We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$145
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$352
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$144
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$110
$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$126
$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$87
$79
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
30
70
28
18
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
70
28
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsballard estatemr gandhideluxe double roomquiet areafamily roomcharming hotelsouth mumbaichicken sausagehot showerconvenient locationtea coffeepeaceful staycst stationspent nightsfull markscolaba areafront desk manager
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 157 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Hotel was good but there was no ventilation fue to which there was a pinching smell of fungii all over. Service, locality and room was very good. Nice creativity done with a small area. Fine and cheap place to stay for overnight.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 19, 2013

Dear Mr Atul,

Thank you for taking time out to share with us about your recent visit to our hotel.

We would like to apologize from our part where the smell was concerned and have put measures in place to prevent this from occurring again.
Your comments have given immense satisfaction and we are glad you enjoyed the room interiors and service.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Warm Regards,

Front Office Manager
Grand Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Outdated decor, terrible Internet, and not great value for the money. I understand Mumbai prices are high, but I did not feel this place was worth the money. Room was large but windowless and musty. Internet never worked in any one of the 5 mornings I was there- staff said it was due to the monsoon which seems questionable. I needed to deal with family issues back home so this presented a big problem. The 2 log in limit in a room for 3 is not adequate.On the plus side, rooms were clean and location is good.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback.

We have since noted your feedback and are taking corrective action at our end. We are undergoing major overhauling changes in respect to the hotel and will be completely revamped in a couple of months time.We apologize for the Wi-Fi internet facility but during that period we have confirmed that there was genuine problems with our service provider.We have also increased the log in limit with reference to your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care.

Regards,

Manager,

Grand Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Grand here is a vision statement that this hotel will not attain. It is a far cry from what it used to be. Definitely, rooms are re-done. Bathrooms are spotless and clean. The rooms are big, yet the facade of the rooms has not changed. They could do well to get an architect and close the roof opening in the middle of the hotel. Mumbai is not known for its pleasant weather.

Bed is semi-comfortable. They could use fabric softeners on sheets used on the bed and especially on towels, which were thickened and uncomfortable to use. Housekeeping has a sense of humour. They turn everything off and expect you to play "find the switch" for TV and all equipment that they have. They had placed remote control neatly on a box that said "Do not keep anything on top for ventilation" !!!!

Location is nice. Away from the hustle bustle of Fort but not too far. Not too many eating choices nearby unless you are walking to PM Road or thereabouts.

The nice thing is complementary internet. For some reason, the hotel thinks once device is all that we use these days. If you login on one device, the other one gets logged off. Luckily, it says so and does it.

Be wary of their site as the site gave me Rs 3881 plus tax going to Rs 4500 but they charged me Rs 4500 plus taxes. I could not prove 3881 as their reservation system insists on printing things in US$ rather than INR which is the currency I chose. Reservation site is not trustworthy. Front desk staff are nice but they were convinced that I was out ti cheat them instead of checking their own website.

Room service varies between limited to non-existent. Quailty of the food presented was very poor. Complementary water was not given on check-in. I had to walk to a neighbouring restaurant go get water at Rs 18/-. The hotel chart says they charge Rs 64/- for a bottle of water even though they may be serving it 1/2 hr to 1 hr late !!!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DNPRAHLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grand Hotel,Mumbai !

Thank you for your valuable time taken to tell us about your experience of the hotel .We have since noted your feedback and are taking corrective action at our end.

We apologize for the open atrium in the middle of the courtyard in the interior of the Hotel , but this cannot be changed since this how Grand Hotel was built by the original architect George Wittet dating back to 1920 in what it used to be and will continue to be as major changes to heritage buildings come under the inspection of the Mumbai Heritage Conservation Committee which would bring serious problems to the hotel.

We have taken note of your valuable feedback relating to our housekeeping/laundry services especially our linen upkeep.We have also instructed our H/K personnel to take care of placement of electronic equipment to prevent devices from getting electronically exhausted.

Our internet portal allows 2 users/devices per room to log in for access , clearly which was not conveyed to you on your arrival to the hotel . The front office staff has been briefed and notified to convey this message so that our patrons are not under any misinterpretation.

The rates that we offer was the correct rates charged to you by our Front Office staff as Rs 4500 is our single deluxe room rate which is consistent on all our online platforms. It is our constant practice to ensure parity over all our online platforms.We are currently hosting our reservations page with Agoda , however this is a temporary arrangement as the hotel will be having its own gateway in a couple of months time which will streamline the entire booking process and giving no opportunity to point out inconsistencies (if any)

We have pulled up our F&B department highlighting the concerns brought to light by you during your stay and rest assured you will find a major difference in each concern pointed out by you.However price of water will vary from place to place and hotel to hotel as price is determined by many factors such as infrastructure, ambiance , location , services offered etc from organisation to stand alone shops/ restaurants.

We have reviewed and noted your feedback with our staff and have put methods in action to prevent further inconsistency in our service to you in future and rest assured we will not provide you any opportunity to disappoint in your stay with us in the future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We spent a week at the Grand Hotel recently and, despite going with the attitude that we shouldn't expert western standards, we left disappointed.
The room was clean, if a little basic, and poorly serviced - we had to ask almost daily for toilet paper, soap, towels etc - and the response to any request for maintenance was slow.
Breakfast was simple to the point of meanness - toast (with 'mixed fruit jam' - yuk!), scrambled egg (on request, we eventually found out) and the poorest coffee was about it... The hotel advertises a restaurant and bar. These do not exist.
Considering its location and the lack of services and amenities, this hotel is very expensive.
What made it more expensive still was the theft FROM OUR ROOM of my wife's wedding ring. This was followed by the most indifferent response from the hotel management.
WE WON'T BE BACK.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenPark35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grand Hotel, Mumbai!

Thank you very much for your comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for your feedback.

We have since noted your feedback and are taking corrective action at our end where our Housekeeping services are offered. We have have taken your example and have put stringent processes in place to prevent incidents like this in the future,

On hearing on the theft from your after check out we immediately dispatched our team to check every corner of the room and were not successful in finding the ring.In spite your best efforts to provide a cash incentive to our employees we were amazed to find that there was no response from our end clearly indicating no evidence of theft.Our security personnel were questioned and tapes were scrutinized all leading to no evidence or proof of theft.

However to our guests we have made a provision for guest valuables such as a safety deposit locker in the front office and in-room safes , we would urge you in future to make use of these facilities to prevent any further valuables to be misplaced by you.

Given the fact we have advertised of a restaurant & bar , we can assure our patrons that our restaurant is fully functional and the latter due to recent renovations is going through license approvals with the state excise department which should be approved in couple of weeks time.

We have noted your feedback on our Breakfast buffet and will be making sure certain items will be added/changed.

We apologize for the inconsistent services that have been offered to you and will make sure on your next visit we will not provide you an opportunity to find any fault with the Grand Hotel.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We picked this hotel because of its proximity to CST, and the location is very good. Ballard Estate is very interesting and, as someone else mentioned, perfectly safe to explore. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with a large balcony. The bathroom was on the small side, but the shower worked well. The restaurant was a disappointment; we enquired as to when they stopped serving and were told 10pm, however, at 8pm, when we tried to go for supper, we were told the restaurant had closed. Breakfast was somewhat disappointing too, so maybe they were having problems in the kitchen when we were there!

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor have the best views, however the lift/elevator only goes to the floor below, so beware if stairs are a problem.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJBOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 1, 2013

Dear Sir,

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Grand Hotel, Mumbai!

Thank you very much for your kind comments on the hotel and we are most thankful for the valuable feedback especially about our rooms.

We have since noted your feedback and are taking corrective action at our end.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and rest assured, we shall ensure all personal care

Thanks & Regards,

GRE,
Grand Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews