We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #61 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
dELHI
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights just last month. Very impressed with the hotel. Very good value for money. Excellent service levels. the traditional namaste was a welcome change specially in this part of the country. Have read a few of the negative comments, can't understand what the negativity was about. Must say the hotel is very good, liked the rooms, very comfortable. Very good shower, good bathrooms and great food. Breakfast was very nice. Entertained some business colleagues in the restaurant, absolutely fantastic food. The pastry shop and sandwich place served some delightful treats. Thank you Shalimar, will surely come again next time I need to stay in South Mumbai.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear AKS18

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We have always believed that genuine guest feedback has helped us over the years. It has guided us in our efforts to provide guests a warm and most hospitable stay. We are pleased to note that you have carried with you fond memories and has expressed a desire to return.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    147
    70
    23
    19
See reviews for
143
104
85
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

i learnt the efficient use of space from this hotel(this would help in my own planning), the staff greets you with a namaste! I stayed for 2 nights on a business trip & experienced good service.its relatively economical place offering stay in south mumbai. one can actually wake up early to see the locality & enjoy sea breeze.

Room Tip: higher floors , 7th floor gives sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilBabita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear AnilBabita

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a good experience here and have carried back fond memories.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed in this small , very well and efficiently run hotel for 3 nights. We were a group of few friends holidaying in Mumbai.

We wanted to stay in South Mumbai so we chose this hotel. Doesn’t hurt your wallet and very good experience. The staff is very efficient. Liked the traditional Namaste they greet you with. Food was very good, and the bar was nice and very happening. Try the dessert shop- very good. The spa was very tempting to go but did not get a chance. And the rooms were just wonderful. I will stay here again on my next trip to Mumbai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sameeram01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear sameeram01

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you were happy with our facilities and services. Your comments provide a boost to our morale and is definitely an encouragement to continue in our efforts.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Avoid this hotel it only has one fire escape which is the central unprotected staircase if there was a fire in the first floor kitchen it would be very difficult to get out. There is smoke detection in rooms and limited smoke detection in Hal ways.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Mark1600

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are a successfully run 50 year old hotel, which has survived purely on the goodwill of a lot of our guests. We are indeed proud to state that we have had guests who have been staying with us over three generations in this span.

We have constantly upgraded both our services and facilities, keeping in mind guest comfort and needs. We have also taken the advice of safety and security consultants and taken the highest level of measures towards a very secure stay for our guests. We have Smoke Detectors and a Fire Exit Plan in every room. Our doors are additionally coated with non-inflammable paint, which will prevent any spread of fire. Our rooms have individual aircons, which again prevents fire spreading through ducts. Our corridors are non-carpeted, which is another thoughtful measure towards spread of fire. Every floor has sufficient Fire Extinguishers and these are based on our consultations with Fire Safety Experts. Our staff have been trained by experts in the field of security, at various levels to handle situations of guest safety and security. We have a No Objection Certificate from the local Fire Brigade Office, which is mandatory to operate an hotel and is reviewed regularly, as may be required. We are classified as a Four Star Hotel by the Department of Tourism and this NOC is a mandatory requirement for the same.

For a 50 year old property we have taken all possible measures as per fire safety norms and are in constant touch with Fire Safety authorities to keep ourselves updated of any new measure that may be available in the market, which can further enhance guest safety and security.

We have guests who feel satisfied with our efforts and we will continue in our endeavor to offer service of the highest standard.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

There were two things I was not so happy with; I should have used prepaid taxi from the airport and can we please have a free Wi-Fi in the room? With that said …

I appreciated the location.
I enjoyed seeing India’s richest family’s home (more like a tower) from the window of my room.
I loved the bakery.

Clean cozy room was a perfect home to explore South Mumbai.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Rena D

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a few positives and a couple of observations to share. It has been our constant endeavor to offer the best of Shalimar to our guests. With regard to your observations regarding airport transfer and WiFi, may I highlight the fact that our website extends Special Offers from time to time which includes several additional services.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Shalimar with my son for 2 nights, as part of a 6 week tour of India. We arrived late at night, but had a warm and helpful welcome. Mumbai has a reputation for the costliest hotel rooms in India, and within this context we thought it was excellent value. Our room was large enough and comfortable enough, we found all of the staff whom we met very customer oriented ( e.g. we had a 6.10am departure, reception suggested we call them as soon as our alarm went off so they could ensure no time was wasted on bill prep ) and the location is accessible to the tourist route. The immediate area is busy and predominantly activity involving locals, but we found an excellent bar within 5 mins walk. That said, we enjoyed the Shalimar bar too, and the food and service in the Shalimar restaurant was excellent. A good reasonably priced option with good customer service and a nice ambience..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Nige and Jane

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that we have succeeded in our efforts to offer service of the highest level to you. It has been our constant endeavor to provide the best of the Shalimar to our guests.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Shalimar is a small, 50 year old, hotel with friendly staff, nice small rooms (except the suites which are quite spacious), good room service, a more than adequate buffet breakfast and a good business location. We stay there when we need to get our check-ups done at Breach Candy Hospital which is a 5 minute taxi ride from the hotel.

Why? Because the rooms have all the amenities and services you could ask for in a less than 5 star hotel. The Coffee shop and buffet breakfast are excellent, the laundry service is good and taxis are easily available outside the hotel. And the room tariffs won't bankrupt you.

So If you have work near Kemp's Corner, Cumballa Hill, Breach Candy, Warden Road or Napean Sea Road in Mumbai, the Shalimat is your best bet.

The bar, however, is not that congenial - room service or the coffee shop are better.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms are somewhat noisier but otherwise all rooms are the same in terms of location...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scribble-n-click
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear scribble-n-click

Thank you for the time that you have taken in providing a feedback of your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a comfortable stay with us and have recommended us to others as well.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
1.2 mi away
The Sahil Hotel
The Sahil Hotel
#31 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#80 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
249 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#37 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#66 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
118 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Heritage
Comfort Inn Heritage
#155 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
204 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Gordon House Hotel
The Gordon House Hotel
#81 of 454 in Mumbai (Bombay)
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Property: The Shalimar Hotel
Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 454 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing