We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay in Mumbai”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #128 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Bayerisch Gmain, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent stay in Mumbai”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed there 4 nights. This place is perfect balanced for price and location. The people are very friendly and helpful. The room was very big what we really appreciated and cleaned properly every day. Most of the sight seeing tours you can do by walking or just taking a taxi for a couple of minutes. WiFi in every room. We really enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: the rooms are all quiet as the road / location is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IME E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    63
    24
    14
    10
See reviews for
26
31
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Not sure why this place isn't rated higher. I stayed here with my brother and father and we could not have been happier. The room was clean and comfortable. The wifi worked well and the hotel was quiet. The hotel is located in the old colonial section of town which is walking distance from everything in south mumbai and very close to the main train station. The surrounding blocks are quiet and perfect for you architecture nuts. The hotel it self has some great architecture itself. The service was great as well. Would definitely recommend this place and stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheShermans212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I think this place has great potential to be a wonderful place to stay. It is in a quiet non-residential area surrounded by colonial architecture with tree lined streets. It has a central courtyard in which the 4 floors of rooms look out upon and you enter from, but it has been stripped of its original features and looks like the sterile corridors of a hospital or mental institution. Loads of pot plants and trees would make the world of difference. The place does not live up to what it promises. We booked a junior suite and did not get it. We were asked to pay for the 3 nights up front and were told it was not possible to get the refund owed to us once we discovered were in a much smaller room. Wifi was only available in the reception area and not on our floor. Room service never answered the phone. cable tv didnt work, room safe was broken and had to be fixed and forget trying to get an extra pillow. All the room staff were polite and i think were trying to be helpful it's just that nothing ever materialised. The place just seems in desperate need of efficient management who care and an interior decorator!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveotherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We arrived Xmas day after a flight delay, check in was lengthy due to it being written up in an old ledger book. Our first room had a blocked toilet that leaked. The staff moved us to a similar room on a different floor.
Breakfast buffet is a stretch of the word, decrepit toast machine that needs 3 cycles to briwn the bread, one cereal and two hot options that looked quite unpalatable.
The rooms are old, air con is an old unit fitted in the window. Bed linens and towels are very worn.
Staff are excellent though, and very helpful. We did not eat at the main restaurant which was closed due to Christmas.
All in all, not a bad hotel if we'd paid less than we did but at$150 AUD I expect more.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samm1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here a week on company accommodation.

I have a mixed feeling with respect to the location. It was near CST station and Colaba so that was a plus, but it was at the remote end of the fort area so used to get very secluded at night.

The rooms were big and spacious. The decor was of an older era because of which I did not like the beds, almirah or doors as such.

Free wifi and gym were a added plus. Breakfast was average at best.

I would stay again if I need to be in this area but there would be a couple of hotels I would checkout first

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Being in an office area, there were no loiterers or beggars outside, it was a decent neighbourhood, quiet and peaceful at night. Hotel was clean, service was good. Internet facility at reception needs improvement.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alifia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Good budget hotel for short stay. I would recommend this for someone who are planning a wuick visit to Mumbai. Service is not all that great, however rooms are clean and staff ate quite profession in their behavior.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Rixon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.9 mi away
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#108 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
219 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#63 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#118 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#57 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
427 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#38 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
797 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residency Hotel
Residency Hotel
#16 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: 17 Shri S R Marg | Ballard Estate, Mumbai (Bombay) 400001, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Gateway of India
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the magnificent stone facade lie finely appointed rooms and suites, aesthetically designed conference halls, a gourmet restaurant, thirst quenching bar, amongst other conveniences. Each one is simply yet tastefully decorated. However, it is service more than architecture, which ensures that or customers always return with a smile. Our philosophy is dedicated wholly to customers comforts. Well attired attendants to fresh flowers and good food that transform intimate dinner into Grand memories.Grand Hotel offers various amenities like 24 hour room service , quick check-outs and a central location. Ringed by the port and naval establishments on one side, the land fans our from here to encompass the city's major government and civic centres. Railways, post & telegraphs, art galleries, the museum and other important establishments lie within close proximity of an arc of a mere kilometre of Ballard Estate.Grand Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Ballard Estate which is one of the commercial hubs of Mumbai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing