We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pocket friendly but foods need to improve in taste”
Review of Alankar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alankar
Ranked #5,508 of 14,986 Restaurants in Mumbai
Restaurant details
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile

Decided to try this vegetarian restaurant with an extensive menu - but instead of visiting it we decided to order it.
We had heard a lot about it and so many of their dishes were recommended to us as a must try.
We avoided all of them and decided to have a simple basic dishes - dahi kadhi, baingan masala fry and chapatis.
The kadhi had kokum to provide extra sourness to it and the kadhi was garnished with too much of mustard and kadhi patta leaves. It also contained garlic!
Baingan masala fry was well fried and very oily - and hardly we could find any baingan in it. It was more of masala which was well fried in oil.
Chapati was just like home made - very well rolled and soft.
Serving size is good enough to be shared. Cost wise we will place it in the lower middle segment. We feel if they do improve their food quality, they can be easily get on to the top.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank devil5657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (5)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 5 of 5 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2016

Stopped by for a quick lunch and was pleasantly surprised that the prices are all very reasonable. Food quality was good and service prompt - you can have a meal here within 30 minutes without pinching your pocket on prices

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cool_satchmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Alankar is located at an ideal spot with offices all around.we order from there quite often. Their south indian as well as punjabi dishes are worth the price and good quality too.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 82Jasmin82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2015

Have never been here, just ordered home delivery.

Firstly, these guys took an hour to get a very small order delivered; called me up atleast 5 times to understand the address and still ended up elsewhere.

How difficult is is to make a good pav bhaji in Mumbai. Apparently, very difficult, coz the one served by Alankar was among the worst that I have had in Mumbai.

Bad service, Bad food. Not recommended.

Date of visit: February 2015
Thank anijaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alankar also viewed

 
Mumbai, Maharashtra
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 
Mumbai, Maharashtra
 

Been to Alankar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing