a high class hotel. The staff were friendly and efficient headed up by Jackson on the front desk who was always helpful.Highly recommended especially for its perfect position in the Colaba district with all the major tourist destinations on its door step.

Stayed: November 2012
4  Thank philstutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed at the Ascot on three separate visits to Mumbai over the last five years. Great Colaba location and very well run hotel. The staff is helpful and informative. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The restaurant has been consistently good. Overall the hotel just keeps getting better and better! We will undoubtedly return to the Ascot the next time we are in Mumbai.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Audreyf60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed nine nights at the hotel after about one year since my last visit. They offered excellent service same as before. My room was very spacious, well managed, kept clean, and fully air-conditioned. The staffs, including Mrs. Jackson and D'Souza (I am sorry, I don't know other staffs' name!), were very friendly but not over-familiar and offered speedy and reliable service. I will stay with them on my next visit to Mumbai.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hir-Mash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

After having travelled for over 12 hours it was a real pleasure to arrive at the hotel and for everything to be right. The hotel is in a central location on a quiet street and is within walking distance of the Gateway to India, restaurants and streetmarkets. We stayed in a deluxe double room which was very large and bright with all the facilities we needed including tea and coffee, fridge and even an iron and ironing board. We used room service for breakfast which was very efficient. The room was clean and the bathroom had a separate bath and good size shower. The staff on reception were very helpful particularly Jackson, when we needed to get information on places to see and things to do. We have already recommended the hotel to friends who are visiting Mumbai later this year.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Just a quick tip of the hat to two of the best reception employees i have dealt with in over 40 years of travelling. Jackson and Paurrushasp are the kind of people who are born to be in the hospitality industry. Helpful, courteous, efficient, they make the difference between just a very comfortable mid-range hotel and a welcoming base from which to enjoy one's travel experience. The hotel itself is well-located from a tourist's point of view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wlipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We Spent 3 nights at this Hotel, the price per night was slightly more than the very ordinary hotel down the road. We changed hotels after walking pass. The entry lobby says it all, that this is a very good, well managed Hotel. We had a very generous sized twin share room. Service was very good, and all the staff very helpful. Our room was very clean and quiet. The good quality towels and linen very clean and changed daily. We used room service and the restaurant, both
were very good. I have recommended the Hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ascothotel, Guest Relations Manager at Ascot Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

Greetings of the Day!!!!!!

Thanks Alot Miss. Trish for your Helpfull review,we will be very pleased to help you in your Future stay in our Hotel again.

Warm Regards,

SHASHANK S DHAVAN.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai hotels
Colaba
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#60 of 484 in Mumbai
450 reviews
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 484 in Mumbai
880 reviews
Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
#187 of 484 in Mumbai
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colaba
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#125 of 484 in Mumbai
250 reviews
Colaba
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#102 of 484 in Mumbai
285 reviews
Colaba
Hotel Suncity Apollo, Mumbai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai 400039, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai > Colaba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Mumbai
Price Range: $128 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Hotel Ascot Mumbai
Ascot Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing