We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always consistent”
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #64 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Bhopal
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always consistent”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed here again last month, once again reassuringly consistent.
The rooms are nice and spacious. The service levels have never disappointed ne. This time was here for a short stay for only a day but once again was very satisfied. Food as usual always consistent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MK9973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear MK9973

Thank you for once again giving us an opportunity to serve you and for providing a feedback.

Guests and their feedback have always been our guide to continuously improve and upgrade our facilities and services. And with guests who constantly acknowledge our services, it is an encouragement to continue with our efforts.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    142
    67
    23
    19
See reviews for
140
102
83
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I really loved this hotel. The white pristine lobby was so welcoming after the long drive from Bombay airport. Excellent accommodation, nice comfortable rooms. I was here for 2 days and was staying in a small compact room but very tastefully done. Try the pastry shop and sandwich shop- just excellent. The Indian food was very good, never had such good Indian cuisine. The bar was a nice place to hang out with friends in the evening. Though was out for the full day at work, looked forward to unwinding in the evening in the hotel. Fully recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arti_khanna11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear arti_khanna11

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and have carried back fond memories. We also thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, TX
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was my second vsisit with my family here, the last one was in 2011. Here is why I love this hotel.

1. Great 4 start property in a really nice part of Mumbai
2. Rooms were very clean and efficient
3. Service was great
4. breakfast was very nice. Service was very slow on my past visit here, but was much improved on this visit.

Room Tip: love the comfort suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texantraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Texantraveladdict

Thank you for your continued patronage and for taking the time once again to provide a feedback of your stay with us.

Guest opinion has always helped us to improve and upgrade our facilities and services at all times. We are pleased to note that you have had a pleasant stay with us again.

We look forward to your continued support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 mights after staying at 8 other hotels on a tour of Mumbai.

The rooms are stylish, very comfortable and very clean. The breakfast is passable but actually the least favourite of our whole tour.. We had one evening meal which was good quality but overpriced. We ate at other restaurants after the 1st night and had better value.

I booked a suite over 2 months before arriving. Upon arrival I was told that the room was not available and that we could have a double room and then move the following day. I refused to accept this and after 45mins we got the keys to our suite. We were advised to get a cup of coffee while the error was corrected and then was charged for it!! I would have expected the coffe to be complimentary to repay for the error.
We changed cash the next day and were shortchanged by R1,880. This was corrected after the error was pointed out. The hotel does not change TCs but can find a money broker, R4.00 below ex rate....
We had a further issue in the sandwich bar being quoted for a sandwich but the cost doubled when the sandwiches were made... I think this may have been a translation issue but should have been questioned by the staff member.
All in all, the hotel is well positioned but I would keep a very careful check on all of the services and question anything that does not appear to be correct!

Room Tip: Bamboo Suite was lovely and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Cheryl S

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

In all earnest, we thank you for the positives that you have highlighted about us. At the same time, your comment on keeping a careful check on services seem to be in poor light. Our guests definitely have the right to decide on how they wish to deal with our employees; though they would be not much different than what you would find in any hotel of repute.

There appear to be two errors highlighted by you, which if looked upon minutely, can be termed as “human error”. A suite was booked, but recorded at Reservations as a Superior Double Room or as in our case, Comfort. This was overlooked at all fronts and you were assigned a Double Room instead of a suite, something that was rectified within minutes. It was a similar situation with your currency exchange, wherein the employee calculated against the conversion rate of Euros instead of UK Pounds and gave you the cash. This was also rectified immediately.

At the Sandwich Bar, you were informed about the price of a 6-inch Subway Sandwich, after which you asked for two no.s foot-long (12-inch) Sandwich and the price was charged as per the bill. And hence, the difference in your billing against your own calculations. Our rates have been determined on the basis of survey that has been conducted by industry professionals. Every price is clearly defined and displayed and there are no cases of wrong charging as we have a proper audit system on a daily basis. Further, each of your observation was clearly explained to you by my colleagues in person.

We do have a training system in place, wherein our employees are taught to provide consistent service in order to exceed our guest’s expectation. However, with greener employment opportunities blooming all the time, turnover of employees is indeed a constant worry to every organization in the country. However, we do continue in our efforts to train our new employees the art of guest service and its relation to guest satisfaction.

We do take each of your observations in its own merit and will continue in our efforts to offer the best of Shalimar at all times.

We look forward to an opportunity to serve you again on your future visits to the city.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

stayed here 2 nights on work. Since the company had a budget I was given a compact single room. I loved the way the room was designed. It is aptly called Zen. Something different from hotel terms like Standard and Superior. The website clearly states suitable for the single traveler. Superbly done. For a female traveler this rooms had all the needs. Super comfortable beds, good clean toilets. Felt secure in this hotel. Breakfast was a good spread with good choices. One night ordered room service for dinner. Superb food, the cuisine was definitely fantastic. If u have a sweet tooth watch out for the pastry shop , you just don't know when to stop !
Recommended hotel. Very accommodative staff. Will stay here next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dassav1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear dassav1234

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to all our guests. Your feedback does indicate that our regular renovations and upgrading of facilities and services has helped us reach where we are today. We also thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I have visited this Hotel number of times in past two years during my official visits to Mumbai.

I would surely recommend this to fellow travellers.

Pros:

1. Location of the Hotel is well situated with respect to Mumbai city limits with easy access to transport
2. The food is really good and I like their restaurant "Gulmurg" for the delicacies they serve. Must necessarily put in good word for the Breakfast Buffet
3. The rooms are neat & tidy.
4. The staff are amicable in their approach and found them to be well versed with their respective works and interactions with guest.

Cons:
1. Not all rooms have good views because of being surrounded by residential buildings on three sides.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paritosh1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Paritosh1521

Thank you for your continued patronage and for providing us a feedback of your stay with us.

Over the years, we have been putting in maximum efforts to ensure services of the highest standards are offered to all our guests. Your detailed observations does indeed show that we have succeeded in our efforts and it boosts our morale to continue with our efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you again on your trip back to the city.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We booked Smart room staying for 2 nights. On arrival, we got bitten by mosquitoes while waiting in the reception getting checked in to our room. The hotel was busy and the check in extremely slow. Service was average. The room was of a very small size, very simple, and definitely not of four star quality or luxury that one might expect. It is possible that the Comfort or Lifestyle rooms are more luxurious, but ours was certainly not! Nevertheless, it was clean and the bathroom again very clean but certainly not luxury or four star quality. We were disappointed.

The breakfast was excellent with a very large variety.

The hotel could do better with the smart rooms, and it is very basic and not four star.

The area feels very safe with close proximity to tourist attractions which is a big plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovelondon2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear ilovelondon2012

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to all our guests. With this goal in mind, we have continuously upgraded our facilities and services through guest feedback. Our room sizes fall within standards laid down by the Department of Tourism, which classifies hotels in India. As for mosquitoes in the lobby, our pest control measures are handled by Pest Control of India, one of the best in the country, who also provides services to most of the 5-Star hotels in the country.

As much efforts and training is put into ensuring all our services are smooth and quick, I am sure you would have come across an occasional delay during busy times. We have utilized all our resources to ensure our guests keep returning back to Shalimar. We also thank you for some of the positives that you have highlighted too.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sahil Hotel
The Sahil Hotel
#36 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#69 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#39 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#80 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#30 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#61 of 448 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Property: The Shalimar Hotel
Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 448 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing