We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Stay”
Review of The Shalimar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Shalimar Hotel
Ranked #58 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were 3 days in Mumbai or Bombay as it used to be called. Very good hotel. We stayed in a comfort category room. Plush and luxurious. Excellent bathroom with a seperate shower and tub. The food in the restaurant was excellent(Indian cuisine) Good breakfast but could be better. Very nice and relaxing spa. Fantastic bar-really nice. Location very good. Would recommend this hotel. I got a chance to see one of the theme suites- based on New York. Lovely suite-will stay there next time if my travels bring me to mumbai again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear RM200

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a very memorable stay with us. We thank you for sharing the point by point account of your experience with us, which is a recognition of our efforts.

We look forward to your continued patronage and hope to welcome you in the New York suite or any of the other Lifestyle Suites that may be available on your future visit.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 639 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

I hated staying at this place. Was a office trip and had to stay here for 2 nights - one of the most pathetic places to stay & specially for the price they charge. Small rooms (actually the smallest rooms ever) and bad facilities. restaurant hardly has any options. Nice shopping places nearby is a plus. But not at all comfortable beds and neither any comforts. Never will prefer to stay here. Oh, the salon is nice, if it matters to you.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prats_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear Prats_1987

We thank you for providing us with a feedback of your stay.

We earnestly believe that the comfort of our guests is our prime objective. We provide various services and facilities and we have put in our maximum efforts to ensure the highest level of guest satisfaction.

We have rooms of three different categories at varied price range, which are determined by professionals from the industry. We acknowledge your displeasure over the size of the room that was provided, though it is also important to highlight the fact that all our rooms are as per standards laid down.

We extend our apologies for any inconvenience that may have been caused during your stay and look forward to more opportunities in the future to be of any service to you.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I used the services of this hotel for two reasons:
1. it is very centrally located and therefore easily accessible
2. I had met people who had stayed there earlier and had recommended it

I must admit I wasn't disappointed. This is a beautiful little property. The suites and rooms are both nicely done up and very comfortable. They serve a nice breakfast and their restaurant Gulmarg serves excellent food.
On addition, the staff is very courteous and helpful. Room service is prompt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shalinik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2011

Dear shalinik

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. We also thank you for highlighting specific services and facilities in detail. Getting acknowledged for the extra efforts that we take in ensuring our guests have a comfortable stay encourages us to perform better.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Absolutely brilliant Hotel. We stayed here for two nights during a family trip and we really enjoyed our stay. Location is great as it is close to central parts of Mumbai city. The Hotel was very clean and service was very very prompt. Rooms are very tastefully done with all amenities, neat, clean an extremely comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised with the bathrooms as they had modern fittings and fixtures, toiletteries of good quality which we found very unusual in India. Another pleasant surprise was the breakfast which was really good as it catered for all taste. We also ate at The Indian Restaurant on the 1st floor, we ordered butter chicken, makhani dal and bindhi masala and all three dishes were very tasty. Even the ambience at The Bar was great as there was excellent music an the snacks served were delicious as well. The Spa is a " must try ". All in all a great service and hospitality and hats off to The staff who were very polite, friendly and courteous.
The Shalimar Hotel is definitely top on my list of Hotels to recommend to my friends whenever they visit Mumbai!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashadaswani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2011

Dear Ashadaswani

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. We appreciate your highlighting specific services and facilities in detail and also for recognizing our efforts to ensure the highest level of guest satisfaction.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Great location in South Mumbai and very good pricing. The lobby was excellent. Very good rooms and the Indian restaurant on the 1st floor served superb Indian cuisine. The pastry shop was also very reasonable and nice. You must try the spa. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALC1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2011

Dear ALC1975

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We value guest feedback and opinion and have always tried our best to offer the best of Shalimar to every guest. We also appreciate your highlighting specific services and facilities and also for recognizing the efforts of our associates.

We appreciate your recommending our hotel to your friends and colleagues. We look forward to welcoming you on your future visits to the city.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed here during a family trip and it was a great experience. Great location in South Bombay! The staff was very courteous and we were greeted by every member we came across. They were very helpful when asked for advice and the transport was available upon request. Our room was quite comfortable, and had a very unique ambiance to it. Wi-fi connectivity was available upon request. We tried room service and it was very convenient. The parathas were very delicious as were the snacks. We enjoyed the chili cheese toast! The bar seemed to be playing good music as we were stepping on the lift. Overall, it was a great experience and we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The suites are unique to every floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear n m

We thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us.

We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed the moments spent with us. We also appreciate your highlighting specific services and facilities and also for recognizing the efforts of our associates.

We look forward to your continued patronage and support.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed here for one night in a suite. While booking the hotel on the phone at 9 PM for the same day, it was confirmed to us by the staff that the room would be extended till 330 PM the next day.

We checked into the hotel at around 10 PM to find the bedroom of the suite smelling of dampness (this happens at inexpensive places during the monsoon in Mumbai). We immediately informed the reception of this problem who said that they would take care of it. After returning from dinner at around 1130 PM, we realised that housekeeping may have sprayed a freshener to subdue to smell of the damp environment. However, it wasnt any good.

On complaining again, the front office suggested that we should upgrade to a higher category suite at a higher price as there was nothing else that could be done at that time of the night!!!!
The other suggestion was to move to a lower category room without any additional cost - however the advance paid towards the rental of the suite would not be refunded! On further deliberation and arguments, we were thankfully moved to the higher category suite without any additional cost.

Mineral water was chargeable at the hotel. We therefore asked for filtered drinking water but were served mineral water. On questioning the room service delivery boy who delivered the water, he confirmed that the water was complimentary. However, after 10 minutes, we got a call from room service that mineral water chargeable and that we would have to pay for it if we had used it. From the 5 bottles delivered, we had used only two and our strong objection that we would not pay as we had not ordered it, the room service executive relented to provide the used bottles without any cost.

In the morning, as we were getting ready to get our breakfast (which as a part of the tariff charged), we realised that the water in the bathroom was not hot enough for a shower. We once again called up housekeeping and informed them of our problem. They said that they would send an engineer to solve the problem. However, when nobody turned up for about 15-20 minutes, we called up the front office to inform them that we were stranded in our room and that it would be difficult for us to go down as we were not able to get a shower. We requested that in the special circumstances, if it was possible for one of the restarant boys to deliver some of the food from the breakfast buffet to our room. We were told that it was not possible but we had the option to order for breakfast from room service on a chargeable basis!!!!!

Finally, at 315 PM as we were about to check out of the room packed with our luggage, we were shocked to receive a call from the front office to let us know that since we had exceeded our approved stay beyond 3 PM by 15 minutes, we would be charged for half a day!!!!

This came without any previous warning and that too after getting a confirmation from the booking staff to get the extension till 330 PM. We again had to go through a process of arguments before the matter was settled.

We had no peace of mind during the stay, all that we did was to prevent ourself from being looted and extorted out of our money in the 18 hours of stay that we had in this hotel.

Stay only if you dont care for your money!

Room Tip: Get rooms without carpets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travista1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TSHM, General Manager at The Shalimar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Dear equityvc

We thank you for providing us a feedback on your stay with us.

We were able to check through our records and understand a few points, which you had failed to highlight. You were shown the suite prior to check in, and our Front Office had explained to you regarding our Extended Check Out Policy. Every hotel company has its own policies and these policies are made with a sole intention to ensure a smooth flow of operations. We try our best to cater to every guest request, but, may not be in a position to honor every demand.

When you did communicate regarding your unpleasantness, you were shown two options that were available, as we were fully booked and you had just called and come into the hotel. Every room category has different rates and since you were particular about not wishing to pay anything extra, a complimentary upgrade was indeed extended to you.

You were also conducting interviews in the room, without informing the hotel, thereby putting our hotel’s security in a compromising situation, wherein non registered guests were given access to our guest floors.

Every service, which is chargeable is clearly defined and displayed and these charges are fixed on the basis of proper surveys conducted by professionals. Any service that is extended complimentary is at the discretion of the hotel and may depend on various factors.

We have been extending the highest possible level of hospitality to our guests and we are proud to state that we have been successful on most counts. We have been giving utmost attention to guest feedback and taking actions to upgrade our facilities and services. Further, the fact that we are at #30 out of 369 hotels in Mumbai as per Trip Advisor ratings is also a testament that our hotel is considered to be a very good property.

We look forward to your future visits and can work out rates as well.

ThanQ

Best regards

Manoj Mathew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mumbai (Bombay) hotels
0.6 mi away
Krishna Palace Hotel
Krishna Palace Hotel
#88 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
257 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Sahil Hotel
The Sahil Hotel
#30 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
441 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kemps Corner
Hotel Kemps Corner
#68 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
Fariyas Hotel Mumbai
#34 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
840 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau Windsor Hotel
Chateau Windsor Hotel
#74 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
485 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Heritage
Comfort Inn Heritage
#146 of 453 in Mumbai (Bombay)
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shalimar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shalimar Hotel

Address: August Kranti Marg, Mumbai (Bombay) 400 036, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Mumbai (Bombay)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 453 Hotels in Mumbai (Bombay)
Price Range: $96 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shalimar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shalimar Hotel is a trend setting 4 Star property located downtown, within South Mumbai’s elite residential enclave. The surrounding precinct is a Shopper's paradise and a fashionable hub of social activity and nightlife. Approximately a 40 minute drive from the Mumbai airport, The Shalimar Hotel is close to Mumbai's business district, hospitals, shopping and entertainment.The hotel offers trendy and timeless elegance, warm personalized service and a uniquely enjoyable hospitality experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Shalimar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing