We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveler rating
452
179
75
25
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
452
179
75
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pastry shop kemps corner butter chicken south mumbai indian food recommended hotel pillow menu stayed here for nights enjoyable stay excellent location comfortable rooms small hotel the ground floor visited this hotel room service reception staff kebab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 756 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2017

We were in Mumbai for just 3 days, stayed in this hotel based on the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, must say, that the hotel didn’t disappoint one bit. Lovely hotel, very well and tastefully done. Good design element noted everywhere. Great food, good value for money and overall good service. Definitely recommended

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennyleighton222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Dear pennyleighton222


Thank you for taking the time out to put up a review of The Shalimar Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to note that you had a wonderful and comfortable stay with us. It has been 54 years since we started our journey and we have continuously renovated and upgraded our facilities and services.
Whilst we thank you once again for recommending our hotels to others, we look forward to your continued patronage and support.

Thank you,
Best regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2017

We had booked 12 rooms for outstation guests for a family function. Mr.Fahad at the Reception ensured that our stay, right from the time of booking until checkout, went smoothly. Guests had all their requirements met, had good memories and a very comfortable stay. The hotel rooms are well maintained, very clean and each room ambience well thought of. All gadgets including Ac's functioned normal. The terrace of the hotel, where breakfast is served offers a beautiful view of the Arabian sea and breach candy area. Room service is very prompt. Hotel staff politely greet all guests whenever they cross paths. There are plenty of options of lighting in the rooms so guests can switch on various lights depending on the mood. A pleasant chat with the MD of the hotel concluded our stay. Overall - I would highly recommend Shalimar Hotel to anyone wanting a comfortable and memorable stay in Mumbai.

Room tip: Hotel offers Smart and Comfort type rooms. Choose the Comfort room if you need to add a extra mattress for sleeping.
Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Delzad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017

Dear Delzad007

Thank you for taking the time out to put up a review of The Shalimar Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and have carried back fond memories.
Your words are a source of inspiration and encouragement for us to continue in our efforts. It has been our constant endeavour as a team to provide the best of The Shalimar Hotel to all our guests. Whilst we thank you once again for recommending our hotels to others, we look forward to your continued patronage and support.

Thank you,
Best regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017

we stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy with the hotel, the staff, the staff, the comfort level and overall ambiance of the hotel. Excellent experience of breakfast on the rooftop (the restaurant was under refurbishment).
the bar was vibrant and very nice. Do not miss the treats at pastry shop and the deli!
Lovely location, great value for money and overall a pleasant stay.

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank catherinesimone1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2017


Dear catherinesimone1234,

Thank you for taking the time out to put up a review of The Shalimar Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed our hospitality. It has been our constant endeavour as a team to provide the best of The Shalimar Hotel to all our guests. We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

Thank you,
Best regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2017

The Shalimar Hotel is perfect for a short stay in Mumbai. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace, overlooking the surrounding neighborhood, was a treat. The hotel is located a short distance from Chowpatty beach which we frequented in the evenings for dinner. The front-desk and service staff were all friendly and willing to help with requests.

My average rating is due to a few issues:
1. The wifi is particularly unreliable and switches off intermittently
2. One guest has to be fetched from the domestic terminal and two guests from the international terminal (at the same time, in the same car). We were charged for two transfers (INR 1200 and INR 1900) which in my opinion is daylight robbery, since the terminals are within a few km's of each other and we traveled in the same car. If your fellow travelers are using different terminals, use the inter-terminal shuttle or opt for a taxi rather than the hotel transfer. This has also been the first hotel that charged us for parking costs at the airport
3. Many taxi drivers do not know where the hotel is. Keep the hotel card on hand so that you can direct them to the correct location

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taz2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2017

Dear taz2506,

Thank you for the review put up by you on Trip Advisor.
It is a pleasure witnessing your appreciation for our hotel as a whole. We assure you that the best of the food and services will be offered to you at The Shalimar Hotel, Mumbai.
We have investigated on your concern about the airport transfers being wrongly charged. However, as per our records and e-mail communication between you and our reservations executive, it is pertinent to note that the airport transfer in question was offered to you on a negotiated price. The charges for your own airport transfers were already paid by you by mode of Air pay well in advance. We would like to bring it to your notice that the Domestic and International airports are not really in close proximity with each other and it takes about 15-20 minutes to reach from one destination to another. As per your email dated 27th Jan, 2017, you have negotiated the rate of airport transfer from Rs.1900 to Rs. 1200 clearly on the basis of providing the car for the pickup from both the destinations at different timings. About charging for the parking charges to you, it is an error occurred from our end for which we would like to extend our sincerely apologies. We request you to let us know the best possible way to return the parking charges to you.
Regarding the wifi connectivity, we have outsourced our wifi services to Wifonics which is currently serving more than 100 hotels across the country. However, your complaint has also been discussed with them and a corrective action has been already taken by them.
I wish to apologize about the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. I would request you to please contact me personally in future for any requirement. We look forward to your continued patronage and support in future.
Thank you,
Best regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2017

It has been 3 years since my last visit to Mumbai and I decided, once again, to stay at the Shalimar Hotel. During my previous visit, I had an amazing experience staying at this hotel. This time, I was traveling with my wife and booked a suite.

We arrived in the evening and were extremely pleased with the service at the front desk. They checked us in quickly and were very resourceful in terms of suggesting places to visit and the best ways to get around town. When we checked-in to the suite, we were impressed with the amount of thought and detail that went into the theme of the suite.

We stayed in a "Pondicherry" themed suite and it was so authentic that it felt as though we were there! Obviously, with all the comforts of a hotel. The Pondicherry themed decoration, furniture, bathroom and artwork on the wall were impressive and made us feel super comfortable. The beds were one of the most comfortable beds I've slept on and we dozed off for hours that night. Needless to say, we always woke up well-rested and looked forward to the awesome breakfast. The bathroom was huge and my wife was impressed with the selection of soaps. Showers were amazing as the water pressure is just perfect!

The breakfast offering was great and included super tasty indian food like idlis and dosas to your typical english breakfast. We also had dinner there one night and I am pleased to say that the Butter Chicken there is still the best! I remember having that same dish 3 years ago and I am glad to say that it has stood the test of time!

In addition to all the great amenities at this hotel, I have to say that the staff and customer service here is nothing short of spectacular! The guys and girls working here are super friendly and go out of their way to make sure you truly feel like a valued guest at this suave hotel located in the heart of Mumbai. It is close to all the popular places in town and you can easily get a cab from outside the hotel.

This hotel stands in my book as "THE HOTEL" in Mumbai and I would highly recommend this place based on the excellent location, brilliant customer service and classy rooms.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DushantNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2017

Dear DushantNYC,

Thank you for taking the time out to put up a review of The Shalimar Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and have carried back fond memories once again.
Your words are a source of inspiration and encouragement for us to continue in our efforts. It has been our constant endeavor as a team to provide the best of The Shalimar Hotel to all our guests. Whilst we thank you once again for recommending our hotels to others, we look forward to your continued patronage and support.

Thank you,
Best regards,

Deepak Varunkar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews