We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget option”
Review of SeaShore Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mumbai (Bombay)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SeaShore Hotel
Ranked #4 of 417 Mumbai (Bombay) B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for a total of 6 nights.
The first three nights we were given a pokey room with two single beds (even though we had booked a double)One of the beds was comfortable the other was very low with a very lumpy and uncomfortable makeshift bed (we had too take turns each night as it was that bad). As they were fully booked we we unable to change rooms. We had a nice big window with views of the harbour. The tv worked really well.
Our second visit also a 3 night stay we had a double bed (very comfortable) with a window.
Overall the Bathrooms and rooms were very clean. The staff are a little cold at first but if you smile and have a chat to them they do warm to you.
Location was great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 163 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2012

It really is always hard to find moderate priced accommodation in India. Either it is 5 star over priced or slum like budget quality. The rooms are basic and falling apart but this is India. Very hot in Summer. The staff are so lovely. Shared toilets with basic facilities. This is a great budget hotel and we had the same view from our room of the Arabian sea as the over priced Taj Palace. I really recommend for people who are looking for hostels or budget. Just call to reserve your room no online bookings, if they screw up your booking the sister hotel is just below so no need to worry.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a window its hot with the sun but nice to look out at the dirty sea.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Camilla_Tom_RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were having difficulty finding good accommodation in Mumbai without spending a fortune when we came across the SeaShore hotel. We stayed here for only one night on our way to Goa. We had to return to Mumbai to catch our next flight and booked back in here for another 2 nights.

The SeaShore hotel is located on the 4th floor (no lift I'm afraid) and they also run the India Guesthouse on the 3rd floor. However, the SeaShore hotel has been renovated, I think about 3 years ago according to one member of staff. The inside is mostly marble and is very clean. We were also told that in the India Guesthouse there are no walls between rooms, just partitions. As far as I'm aware, travellers staying in either of the two guesthouses use the same bathrooms.

We booked a double room and we had a window (this costs about 60 rps more than a room without a window, though the window isn't very big). The room was fairly big and was really clean. It had a wardrobe, a table and bedside locker. There was also a TV with lots of English channels/movie channels. We were really happy with the room.

The bathrooms are spotless and the showers are great. There are only three of them though so sometimes there might be a queue, especially when shared with the guesthouse downstairs. The manager also offered us the option of checking out late for an extra fee, 500 rps if you wanted to stay until the evening which we didn't take. The atmosphere was really nice and friendly and we met a good few other travellers here.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay here and I do think that it is well priced for Mumbai if you are looking for budget accommodation. It's not luxury but it is really clean and well kept. The location is also lovely in Colaba around the corner from the Gateway to India. Great option for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed at Seashore hotel for four nights and it was one of the cleanest budget hotels that I ever stayed at in India. The rooms are really small but they are cheap and way better (600 r for a single room, and a doubble room costs only 700 or 800 r) than many of the other budget hotels in Mumbai. They have shared bathrooms that have been renovated recentley and the staff is really friendly. Great budget option.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cajsa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great location in the middle of Colaba and right by the sea. Rooms are basic and bare (our windows didn't even have glass) but being on the 5th floor stops any mosquitoes coming in. The shared bathrooms are kept very clean and are really nice. The whole hotel has had a recent refurbishment and it definitely makes this a really good value choice for the price and location. The older management staff are very friendly. Be wary, if you have heavy bags there is no lift and the stairway is quite tight. The friendly security guard outside at night also made this place feel very safe and secure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annahutnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

During the off hours, very early in the morning or very late at night the main man working the desk isn not present. Helpers whose language skills are limited can assist you with basic stuff. If you arrive anytime before 7am or after 11pm you will most likely be waking someone up to come answer the door and the most they will do is show you what room they have and the price, no salesmanship or negotiating.
-Don't exchange $ with the front desk because he wont give you the most current rate. A few ruppees less, without a fee, he will claim that other places will charge you a fee locally but they won't. Local travel agents will exchange it for you at the true rate without a fee.
-The rooms with windows become covered in dust everyday so ask for them to be sweept, there are no screens on the windows but I didn't have problems with bugs, just some little ants crawling about
-The bathrooms were generally clean, sometimes the water pressure goes so it randomly won't flush the toilet waste. This only happened once, I stayed there 4 days. The setup is 3 shower rooms with toilet in 1 place so try to hang your change of clothes on hooks to avoid getting them wet with 3 sinks with mirrors right outside
-there isn't a common area, just the front desk with 2 bench seats and a tv, no kitchen. You can bump into people in the halls for chats or wait in the front desk as people come and go
-the view is lovely but during the hot Mumbai summer you'll have to sleep in your underwear because there isn't air conditioning
-no wifi whatsoever but a cafe directly down the street in the same building as the Bungalow 8 store will let you use it for 30-60rp an hour
-eating small snacks off their menu is cheap and tasty, takes about 10-15min
-very very kind to let you store luggage until your flight leaves at no charge but it won't get locked up, just off to the side next to the bathrooms. I did not experience theft and no one went through my stuff, just a bit risky
-the four flights of stairs are fun to climb but will leave you a bit winded
-the area is nice and quiet at night but they're are beggars and people who approach you in the steer as per usual in India
-the front desk can help with directions but they didnt really offer advice on what to see or do, didn't really seem interested in promoting the local scene.
- I never found a better or more affordable location, I asked around a bit and the consensus was this place was nicer than the salvation army and the Indian guest house located one floor below
-All in all for the price and location it works, but again dust settles on everything from the wardrobe to the bed, the fan is nice and high powered but the tv remote is in cased in a crusty plastic sheath

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kazina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

After staying in a few over-priced grotty hotels in Mumbai, we were surprised to find such a clean and friendly guest house at the top of such an unpromising looking building. Despite the shared bathrooms and the hard walk up the stairs, it's definitely good value for Mumbai prices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
Gateway of India
Hotel Travellers Inn
Hotel Travellers Inn
#78 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
647 reviews
Gateway of India
Hotel Residency Fort
Hotel Residency Fort
#17 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
1,830 reviews
Colaba
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
The Taj Mahal Palace, Mumbai
#5 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
7,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colaba
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
857 reviews
Colaba
Bentley's Hotel
Bentley's Hotel
#195 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
307 reviews
Colaba
Hotel Suba Palace
Hotel Suba Palace
#60 of 461 in Mumbai (Bombay)
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaShore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaShore Hotel

Address: 1/49 Kamal Mansion Arthur Bunder Road | Arthur Bunder Road, Mumbai (Bombay) 400005, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay) > Colaba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 417 B&Bs / Inns in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $9 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Seashore Hotel Mumbai
Sea Shore Hotel Mumbai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing