We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE TIDY GOOD STAFF”
Review of Ascot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ascot Hotel
Ranked #102 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“NICE TIDY GOOD STAFF”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I Recently stayed at this hotel & We were pleased to have very friendly and cooperative staff
in room service is also very prompt and good.
with latest amenities and spaciouc rooms one has value for money by staying at Ascot
I would highly recommend this property for future travelers.

Room Tip: Road side rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank novembertravele... t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    135
    22
    5
    17
See reviews for
47
129
32
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkley, Michigan, USA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I attempted to book and stay at this hotel recently. We called the hotel and booked 2 triple rooms three days prior to our stay. The morning that we were to check in, we called the hotel twice to check to see if they have airport pick up (they don't.) When we arrived, they told us that they try to contact us twice to see if we were coming, because they gave up one of our rooms. We discussed to them that we called them twice that morning, it was even before check in time (it was 1130 am) and were not able to answer their calls since we were flying in that morning. They were unwilling to acknowledge/understand these facts. They were willing to give us one room in the hotel and 1 in a building next door. The room next door WAS not at the same level at the hotel at all! They were not friendly and would not admit that they were wrong to book rooms that they did not have, wrong to put the blame on us for not answering when they called (even though we talked to the hotel earlier), they were not friendly or helpful at all! We went next door and stayed at the Garden Hotel. It was wonderful and highly recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gispartangurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

My three day stay at the Ascot Hotel was very enjoyable. The very friendly and help Mr. Jackson on the front desk was great for making you feel welcome and answered any travel questions etc. Rooms are very nice and at 4 start level compared with Europe. The hotel is very clean, has a great breakfast included and complementary wifi in the lobby with a laptop also available for use. Overall a good hotel to stay in, with a great location!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esher
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My friend and I stayed in the Ascot for 2 nights recently. It was in a great location very close to the India Gate and near the bustle of the Causeway market. The room was very clean and tidy and the staff extremely helpful and friendly particuarly the delightful Mr Adrian Jackson who just couldn't have been more helpful. The reason I didn't give the Ascot 5 stars is that the breakfast could really be improved on, perhaps a traditional Indian breakfast would be better than trying to be continental and we also had a wire hanging out of our bathroom wall. I would definitely recommend it to friends and wouldn't hesitate booking again if I travel to Mumbai.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 4th floor and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aromaflowesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights here recently, in an expansive room on the 2nd floor. The breakfast is a little monotonous but we were always so glad to get back to the hotel from the crazy streets of Mumbai. The neighborhood is one of older homes and trees, easy walk to the Gateway of India, museum, etc. We would happily go back.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadHazard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

After the craziness of the day in Mumbai, it was lovely to come back for the second time in the last year at the ascot hotel on garden road. It's a clean, safe and welcoming hotel. The staff is really helpful. Our main guy there was Jackson. A great and sweet man that just wants to make your stay the easiest and best as he can. He helped us make dinner reservations in a few restaurants, found a trustful driver, helped us print flight tickets, etc. Super helpful and he always had a sweet smile.
The rooms are spacious. Pretty clean. Comfortable beds and soft sheets. The room service is fast and correct. The breakfast space is also spacious and neat.
The neighborhood is great because it's easy to walk around and find nice addresses to visit, shop, dine, or have a drink.

If you don't care too much about having a more western style for your hotel, I do recommend that place. And I will go back there next time I visit mumbai.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

I stayed twenty-seven nights with them as my fourth visit to Mumbai. Generally speaking, hotels in Mumbai are overpriced. However, compared with other shabby and unsatisfiable hotels, the Ascot is preeminent for their accommodations and service. It is true that their room rate is higher than other "midrange" (the range is actually vast in the case of Mumbai) hotels, but their service is of great worth paying the difference. Their recently (five or six years ago. I've forgot the exact date) refurbished inside is well maintained with marble floors which were kept clean with no dust. My room was on the top (fourth) floor with two windows through which good natural lighting was available. The fireworks of the Diwali festival seen from the window is one of the unforgettable memory. The room was quite spacious and the a/c was independent of the room card-key, by which I could return to my cool (frosty!) room from the crazily hot and humid outside. The bathroom with bathtub was also kept clean and I could have running hot water any time. The staff was very warm and helpful. They made quick response to any of my requests, and their service was excellent and flexible with me over the twenty-seven days.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hir-Mash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Godwin
Hotel Godwin
#134 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
239 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#58 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#81 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Regent Hotel Colaba
Regent Hotel Colaba
#176 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#104 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hotel

Property: Ascot Hotel
Address: 38 Garden Road, | Colaba, Mumbai (Bombay) 400039, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ascot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel In Mumbai
Hotel Ascot Mumbai
Ascot Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing