We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent comfortable hotel with a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #63 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent comfortable hotel with a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I basically South Bombay, find it to be the best part of this vibrant city. Am staying here for the first time and will be back here again whenever I come to South Bombay.
Liked everything about this hotel. Tastefully decorated very functional rooms, super bathrooms and the mattresses were fantastic. The food especially the Indian was a delight and the pastry shop is fantastic. Try the sandwiches in the shop down in the lobby. Went to the salon one evening. Good service and attentive staff. The staff of the hotel were very nice. This hotel will surely be my in my list of recommended hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AM291278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear AM291278

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are happy to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and have carried back fond memories with you. We are pleased to note that you have expressed a desire to return.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    139
    67
    23
    19
See reviews for
139
100
83
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here on a recommendation from a good friend. Absolutely wonderful stay, no complaints. Fine service, delightful staff. Good management policies. Good security measures. Lovely rooms. Very well done and tastefully done. The food was great. Do try the tandoori food, must say very good. Good location and good pricing, not expensive but 5 star facilities.
Next time I have work in South Mumbai, Shalimar it is for sure.
Try the Sandwich shop. Good sandwiches, new and unusual concept and value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AB9000544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear AB9000544

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you were happy with our facilities and services, and have expressed a desire to return. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests too.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Pretty good hotel, reasonable value, nice breakfast but really needs to sort out maintenance issues- malfunctioning doors, tripping lights etc. but nice staff and good location. Rooms are clean and comfortable, beds are nice. I'd return if I come back to Mumbai.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dugan2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Dugan2711

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing us a feedback of your stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to all our guests. We have made note of your observations and hope it was a one off case, as we make it a point to have regular maintenance of all our fixtures.

We apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused to you.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
85 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past 5 weeks. Hence I have had a range of experiences and stayed in 3 different rooms. Overall I'm very impressed.

Positives:
- Excellent central location, if you have business in South or Central Mumbai
- Taxi drivers actually know this place - so its easy to find in general
- Rooms are modern (by Mumbai standards)
- Rooms are clean
- Service is excellent - staff is friendly & prompt
- Breakfast is good
- Room service food is good
- They have a small gym - so no excuse to break that exercise regime!
- Internet / Wifi is fast. I have streamed movies without buffering.
- Higher rooms have a view of the Ocean (if you crane your neck a little)
- They have a small Spa & Hair Salon

Negatives:
- Rooms could be a little cleaner -- e.g. on my fist trip there was used soap in the bathroom. I gave feedback to the management & they apologised and ensured I faced no such issue in future.
- Some rooms have thin walls (in room 804 I could hear water running in my neighbour's bathroom)
- Gym is small ... can only fit 1 person at once.
- Everything is a bit small & cramped - but that is standard for lower cost hotels in Mumbai. This is no honeymoon destination.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. It works very well as a business hotel for 2-3 day trip. I've been there 3 times, and already have it booked for 2 more trips.

Room Tip: You can see the ocean from 804 & 704. But 804 is a 'smoking' room & has relatively t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank villdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear villdre

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing such a detailed feedback of your stay with us.

We appreciate the positives that you have highlighted. We have tried our best to offer as many services a guest would expect from a home away home.

We thank you not only for recommending our hotel to other guests, but also for your continued patronage and support.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

my wife and I decided to spend a few days together in India, the choice fell on the hotel staff gave us our keys and went to unpack and clean, our room was everything we wanted TV, nice view from the window of the phone, and the bathroom clean and nicely decorated , the quality is quite high, it's great to also have access to the internet, the area on the plus side, I recommend a nice stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oleczek1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear oleczek1

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you were happy with our facilities and services and had a memorable stay. We also thank you for recommending our hotel to other guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottngham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel (on business) for 2x nights only. The rooms are comfortable, fairly spacious, and OK for a short stop-over.
Its fairly well situated in order to visit the big city and is approx 40 mins away from the airport.
The bar on the ground floor is worth a visit and the restaurant is quite good also.
The breakfast does not cater for Europeans and has nothing really to offer, but hey-ho I wasnt expecting a full English breakfast !
Fairy typical of hotels in this area.
A/C in the room was good, and it needed to be too !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Nigel C

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of Shalimar to all our guests. We thank you for the various positives that you have highlighted, but is slightly surprised with your views on our Breakfast. We do accept that we have a slight limitation of space; however, we do offer Eggs (prepared to individual liking), Breads, Preserves, Juices, Cereals, Pancakes, among other items. We have always believed that guest feedback helps us to continuously improve upon our facilities and services and it is this belief that has taken us through 50 long years.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards


Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Boutique is the right word to use for this hotel. Compact hotel, modern , however the hotel has been around for a long time. But very well maintained. The white lobby was the first thing you are greeted with, fantastic. just appealed to my senses. The service was good. The rooms we were in were modern, tastefully done and very comfortable. The bathrooms were modern and spacious. One of the rooms we were in had both a shower and a tub so it was quite spacious.The Indian food was very good. The location is in South Mumbai so we were close to a few of the tourist attractions and some excellent shopping is close by( walking distance) and some a short cab ride away. The bakery was sinful- kids gorged there 3 times a day. Enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshT1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear AshT1980

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We take special effort in ensuring that each of our guest is comfortable and carries with him a feeling of goodwill during his stay, which ensures his return to The Shalimar Hotel, Mumbai.

We are a hotel, which has been in operation, for the past 50 years now and constantly renovating and upgrading our facilities and services to ensure the highest level of guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sahil Hotel
The Sahil Hotel
#39 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#70 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#40 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#86 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumbai
Vivanta by Taj - President, Mumb...
#28 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#54 of 444 in Mumbai (Bombay)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Property: The Shalimar Hotel
Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 444 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing